We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good!!!”
Review of Amico Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Amico Hotel
Ranked #959 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there last week because of Roma-Juventus and the staff was very kind and helpful, The room was clean and it was cleaned every day. Fortunately we could use a good wifi. Thank you!

ps. we will return surely when we will come to Rome again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

They say it is very close to the train station, but it is not true. You have to take the tram and it is a 20 minute ride. Walking would take more than 40 minutes. But 2 different trams go very often which makes it accessible enough.
When we arrived we were very disappointed with the location, but it was sort of cheap (staying in Rome is brutally expensive). The location doesnt look safe at all, but during 3 or 4 days we didnt have a problem at all. It is not actually a hotel, they are located in the 6th and 7th floor of an apartment / office building in corner. No sign for the name, just some kind of "Hotel" sign which is not very visible.

The room was ok, not very clean, but some how what I was expecting by the location and the "cheap" price. The shower was super dirty.

My main complain was the guys from the service desk during the afternoon, they were acting friendly but it was obvious that they didnt care that much. I asked them fro the password of their Wifi, and it took me 30 minutes to get that done. The lady in the morning was quite friendly.

If this is just only last minute option, it is a good choice. If you can book in advance in some other place closer and for the same amount, I would rather look for something else.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jma1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

NOT GOOD AT ALL.. When We saw the place that was totally EWW.. so we find another place even if we booked in that hotel, I can't live a day in that apartment-like-hotel...Its not even a Called Hotel... So avoid this hotel if i were you, you will be very disappointed:(

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
Thank 123SMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADMINAMICOHOTELF, Direttore at Amico Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Client,

Thank you for comment! Could you be so kind to explain us a very curious fact: how can you say that the hotel is “horrible” if you're not even in? It's like saying that your home is dirty and horrible without seeing it!
We are sorry for your no-show and hope you'll be more attentive with your choices.
Sincerely,
Amico Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've read some of the reviews before and most of them are correct about this place.
Location: we couldn't find this place easy, because it's situated in a living house, which looks awful. The only sign was 'Hotel' on the side of the building and nothing more. It might sound stupid, but at least you might expect some name alongside with the word hotel.
The area looked not very pleasant, but good thing was that there was a Pigneto street very close, where the vibe was similar to London's Bricklane!
From an inside: it looks very dirty, because it's based in residential building. Hotel doesn't look very clean neither, but that's what you can expect for that price.
Rooms were quite tidy, but no one has sweeped the floor under the bed entire time of stay. Bathroom and toilets were also not very clean. I could even see some insect crawling on the shower cabin - I'm glad my girlfriend didn't see it.
Service: service was OK, after showing our disappointment they let us choose from some rooms, which was very good. However we had to ask three times to reduce the volume of TV in the reception, because we could hear it even with the earplugs and couldn't fall asleep!
Bed sheets were changed occasionally. One day the room service tried to get into our room when we were not ready! And the sign was there, telling clearly 'DO NOT DISTURB!' Girlfriend tried to explain them, but poor communication of room service lade skills made mad, because she couldn't get in!
Receptionists were nice, but that's it.

Overall, if you have some nerve and not afraid of crawling things, living in not very pleasant location and being disturbed of noise, you can go for this cheapo. But if you can afford more expensive place, spend more and avoid this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugenijus_Sochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

I booked the hotel because other hotels were not available at this price 49 euro per night for two of us. From Roma Termini central station, tram 5 and 14 have good frequency. The tram stops right in front of the hotel. However, please talk to hotel staff to get directions. (That is what I did.) The hotel is on the 7th floor. The lift is very small - only for two people. No space for baby wagen. We reached early in the morning. The room was not ready, but they allwed us to leave our bag with them. Our room was on the 6th floor. But we always have to enter the 7th floor and then walk all the way to other side and take the steps down to 6th floor. There is a tram depo nearby so there will be some sound throught the night. Some staff is not good in English. But John is good. He also gave good information on some other questions about Rome. The room size was okay for what you pay. But the shower was leaking. The bathroom door was not closing properly. The whole area smells of cigarette smoke. If these things could be fixed and price reduced further, this hotel is a good bait if you want to save your euro.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pravaasee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

Everything about this place is a scam. The "hotel" is actually on the 7th floor of a residence building, and nowhere near anything. Termini is about a 20-30 minute walk, and the trams are nearby. Upon arriving at the designated check-in time, the hotel clerk advised that the rooms weren't clean, and I had to wait almost an hour. This wasn't so pleasant after arriving from the airport with all my bags. The room was ok, but rather dirty. The shower didn't work, tv didn't work, and there were dirty stains EVERYWHERE. And to top it off, when I asked about the complimentary breakfast (included in the booking price), I was told they don't offer it. Then I saw them serve another guest breakfast in their room...don't stay here. It's cheap, but it isn't worth the trouble.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jitbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2005

My family and I ended a great trip to Italy with three nights in Rome. We booked rooms at the Amico Hotel before we left, which was convenient. However, the hotel promises rooms as low as 49 Euros and a shuttle from Termini Station. In actuality, they do not offer a shuttle and the rooms for 49 use a common bathroom, which looked like a utility closet, with paint and supplies stored inside. We ended up spending 69-100 Euros per room (depending on the number of beds).
Finding the hotel was tricky, as it is quite a long distance from the Termini Station (although a direct route of the tram will take you quite near). We found ourselves in a very seedy neighborhood, 7 floors up by way of a tiny elevator that holds only 2 people. There was no food available, and no place near in the neighborhood. There is no lobby, but a desk area where you may find an attendant, and he or she won't speak English.
The hallways are very dark and dingy and the rooms smell of stale smoke. Depending on the room you get (we had three between us), you may have air conditioning (but you must ask for the remote control if you plan to use it). You may have a TV, but ours was too high to reach. The rooms were adequate for sleeping, although they were cramped, as were the bathrooms.
The biggest problem was the personel. The attendant we first met allowed us to store our luggage behind the desk until our room was ready, but would not let us access them later. She acted as if our being there was an imposition. Another time we saw the attendant smoking right underneath the no smoking sign. When we complained that the room smelled of smoke and had even had an ash tray, the attendant shrugged it off and said--well, someone was smoking, we can't help that.
Needless to say, we spent most of our time at the sites, and had no desire to be in these rooms any longer than necessary.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank connjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Jonico
#771 of 1,268 in Rome
347 reviews
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#778 of 1,268 in Rome
212 reviews
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#870 of 1,268 in Rome
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albergo Laura
#1,113 of 1,268 in Rome
76 reviews
Esquilino
Locanda Otello
Locanda Otello
#1,041 of 1,268 in Rome
55 reviews
Esquilino
Bixio Hotel
Bixio Hotel
#856 of 1,268 in Rome
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amico Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amico Hotel

Address: Piazzale Prenestino 15, 00176 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #959 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amico Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amico Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amico Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing