We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascot
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adriano(Rome)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa San Pio(Rome)(Great Value!)
$295
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Grifo(Rome)(Great Value!)
$109
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ponte Sisto(Rome)
$199
$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$311
$259
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Residenza Paolo VI(Rome)
$355
$268
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Morgana(Rome)(Great Value!)
$248
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Abruzzi(Rome)
$323
$304
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
40
83
41
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
83
41
9
1
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 174 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We stayed at the Ascot for 5 nights in November 2011, in room 28. The people at the desk were very helpful and friendly, and always spoke to us in near perfect English. We booked a "Double Room" and we ended up getting a room with 2 twin beds pushed together. We were fine with it, but I definitely recommend getting in touch with the hotel ahead of time if this is something that would bother you. The hotel is a bit out of the way, a block behind the Museo Nazionale, but it was LOUD outside. The windows were noise-reducing, which was nice, but there was nothing to keep all the traffic noise out. I am a really light sleeper and still had to use earplugs. My husband, though, slept right through it. There was no heat in the room, but they had additional blankets available which were thick enough to keep sufficiently warm. It was very clean, and fairly quiet inside. This hotel is a 5 minute walk from Piazza Repubblica, 30 minutes from the Spanish Steps, 35 from the Pantheon, and 40 from the Colosseum.

Room Tip: Talk to the front desk before arriving to ensure you get the room you want!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorafig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here for three nights on a bank holiday long weekend. Even though they have a big, red neon sign at the corner, I guarantee you will walk right past the hotel if you are expecting a typical hotel front. It is actually on two floors of a residential building only steps from the corner. (Look for the small plaque on the wall.) During the day, there is an outdoor market on that street that will make finding the place even more difficult. Small elevator to the second floor reception, though my room was on the 1st floor. Helpful Filipino with excellent English at reception when I checked in late one night. Room good size, but single bed very narrow and not very comfortable, like a roll-away folding bed. Bathroom good sized. Quiet, since it faced an interior courtyard, though there was a lot of noise in the stairway beginning early in the morning. Wifi (free) didn't reach this floor so had to go upstairs and sit in the "computer room," really a wide hallway between rooms. All in all, decent budget choice in a convenient location not far from Termini.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trotamundos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel the last time i was passing through Rome. It is an good, economically priced option. The hotel is close to termini so there is easy access to the train and metro system and there are a few eating options in the area. I wandered around the area (alone) at all times of the day and night and while it is not the nicest area in Rome, there are a lot of the usual suspects that hang around large train stations all over the world, i certainly didnt feel threatened or unsafe.
The hotel is located on via Montebello and the numbers arent in running order so it is just on the left as you turn enter via Montebello...there is a small gold plaque on the wall. Reception is on the second floor.
The rooms are a good size, although the bathrooms are pretty smaller...but it is Rome after all! Rooms were clean and had the usual ammenities including free WiFi and breakfast.
Desk staff can provide maps and advice on how to get where you need to go
The hotel itself is nothing fancy but it is clean, so if you are looking for a hotel that has easy access to Termini and wont break the budget this is a good option. Although for longer stays it may be worth looking at other options i.e. apartment rental in an area that is a bit nicer with more atmosphere.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

great clean, quiet hotel. We had room nr. 39-1st floor, ..big , nice room, the bathroom also.
good location, great staff, ..everything was fine.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dkcsilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at The Ascot for 4 nights in June. We did alot of research to find a reasonably priced property. The Ascot was one of the lowest priced properties we found. The room was spotless, good locaction, and friendly staff. The breakfast was simple but good. The thing that most impressed me about the hotel, was how clean it was. The breakfast room was always extremely clean and organized. The location near Termini was great for transportation to and from the airport as well as the sight seeing busses. We walked to The Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, but in the extreme heat is was a bit far. We would have loved to stay near The Trevi Fountain, but were unwilling to pay more than double of what we payed to stay at The Ascot. I would definatley stay with them again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kgllgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews