We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, inexpensive and clean!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Sandra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albergo Sandra
Ranked #2,534 of 3,751 Rome B&B and Inns
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Convenient location, inexpensive and clean!!!”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hotel is only 5 blocks(less than a 10 min walk to Termini Station) and one block from the nearest Subway/Metro Station. We were able to walk to all tourist sites from this location.
The room was cleaned daily.
Staff spoke some english and tried to accomodate everything we needed.
Inexpensive in comparison to other hotels.
Drawbacks:
-washroom is very small, there is not a seperate shower it is right in the bathroom so everything stays wet...bathroom floor, toilet seat etc... Not a lot of privacy from others in the room.
-lift does not go to the 3rd floor, you must either go a floor above or a floor below then take the stairs(we took stairs all the way everytime so didn't affect us)
-television had NO english channels....makes for long evenings.
-Fabulous restaurant just down the street or around the corner!
-little cafe across the street for breakfast

Overall:
Great hotel for travellers who spend the majority of their time out and about; wanting to spend their money on other things besides accomodations!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannokim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    0
    6
See reviews for
2
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cronberry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2010

I stayed for 2 nights , the room was from the 40's,( nothing like the photos at all ) tv didnt work, no space to swing a cat, we were miserable to say the least..and the "complete bathroom" was absolutely disgusting, and not fit for animals.. i would strongly urge anyone considering booking this dump to re consider.. worst place ive ever stayed, its a disgrace room 12

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funky987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Dewsbury
Level Contributor
112 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

I booked a room here for 2 nights for myself and my son (2 years old) through Expedia.

We were in Pisa and because the hotel is supposedly near the Metro we left Pisa about 4pm expecting to arrive in Rome about 8pm. About 30 minutes before we arrived into Rome I got a call from Expedia who explained that the hotel had informed them that they had sold my room to someone else. I questioned how could they do this? Expedia told me that some hotels will sell a room, but then if say a group turn up needing a few rooms they will sell your room because it gets them more business.

So, my 2 year old and I arrived into Rome at 8pm without a room. We were forced to pay well over the odds and got well and truly ripped off simply because the rooms left were limited and all the cheap rooms were fully booked.

I cannot vouch for the quality of this hotel, but I seriously urge you to reconsider booking here, you might, like me end up without a room when you get to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stu.bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarajevo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for one night only with my friend. We booked the hotel for 6 nights, but could not stand it. The room was awful, it looked like a 50 year old apartment, with 50 year old furniture was split in half and made into a "room". There were cracks in walls, the bathroom was 1square meter or so, when i took a shower i could not turn around without hitting myself. The water was all around the toilet, sink and all over floor. The carpet was dirty, the whole room smelled stale. We were supposed to pay 87 euros per night, but found a hotel for 74 euros which is WAY better.I would recommend everyone to stay away from this hotel.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank zinka_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 4, 2005

The room is very clean and very close to the train station (i.e. termini).

The hotel is three flights up from the ground floor and the elevator is not available for guests of the hotel normally (there is a lock on the door of the elevator). Let the owner know your arrival/departure time, he will help for the luggage.

The owners are nice, who don't speak much English but understand English and can answer all your question.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Roma Tiburtina
#549 of 1,291 in Rome
218 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Lussemburgo
Hotel Lussemburgo
#624 of 1,291 in Rome
162 reviews
Hotel Regina Margherita
#1,061 of 1,291 in Rome
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Baltic
#1,093 of 1,291 in Rome
359 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#991 of 1,291 in Rome
308 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#438 of 1,291 in Rome
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Sandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sandra

Property: Albergo Sandra
Address: Via Villafranca 10, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,534 of 3,751 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Albergo Sandra 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Sandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandra Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing