We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large, Clean, Personal, Great Hotel”
Review of Moscatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moscatello
Ranked #618 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large, Clean, Personal, Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2008

I stayed at Hotel Moscatello with my girlfriend during a 4 days visit to Rome in the Summer of 2008. Overall it was a great experience.

I'll first start with location which is actually one of the only negative things about the hotel. It is south of Termini train station (about a ten minute walk) which our guide book listed as a place not necessarily recommended but unless you are a young girl traveling by yourself I wouldn't give it much thought and even then I think it is a lot more the fact that it is dark and there are not a lot of people around that give the neighborhood its reputation. Being a 20 some male I actually enjoyed the location there were some interesting Asian shops and markets, a park, and metro station very near by (the stop south of Termini is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel). The hotel itself is so cool. When you walk up to the door it is very easy to miss because there is only a small yellow sign above it, which seems pretty standard in this area. You buzz the front desk and they key the door to let you in. One of the coolest things is the door is huge (10 ft x 6 feet) but the part that opens is tiny (5 ft x 3 ft). It was neat anyways. Once you enter the door you come into a small open area with plants and tile floors. You walk to the building on the north side and then go up a few floor (there is a small elevator available but I think it is only 2 floors up). The entrance to the hotel is small and from its appearance you might think they only had two rooms. It has a coffee machine and a small sofa but is mainly just a place to pick up and leave your key.

The rooms are extremely nice. They are quite large by European standards. I had a room with a double bed (unfortunately two twins). There was a wall (12 ft) with nice wooden cupboard style closets and a built in mini refrigerator. The bathroom was small to average for European standards but was very nice and clean. There was a small 13-15" flat panel tv which received a bunch of local television stations, a reasonably sized desk, and full length mirror as well. The floors were a nice clean tile.

As far as I could tell from my stay, the staff consisted of two men who alternated shifts. They were there until 2 am and spoke good English and could give directions/advise. They also had maps available which they would share when you asked directions.

The hotel did not have any internet access but the area near Termini has a few internet cafe places where we once stopped and used the internet for 15 min for 50 cents. They hotel does not have breakfast but they do give you a voucher for a restaurant which they are affiliated with which gives you a lunch or dinner for each person in the room. The meal consisted of salad, bruschetta, pizza/lasagna/spahgetti, and coffee. It wasn't the best meal but it was cheap and convenient. If you're coming back from traveling for the day just get off at Termini metro station and it is two blocks away. Then you have a 7-8 min walk back to the hotel.

Overall the hotel was a great experience. I really enjoyed the personal atmosphere that it had and the spacious rooms. The area is not the most beautiful in Rome but for the price I think it is safe and comfortable and a great place to re energize for the go go go traveler.

**Also I used www.HRS.com and got a great deal (stay three nights and the fourth is free). So it is definitely worth checking out.

  • Liked — Great value, clean spacious rooms, friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — Interesting neighborhood, not dangerous but not not cute/romantic, great for the adventurous
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank tyhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
23
78
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Hotel's location was very good, being near from the centre of the city and the main railway station, Termini.
We visited here for a 4 nights and paid 260e. And we must say we are very pleased with the quality of the hotel for this price. Also a daily meal was included in a local restaurant. Also the service was mainly kind and helpful. Room was very clean and cosy, air conditioning was included which was very important considering how hot the city was.
We can honestly recommend this hotel for anyone. Great value for the price.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank North28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Rome. We stayed at Hotel Moscatello and had a great expirence. The room was clean, the reception was friendly, and the location was convenient to the Metro. Admittedly, this is not a 5 star hotel, but it was a great value for Rome and we would definitely stay there again.

The only problem we had was that the reception did not open until 7:00 am, so wake up calls before that were impossible to get.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawdawg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We chose Moscatelo because we wanted a hotel close to Termini but not in the roads right next to it. Moscatello is situated in a wide road about 15 min walk away. There are practicallly only Asian shops nearby .We always felt safe even at night in the road. The price was also good as there was a special offer.
The room was exactly like the one on the website. Clean, lcd tv, a/c and quite spacious and comfortable. Also quiet. Room had new furniture, lcd tv and fittings. Room well up to 3* standard.
Fridge had complimentary drinks. Supermarket down the road.
Reception polite but we didn`t need help or information.
The hotel is a floor in a large building with a suprisingly clean and bright entrance courtyard.
There is only a small lobby for Reception and no lounge, bar etc but that didn`t bother us as we only use our hotel to sleep in after a day out and never use room service either. There is a coffee/drinks machine in lobby.

  • Liked — ````Good, clean , modern and spacious room - value for money - `near public transport` also safe entrance door````````````````````````````````````````````````````
  • Disliked — no breakfast or public area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hat776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

Stayed at this hotel during our christmas trip to Rome. Very nice, extremely clean, everything felt new and recently renovated. I would recommend this hotel to those who have never been to Rome, because all you need to do is to take the Leonardo Express from Fiumicino Airport towards Termini Station in Central Rome, and then take a 15-minute walk to the hotel. The area around Termini is not the best sight in Rome, but despite the dominance of immigrants (from Africa and Indian subcontinent) in this area, you'll see plenty of police cars, hence it is safe to walk around. I love this hotel and I will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

If you're on a budget this is a very acceptable option. Not the best location, but reasonably close to public transportation (100 m) which can get you anywhere. The room isn't that small, but the shower is a little tight (the standard in europe i guess). There is a huge plus. . .the gelateria about 3 doors down. . .best gelato we had in europe. My wife and I went 1-2x/day.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

The room is very clean and big. The front desk is very small and the downstairs is under revonation now, so quite a lot of dust. Service is ok. Quite easy to find the hotel, very small scale.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Receiption
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelTeaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#809 of 1,256 in Rome
61 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Alexis
Hotel Alexis
#401 of 1,256 in Rome
241 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Texas
Hotel Texas
#705 of 1,256 in Rome
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Pensione Giamaica
Pensione Giamaica
#678 of 1,256 in Rome
50 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#669 of 1,256 in Rome
171 reviews
Esquilino
Caput Mundi
Caput Mundi
#833 of 1,256 in Rome
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscatello

Property: Moscatello
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #618 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moscatello 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moscatello is in the residential area near Piazza Vittorio. Here you can find a park and the Vittorio Emanuele Metro Station (line A), one stop to/from Termini.The Moscatello is on the 3rd floor of a renovated 19th-century building, right by one of the most famous ice cream shops in Rome. All rooms at the Moscatello are new and include a minibar. Central Station is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, architecture and ancient landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moscatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscatello Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing