We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it!”
Review of Piccolo Borgo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Piccolo Borgo
Ranked #283 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Fantastic week stay at the Piccolo Borgo hotel. The staff were more than helpful, and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. Beautiful grounds inside the hotel, including a lovely pool, perfect for our stay in August. Rooms were cleaned every day, and fridge was always fully stocked with water. Breakfast was lovely, choice of cereals, fruit, toast, eggs, bacon, a selection of beverages, pastries and cooked meats. The hotel offer their own shuttle bus to the nearest metro station (free of charge). However the last bus back was at 21.50 on weekdays so we did feel a little restricted on how long we could stay in Rome, until we realised there is a local bus ending at midnight from the metro to the hotel which our metro tickets could also be used for. Overall, an amazing holiday and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Even though the cheaper rooms appear less luxurious, they include a garden patio which is great to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 845 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel and i Will list all the aspects. Good: when you arrive it seems a little nice suburb. Bad: the hotel is pricey for the location and what it offers. staff is very rude, not helpful at all. You have to go by car, otherwise you have to walk 10-15' minutes to reach the entrance from Appia road in a road with no lights at night, so scary. The shuttle to capannelle station is available only at certain times, not upon request as they write, and the service ends at 10.30 pm, how can you expect in Rome not to come back later after dinner or a city centre walking?! The a/c didn't work, we got freezed during the night with no option of modifying the temperature. The water in the bathroom run hot also from the cold pipe, impossible to wash my teeth. The shower as a compensation had only cold (freezing) water, impossible to take a shower. I really hated my staying there..

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romangirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Starting our visit to Italy with a few days in Rome, we booked Hotel Piccolo Borgio and are very pleased indeed that we did. The hotel is close to Ciampino airport, and so there is a bit of overhead flight traffic, but not a disturbing amount. The hotel rooms are spacious and clean, and very comfortable. The hotel is very well maintained, and the service is excellent. We had a delicious dinner in the poolside restaurant too, and enjoyed the varied and fresh breakfasts. We wanted a base to visit Rome, and we were given good advice and help on efficient travel to get there. The shuttle bus is ideal to get to the metro. Our teenage kids enjoyed lounging around the clean fresh pool - it wasn't crowded and we always got a seat or a lounger. The owners have clearly put a lot of effort into ensuring that the environment is really pleasant, acknowledging that this is an airport hotel rather than a holiday hotel per se. There were a variety of nationalities using the hotel, including a significant number of Italians, which I though was a good sign.Really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the Piccolo Borgo with my partner for a week at the beginning of July. The hotel was lovely, nice clean room, great pool and nice area to eat outside at night if you chose to eat at the hotel restaurant. Good choice of breakfast was available too. This hotel is a little further from the centre of rome (around 25min on metro) however the free shuttle service run by the hotel to the nearest metro (taking around 10mins) was great! It depends what your looking for, however I enjoyed staying that little bit further out of the centre and having the pool etc. The staff were all great and very helpful! The only downside was the noise from planes given that their is an airport close by, however this didn't bother us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 888SarahD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice Hotel, nice and friendly staff. Clean and spacious room with a nice small veranda outside. Good food in the restaurant. Only problem I had was that the door got stuck and did not open anymore. But this was fixed in one hour. And the French doors still worked, so I could get out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chiirr N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We spend a few days at piccolo borgo and had a great time there. Our room nr32. was very big and clean with a private garden and our own tree. The staff was really friendly and the shuttle service is great. if you want to enjoy roma but like to have a quit hotel away from the fuus of the city, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martijn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we had one week in Rome at Picolo Borgo. The room nr.32 was big and clean with a small private garden with a tree inside. Only 3 rooms have private garden. The staff is very friendly; Virgilio is a very nice guy, also the driver Vali is redy to help you all the time and give you all the advise you need. The shuttle to metro station is OK, and you need 30 min to be in town. The pool is a plus and the restaurant is very good. We recommend this hotel as a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms 31, 32 have a private garden of around 20 m2 (the others have a small patio).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Castle
#174 of 1,271 in Rome
396 reviews
Hotel Capannelle
#750 of 1,271 in Rome
1,399 reviews
Gianicolense
Relais Castrum Boccea
Relais Castrum Boccea
#455 of 1,271 in Rome
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Il Papavero
Hotel Il Papavero
#1,004 of 1,271 in Rome
374 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Felice
Hotel Felice
#198 of 1,271 in Rome
682 reviews
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#592 of 1,271 in Rome
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Piccolo Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piccolo Borgo

Address: Via delle Capannelle 134, 00178 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Best Value Hotel in Rome
#252 Family Hotel in Rome
#260 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Piccolo Borgo 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
.Is with great pleasure that we want to let you know a little paradise in the countryside and about 20 minutes from the historic center of Rome.This elegant Hotel retains the mystical Atmosphere and it 's the ideal place for those who want a quiet other times The hotel is located in the middle of one of the largest open-air museums of Rome, between the Appia Antica Park and the aqueducts . On request provides at free transfer Service and from Ciampino Airport , metro station , and railway station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Piccolo Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccolo Borgo Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing