We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely concert” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola

Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola
Book In Advance
$68.76*
and up
Small Group Roman Dolce Vita with Local Tips
Ranked #18 of 1,340 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were there on All Saints Day and there was an orchestra and choir performing. All were welcomed into this absolutely wonderful church.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ConnieColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,270
    690
    65
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Read up before you go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My guidebook doesn't have much on this church but I wish I had done more research before we went. The frescoes are truly beautiful. The church's very large size gives the ceiling space to really envelop you. The infornpmation provided inside the church about the various chapels was minimal, I thought, but they were each interesting, specially the ones that seemed yet-to-be-finished. You could spend an hour in here easily. We plan to go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank citysuburb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful frescos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is not to be missed! The frescos are glorious and the guide was very informative. Definitely put this one on your list. Do a bit of studying about Loyola before you go. It will enhance your visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fencin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

A high baroque Jesuit large church between the Pantheon and Il Gesu. Splendid paintings -- site of the famous illusionist frescoes -- particularly in the dome. Also, a concert venue.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Max87501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing ceilings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

this church may not be on the top of everyone's must see list but it should be. The ceilings are just amazing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank pattyh7n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola also viewed

 

Been to Chiesa di Sant'Ignazio di Loyola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing