We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola
from $64.20
More Info
from $86.00
More Info
from $51.60
More Info
from $90.60
More Info
Reviews (3,636)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveler rating
1,152
302
22
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,152
302
22
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful church optical illusion trompe l'oeil painted ceiling fake dome jesuit order st ignatius ceiling fresco amazing ceiling side chapels sistine chapel baroque style worth a visit trevi fountain awe inspiring paintings cupola
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

This church is another incredible ornate example of thise churches that are all over Rome.The main item of interest is the dome. As there was not enough money for a dome to be built then a painting was done to make it look like there is one. From the right angles the illusion is perfect and you would not ever realise that this is a flat painting and not a real dome, amazing.

Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The fake trick dome needs cleaning I think? Neat mirror to look at the ceiling and what a fantastic piazza outside.

Thank KatherineHPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The church of Saint Ignazio di Loyola is situated in Piazza Sant'Ignazio. The church is accessible if you walk from Piazza Venezia on Via del Corso, and Via del Caravita.
The church was built between 1626 and 1650, in Baroque style. It have an imposing facade, and a magnificent interior.
The painted ceiling and the frescoes of Andreea Pozzo are wonderful.
The church is dedicated to Ignazio di Loyola, who was a famous theologian and the founder of Jesuit Order; he was canonized and declared Saint.
Inside the church we can admire numerous rich ornate chapels, the monument of pope Gregory XV, and - of course - the statue of St Iganatius.
I believe that the church worth a visit.

Thank Gabriel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It’s so nice to find yet another church and enjoy it for few minutes. Small or big, I have been fascinated with them all.

Thank JensinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The advantage of touring the smaller churches in Rome is you can admire the grandeur without the crowds. The trompe l’oeil in the ceiling of this church is amazing. Rome is great because you can see the changes in art through history. This church is baroque. While the exterior is interesting it masks the beauty inside. It’s a surprise to enter a cool old building and then be met by all the artistic wonders inside.

Thank Kathryn12655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

One of those hidden gems. Our guide on a segway tour pointed this church out and we returned later to experience it. The artwork is stunning and (while not giving away any spoilers) the ceiling is magnificent. In my opinion on par with the Sistine chapel without the mass of people jostling you.

Also free to enter (they do ask for a donation as most churches do). Modest clothing required.

Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2018

I more of a more modern church art fan (like 200 years old or so), and the ceiling painting in this church is simply amazing, it looks 3 dimensional and very special.

Thank Vitaly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

We just happen upon this church after leaving the Pantheon on our way to the Trevi Fountain and I was more impressed with this church than the Pantheon. I actually felt my pores raised, there was so much to take in. Best of all there were no crowds so you can actually experienced this church. Well kept secret. This was one of my most memorable places during my very short stay in Rome.

Thank hazekoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

Even if you are not religious which I am not, this church's mastery and beauty will stun you. I was stopped however for not having a cover on my shoulders. So much for moving into the modern era.

Thank Happyfellowtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

One of the largest churchs in Rome, and easily one of the most beautiful ones. This comes from the overall impression, which is late Barock and very nicely done, but mainly from the georgeous fresco painting on the ceiling. It describes scenes of the life of Saint Ignazius, who founded the Jesuit church. Furthermore, there are depictions of the continents. Much of the frescos are illusional. It is stunning art, and you should not miss it.

Of note, the church is facing one of the nicest piazzas in Rome, the Piazza di Sant’Ignazio di Loyola. The Piazza alone is worth visiting.

Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews