We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moscatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moscatello
Ranked #609 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

Hotel's location was very good, being near from the centre of the city and the main railway station, Termini.
We visited here for a 4 nights and paid 260e. And we must say we are very pleased with the quality of the hotel for this price. Also a daily meal was included in a local restaurant. Also the service was mainly kind and helpful. Room was very clean and cosy, air conditioning was included which was very important considering how hot the city was.
We can honestly recommend this hotel for anyone. Great value for the price.

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank North28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    66
    26
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
74
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2008

My wife and I just returned from a trip to Rome. We stayed at Hotel Moscatello and had a great expirence. The room was clean, the reception was friendly, and the location was convenient to the Metro. Admittedly, this is not a 5 star hotel, but it was a great value for Rome and we would definitely stay there again.

The only problem we had was that the reception did not open until 7:00 am, so wake up calls before that were impossible to get.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawdawg06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2008

We chose Moscatelo because we wanted a hotel close to Termini but not in the roads right next to it. Moscatello is situated in a wide road about 15 min walk away. There are practicallly only Asian shops nearby .We always felt safe even at night in the road. The price was also good as there was a special offer.
The room was exactly like the one on the website. Clean, lcd tv, a/c and quite spacious and comfortable. Also quiet. Room had new furniture, lcd tv and fittings. Room well up to 3* standard.
Fridge had complimentary drinks. Supermarket down the road.
Reception polite but we didn`t need help or information.
The hotel is a floor in a large building with a suprisingly clean and bright entrance courtyard.
There is only a small lobby for Reception and no lounge, bar etc but that didn`t bother us as we only use our hotel to sleep in after a day out and never use room service either. There is a coffee/drinks machine in lobby.

  • Liked — ````Good, clean , modern and spacious room - value for money - `near public transport` also safe entrance door````````````````````````````````````````````````````
  • Disliked — no breakfast or public area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hat776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2007

Stayed at this hotel during our christmas trip to Rome. Very nice, extremely clean, everything felt new and recently renovated. I would recommend this hotel to those who have never been to Rome, because all you need to do is to take the Leonardo Express from Fiumicino Airport towards Termini Station in Central Rome, and then take a 15-minute walk to the hotel. The area around Termini is not the best sight in Rome, but despite the dominance of immigrants (from Africa and Indian subcontinent) in this area, you'll see plenty of police cars, hence it is safe to walk around. I love this hotel and I will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2006

If you're on a budget this is a very acceptable option. Not the best location, but reasonably close to public transportation (100 m) which can get you anywhere. The room isn't that small, but the shower is a little tight (the standard in europe i guess). There is a huge plus. . .the gelateria about 3 doors down. . .best gelato we had in europe. My wife and I went 1-2x/day.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

The room is very clean and big. The front desk is very small and the downstairs is under revonation now, so quite a lot of dust. Service is ok. Quite easy to find the hotel, very small scale.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Receiption
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelTeaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2006

This is a nice hotel for the budget traveller. Rooms are new and relatively spacious with complimentary toiletries and drinks in the fridge. The area where the hotel is located is not the nicest in Rome but within walking distance to many attractions, to the main train station and a few steps away from the subway station. My wife and I never felt insecure though. We found the fridge in the room very useful as the hotel offers no breakfast and there is a supermarket just next to the hotel where to get groceries. The people at the front desk were always very helpful. The only problem we found was in the bathroom: there is some flooding when taking a shower but no big deal. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FmhR4ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#644 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#254 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#750 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#688 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#760 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscatello

Property: Moscatello
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moscatello 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moscatello is in the residential area near Piazza Vittorio. Here you can find a park and the Vittorio Emanuele Metro Station (line A), one stop to/from Termini.The Moscatello is on the 3rd floor of a renovated 19th-century building, right by one of the most famous ice cream shops in Rome. All rooms at the Moscatello are new and include a minibar. Central Station is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, architecture and ancient landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moscatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscatello Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing