We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfied - good value for money”
Review of Moscatello

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moscatello
Ranked #645 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“satisfied - good value for money”
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We chose Moscatelo because we wanted a hotel close to Termini but not in the roads right next to it. Moscatello is situated in a wide road about 15 min walk away. There are practicallly only Asian shops nearby .We always felt safe even at night in the road. The price was also good as there was a special offer.
The room was exactly like the one on the website. Clean, lcd tv, a/c and quite spacious and comfortable. Also quiet. Room had new furniture, lcd tv and fittings. Room well up to 3* standard.
Fridge had complimentary drinks. Supermarket down the road.
Reception polite but we didn`t need help or information.
The hotel is a floor in a large building with a suprisingly clean and bright entrance courtyard.
There is only a small lobby for Reception and no lounge, bar etc but that didn`t bother us as we only use our hotel to sleep in after a day out and never use room service either. There is a coffee/drinks machine in lobby.

  • Liked — ````Good, clean , modern and spacious room - value for money - `near public transport` also safe entrance door````````````````````````````````````````````````````
  • Disliked — no breakfast or public area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hat776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    67
    26
    9
    8
See reviews for
22
77
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2007

Stayed at this hotel during our christmas trip to Rome. Very nice, extremely clean, everything felt new and recently renovated. I would recommend this hotel to those who have never been to Rome, because all you need to do is to take the Leonardo Express from Fiumicino Airport towards Termini Station in Central Rome, and then take a 15-minute walk to the hotel. The area around Termini is not the best sight in Rome, but despite the dominance of immigrants (from Africa and Indian subcontinent) in this area, you'll see plenty of police cars, hence it is safe to walk around. I love this hotel and I will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Shycs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

If you're on a budget this is a very acceptable option. Not the best location, but reasonably close to public transportation (100 m) which can get you anywhere. The room isn't that small, but the shower is a little tight (the standard in europe i guess). There is a huge plus. . .the gelateria about 3 doors down. . .best gelato we had in europe. My wife and I went 1-2x/day.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jnknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2006

The room is very clean and big. The front desk is very small and the downstairs is under revonation now, so quite a lot of dust. Service is ok. Quite easy to find the hotel, very small scale.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Receiption
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelTeaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2006

This is a nice hotel for the budget traveller. Rooms are new and relatively spacious with complimentary toiletries and drinks in the fridge. The area where the hotel is located is not the nicest in Rome but within walking distance to many attractions, to the main train station and a few steps away from the subway station. My wife and I never felt insecure though. We found the fridge in the room very useful as the hotel offers no breakfast and there is a supermarket just next to the hotel where to get groceries. The people at the front desk were always very helpful. The only problem we found was in the bathroom: there is some flooding when taking a shower but no big deal. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FmhR4ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2005

I think the hotel is value for money. We paid Euro110/ night which is good price for a nice new room with modern shower & toilet (decent size too)

But the location is nothing to talk about... It is 3-5 mins walk from Vittorio Emanuele metro station which is a stop from Termini st. There is nothing much there except quite a few Chinese owned lingerie shops.

If you are a single female travellers, I will not recommend this hotel. If you are more keen to find a nice room to rest your tire body after a long day of sightseeings, this is a good one to consider.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank minminma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 25, 2005

We were not expecting anything great on our first hotel to Rome but were pleasantly surprised. Our room looked exactly like the double room seen in the pictures. In fact, I'm almost convinced that that WAS our room. It was completely identical. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We had a nice view of the street below and had air conditioning that we could tweak to our liking. The bathroom was a very clean and sizeable room. They provided comfy towels and lots of shampoo and soap. There is a nice big closet and a fridge with some coke and fanta that were free for our enjoyment. The tv worked nicely and the room was relatively spacious. The front desk was always helpful - they provided us information on all the sights, how to use the metro and to purchase tickets, as well as give us maps to explore the city. We would go back again the next time we return to Rome.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#429 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#625 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#234 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#718 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Hotel Versailles
#672 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#810 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moscatello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moscatello

Property: Moscatello
Address: Via Principe Eugenio 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #645 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Moscatello 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Moscatello is in the residential area near Piazza Vittorio. Here you can find a park and the Vittorio Emanuele Metro Station (line A), one stop to/from Termini.The Moscatello is on the 3rd floor of a renovated 19th-century building, right by one of the most famous ice cream shops in Rome. All rooms at the Moscatello are new and include a minibar. Central Station is a great choice for travelers interested in monuments, architecture and ancient landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moscatello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moscatello Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing