We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,035)
Filter reviews
1,035 results
Traveler rating
659
317
41
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
317
41
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaventine hillcirco massimocircus maximussanta sabinawrap around balconytower rooma quiet residential areaseven hillsminute walkdelightful hotelbusy romesister hotelpastriesperfect staywithin walking distancenice breakfasthotel is located
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 1,035 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel is terrific! I arrived earlier than expected and they checked me in early without hesitation. The room was nice, and staying on the first floor I had a door with a private outside alcove, but no view of anything but the driveway. The bathroom is modern, although slightly awkward to enter/exit the shower (and the floor is a bit slippery when wet). Great location, quick 10-15 minute walk to the coliseum. Desk staff were friendly (evening more so than AM) and they gave good directions and recommendations for restaurants. Breakfast was great, and the tables outside were adorable and charming. Loved this hotel, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYMertzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is officially a *** hotel, but is better than many ****. Situated on the tranquil Aventine hill you are guaranteed a quiet night. Traffic here is virtually zero, and sleeping with the window open is no problem. Breakfast is not over-done, but moderate, good coffee, freshly baked white bread rolls, fruit, yoghurt, etc. From here you are perfectly located to access all the attractions of The Eternal City; Trastevere, Circus Maximus, Forum and Colosseum are within walking distance. The nearby metro station quicly takes you further. Staff is attentive and friendly.
Please note that BBC and CNN are on position 900 and above on the TV remote.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We spent our wedding anniversary week in this lovely peaceful hotel. All the staff were friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was nicely furnished, with a good bathroom. We love visiting cities but always try to stay some way out from the hustle of the tourists and choosing Easter week to visit Rome meant that this hotel was in the perfect location. Yes, it's on a hill, but there are 7 hills in Rome, and the Aventine was a really good choice to stay it did mean a climb, but the surroundings made it very doable indeed. If you are looking for somewhere to eat suggest you take the shortcut through the park and go over to the Trastevere area where the restaurants are cheaper with friendlier service.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We were very pleased with Aventino. The location is perfect: quiet, green, short walk to metro Circus Massimo, bus/tram stop (bus 3 from vialle Aventino takes you directly to the Coloseum 3 stops). Going in the other direction, look for Clivo di Rocca Savella, a cool quiet pedestrian alley that will lead you down from Santa Sabina to the river to cross the bridge into the Trastevere neighborhood (good place to get dinner, coffee, drinks). Free wired internet in room, very clean, tile floors, room 348 had a wrap around balcony with two double doors, you could suntan all day if you liked, the room wasn't overly large and the beds were a bit hard, but the room was fantastic with splendid views of old mansions and trees all around. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was only mediocre and could have been reinforced with an espresso bar. Better to plan to have a nice brunch in town. I didn't go inside any of the other San Selmo hotels in the area, (there are 3 in the neighborhood) but they seem to be even finer so any one of them would do. I have been to Rome several times and I can say that now I would not stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: 348 had a wrap a corner balcony, great views
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runderbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This hotel is charming. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our bedroom was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Although our room had air conditioning, we preferred to sleep with the window open, which was possible as the location is so quiet. Being so close to the best view of Rome is also a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyMicklem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews