We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many bad things about this hotel you can ignore.”
Review of Hotel Mari 2

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mari 2
Ranked #3,245 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Queretaro, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So many bad things about this hotel you can ignore.”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

First night when we got there, our first surprise was that we had to "climb" up to an eight floor with the suitcases, second surprise, TV was not working and we had someone from the Hotel working on fixing it for half an hour while we wanted to sleep right away.
Third surprise: NO hot water in the morning, there is something wrong with their plumbing and you get really hot water that burns you but few seconds later, you get freezing water, in conclusion, you can't get a mild point where you can get a nice shower.
Fourth surprise, my wife lost an earing and I had to look for it underneath bed, desk and furniture, I was amazed on how much dirt I was able to see. It was filthy.
I paid 60 EUR per night, and stayed 4 nights, in my opinion this Hotel is some 20 EUR's, breakfast was just OK. When I complained with the person in charge about the hot water, she said it was my imagination, and she did not care about any bad feedback on trip advisor.

Room Tip: Rome hotels are expensive, try to get something near the Termini, taxis are expensive too, if you co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank juan manuel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena S, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Mari 2, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Juan Manuel , we are sorry about the problems you had during your holiday and we appreciate your suggestions that help us to improve our job day by day. Anyway we would like to let you know that all the walls have been painted and that the problems with water has been solved as soon as you left the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    29
    22
    45
See reviews for
18
30
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jimbaran, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

It was the worst hotel/hostel i ever stayed in. The room was dirty. The bathroom was indescribable, only 1 staff can speak english and she wasn't there most of the time. I remember asking for a hairdryer, and a staff came with a fan! The worst mistake we made in Rome

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank niex_1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

if I go to Rome again, I'll stay at Hotel Marie 2. It's the best two star hotel in Rome. First, it's the cheapest. Second, The staff is helpful, friendly, warm and tolerant. Espacially the woman at the reception (sorry, I forgot her name) is the cutest receptionist ever! and the women of housekeeping are very outgoing (they don't know english or any other languages without italian). The man who stays at night is very very helpful. The rooms are very clean. You have all you need: tv with italian channels, towels, shampoo, soap, hair dryer and hot water (I'll compare it with a two star hotel in Venice). Besides, a rich breakfast is included. İt was lovely. Also, the Hotel is very close to the main train station Termini and the bus stop of the shuttels to the two airports of Rome. I love there very much, like my home. I'll recommend Hotel Marie 2 to all of my friends and everyone who want to go to Rome!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mustymusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

we went there with a group of "Italia-lovers", to learn something about Roman culture and to see as much of the city as possible in five days. so, we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel or in the rooms. just to have a quick shower and to sleep it was ok. but way too expensive for what you get. very close to Termini train station. maybe good for younger people who don't afford luxury.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asconetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POLAND
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2010

There were 17 of us spending three days in Italy on a business trip (company integration). We arrived in Rome with rented cars, and were surprised to have parking places in front of the hotel (although the entire centre of Rome is packed full with cars). The lady and gentleman at the reception desk were more than helpful to make it as quick as possible to check-in the entire group. The rooms we got were doubles with bathrooms for around 25 eur/person. The standard was alright (nice, small cozy rooms), but afterall you wouldn't want to spend the night in a hotel when there is Rome waiting... The hotel is well-situated: in the centre of Rome, near Termini Railway Station, very close to Repubblica Metro Station. Many cash mashines in the vicinity.
To cut the long story short - it is the place to worth staying in!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank POTERAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2009

No lift - not suitable for anyone who cannot climb stairs.
Sheets were not changed, towels were taken and not replaced - had to request them.
Poor security.
No safety deposit boxes even though it says there is on website.
Staff were friendly but not overly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2008

i just arrived from a 4 night stay at mari 1, which is from the same owner of mari 2. having found absolutely NO vacancys at another hotel, i fearfully decided to book this one, even after reading the scary reviews. Arriving at the old building that includes two other hotels, my stomach turned, the staires were very dirty and the walls, the hotel reception was very untidy. But as i was suprised to see that the room was recentley renovated, very clean, the bathroom nice and new. but the room was small, and the bed was not very confortable, and although the room is cleaned every day, the towels are not changed. i didnt have problems with hot water, and had a small refrigerator in the room. fortunalty the temperture wasnt very hot because the airconditioning wasn't yet installed.
the location is great, near termini station.
i think in general this hotel isn't that bad, if you dont mind some small problems, after all, what more can you expect for a one star hotel. anyway i wouldnt mind saying there again but only if i couldnt find a better alternative.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no airconditioning, no elevator
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jemmimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#447 of 1,256 in Rome
289 reviews
Esquilino
Residenza Giustiniani
Residenza Giustiniani
#2,667 of 3,643 in Rome
15 reviews
Esquilino
A Casa Totti
A Casa Totti
#2,889 of 3,643 in Rome
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
No photo provided
Paolina Rooms
#2,663 of 3,643 in Rome
5 reviews
Esquilino
No photo provided
Roma Termini 89
#2,961 of 3,643 in Rome
9 reviews
Esquilino
Stella's House
Stella's House
#2,545 of 3,643 in Rome
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mari 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mari 2

Property: Hotel Mari 2
Address: Via Calatafimi 40, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,245 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mari 2 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mari 2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mari 2 Rome
Mari 2 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing