We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely and much better than anticpated”
Review of Hotel Paba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Paba
Ranked #316 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very lovely and much better than anticpated”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about it being a 2 star hotel, but the room was very charming and much larger than anticipated. The owner was very cute and went out of her way to make sure the room was ready for an early check-in even though she didn't have to. She gave us a good map of the city and offered some advice on how to get around and what we may want to see for our short stay. The only thing better than the room was the location. Very nicely located close to the Colosseum and only about a 4 minute walk to the closest metro station. There are about 3 nice restaurants close by as well as a fairly large grocery store just down the street. The water pressure was a little low in the shower, but if this is all you have to complain about you don't have your priorities in order! I would highly recommend the hotel because it is easy to find and in a good location.

Room Tip: We had the The honeymoon suite with a GIGANTIC bed... it had to be the equivalent to a California ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    119
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
73
225
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Alberta was so kind and helpful. My room was perfect (nice size bathroom too!), with a view out to the street. You cannot hear street noise when the windows and shutters are closed so it was perfect for recuperating from jet lag.

The location cannot be beat, with your choice of restaurants right outside the front door. Walk just a couple of blocks down and you're at the Colosseum and Roman Forum. Amazing sights and so close to the hotel.

I felt safe and right where I wanted to be in the city. Someone commented on the breakfast. Italians don't really eat what we call breakfast so the toast, croissant and coffee are perfect. If you want more, step outside and head to any of the conveniently located restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Functional yet cozy rooms, great location close to many important sights, wonderful service from Alberta and her son Alessio. Very clean and comfortable. The breakfast is modest, mostly toast and croissants and coffee. It's a wonderful place to stay at a good price.

It's also close to many restaurants, one of them being taverna romana. It has authentic food, a cozy atmosphere and decent prices.

We will definitely come back and send our friends here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missmoto05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

on July 2012 we spent 4 nights in Paba Hotel . we had the best experience: the atmosphere,the location, the rooms, but above all was the hospitality of Alberta - the good advices we got of many subjects. all of these made our vacation a dream. we certainly will recomend this place to our friens and surely meet again.
Eran Levi and family, ISRAEL

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eran l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed there with my wife in September 2012, the location is great, a 5 minutes walking distance from the Colosseum and 10 minutes from Pizaa de Venizia. It is a 7 rooms hotel (an apartment in a building turned to a hotel). The room is spacious and air conditioned, bathroom is clean but with no tub. I read Tribadvisor reviews before booking, they all talk about hard matress, yes it is hard but still did not spoil the stay. Definitely will stay there if I visited Rome again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AkmalMagdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diepenbeek, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The location is superb ! behind the corner you already see the Colosseum, at the end of the street you find the Forum Romanum. The metro is 100m to your right. The via Cavour is filled with restaurants, deli's, the post office, tabaco shop, souvenir shops etc. Everybody agrees that Alberta is the one who makes her hotel wirthwile to stay here. The rooms are ok, but nothing special, the building the hotel is located in is very old and no so well kept. The elevator is an attraction on its own and the breakfast is poor. 1 crossant (with orange taste), 1 fruitjuice, 1 coffee, 1 slice of toast with mamelade every morning. Boring !!! But enough alternatives in the street.
The room was not clean. The dust we found under the bed, the first day, was still there on day 6.
We had the room on the street side, with a balcony. so the view down the road was a nice extra. When the shutters are closed you can not hear the street noises. The airconditioning is really necessary in Rome in august. We had a good night's rest.
An OK hotel on a great location with a splendid host, just not enough space of facilties for the 3 of us to stay 6 nights. Probably perfect for a 3 nights stay to enjoy Rome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belgischereiziger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#100 of 1,263 in Rome
284 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#247 of 1,263 in Rome
214 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#174 of 1,263 in Rome
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Labelle
Hotel Labelle
#517 of 1,263 in Rome
152 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#643 of 1,263 in Rome
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paba

Property: Hotel Paba
Address: Via Cavour 266 | (2° piano), 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#86 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#95 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Paba 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paba is a small, but fine two star hotel with elevator on the second floor and every detail is carefully planned. Our location is in the center of Rome, 100 mt. from the Roman Forum, 200 mt. from the Coliseum, Capitol Hill, San Peter in Chains (with Moses by Michelangelo )ecc.. We are steps from the best shopping area and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Paba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paba Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing