We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of peace in the centre of Rome!”
Review of Casa Il Rosario

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Il Rosario
Ranked #520 of 3,709 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2013

a charming house, with a very quiet and wonderful garden in the middle, and a terrace with stunning views of the colloseum and other parts of Rome, this place is worth every minute of time spent there! The rooms are comfortable, we had one overlooking the yard and the garden and the fresh air and fragrance from the garden, the calm and peace, is unbeatable! The nuns are friendly and yet unobtrusive, the breakfast is very good and just right for an early start to the day! We wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: take one overlooking the garden!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeenakshiT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Casa Il Rosario
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 145 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

We took our children on a 17 day Italian tour June 2012 and the 1st 4 days were in Rome. Our daughter is 7 and our son is 10. The nuns were wonderful; the location was perfect; the room was immaculately clean and comfortable; there was a quiet serenity here that allowed me to settle into our vacation and truly experience the city. il Rosario is a beautiful, peaceful retreat. In the evenings when the kids were sleeping, I could sneak down to the lovely garden and sit alone to journal our days in the busy city. I will not bother to look into any other lodging for future trips to Rome....this is the one.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed here on six or seven occasions and can honestly say it just gets better and better. I have recommended it to lots of friends who have all come back to me praising it to the rooftops - and beyond! Single rooms with bathroom are only €50+ and doubles less than €!00 (breakfast included). Breakfast now includes cereal, rolls, jams, butter, cheese, paté, tea, coffee, chocolate.It is between via Nazionale and via Cavour, within walking distance of the Forum and Colosseum. Lots of lovely restaurants are close by. Buses and metro are within easy reach. Rooms are clean and fresh if a little small. There is an 11.00 pm curfew but this never bothers me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was my first stay in a convent and I was pleasantly surprized at the experience. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Casa il Rosario has a beautiful garden terrace and rooftop terrace with great views! My group of 14 women stayed here for two nights while in Rome. The location is on a quiet side street but very close to a metro stop and the Colosseum. It is within walking distance of many of the local sites. Several of us walked there from the train station but it was a good 10-12 blocks on irregular streets and side walks. The taxi ride back to the train station was just 15 euros for three to four people including bags. The nuns were very pleasant and also helpful with calling taxis for us. The breakfast is somewhat minimal but adequate to get you started for your day.

Room Tip: Request a room with a window to the outside, either the street or courtyard.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AWWTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We loved this place. We traveled with our 16 and 20 yrs and we requested 4 beds room. The sisters gave us a unit on first floor and to our suprise, it is actually like 2 units with bathroom in the middle. We were very pleased and this is one of the best accomodation during our trip. This location is walking distance to bus, train, grocery, pharmacy, restaurants, ATM machine and several major attractions. Less than 30 min walk to the Colosseum area. Less than 25 min bus ride to Vatican. After visited Vatican, we took a walking tour Rick Steves recommanded thru the heart of Rome and enjoyed the food on our way back. The convent itself is very clean and very quiet. The sisters and staff are very helpful and friendly. Couple of days we enjoyed our dinner on the roof top where we can see the Colosseum and the neighborhood. Very relaxing. I definitely coming back here for my next trip.

Room Tip: There is a garden on upper floor which can be seen/access from rooms on upper floors.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicago888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The Casa Il Rosario is very well located in the heart of Rome. Guests are within walking distance of most of the major sights, and close to the Metro as well. Located on a small side street near Piazza Venezia, we were protected from much of the traffic noise, so were refreshed for the next day's adventure. Rooms are sparse, but clean, and the continental breakfast, though not lavish, provides adequate choices. The charming garden and roof terrace provide spots for relaxation and rooftop views. Staff is very helpful, the price is right, and internet is available. The room was a bit stuffy, but that was the only drawback. I would definitely stay there again, and have recommended this location to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ljgotraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We loved the sisters at Il Rosario and would stay there again on a return trip. We felt it to be a great contrast to the busy and noisy streets of Rome. Our room was so quiet and we were not bothered with noise of other hotel guests either. The sisters were accommodating to our needs, but did not speak English well and had a hard time understanding my Italian, but would still recommend the convent to any of our friends or family members. Also very close to ancient Rome which makes it convenient.

Stayed: April 2012
5  Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#324 of 1,267 in Rome
417 reviews
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#414 of 1,267 in Rome
208 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#522 of 1,267 in Rome
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
Domus Sessoriana Hotel
#298 of 1,267 in Rome
884 reviews
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#556 of 1,267 in Rome
156 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Il Rosario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Il Rosario

Address: Via di Sant'Agata Dei Goti 10, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #520 of 3,709 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Casa Il Rosario Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing