We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Play and Learn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Explora

Explora
Ranked #176 of 1,488 things to do in Rome
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This interactive children's museum is designed to engage children and stimulate their natural curiosity about science, the environment, society, communication and more.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Stroller parking
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Place to Play and Learn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We took our two daughters, eight and six, here on our last day in Rome and it was perfect. We needed something as an alternative for them after a few days of visits to museums and historical sites. Explora is a hands on place to learn and play where children can imagine themselves shopping and banking or gardening and cooking, to name just a few of the many activities. There is a little water play area (no swimming, just a place to learn how water works).

We have been to many children's museums in the US, the two best being in Philadelphia and Pittsburgh. Explora is small by comparison, but the way they manage the number of children in the space is excellent. You need to reserve an appointment for your children to play and Explora only allows a certain number in at a time. It was wonderful because it was not crowded and the children had the chance to play together and with others without there being a crush of people everywhere.

The highlight for our older daughter was the grocery store, which had a working scanner that printed real receipts. The scale for the fruit and vegetables also worked, allowing kids to weigh things and to print stickers with the prices that could then be scanned. This fascinated my eight year old; and she had a great time scanning and printing receipts.

Our six year old had the most fun at the kitchen and the play garden next to the kitchen where she could pick carrots and potatoes from the ground and pears from a wooden tree. The whole place was clean and calm and cool with decent, though not great, air conditioning.

I highly recommend a visit if you are in Rome. Explora was filled with numerous Italian families too, so it really is more a local than a tourist attraction.

Make your reservation online (http://http://mdbr.it/) and arrive a bit early to have a cappuccino in the cafe in the lobby where they have WiFi if you ask for the code. You can get there via the Metro Line A - Flaminio stop.

After playing, we walked up Via Flaminia to Il Buchetto for a simple, inexpensive pizza lunch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank cplong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    152
    66
    34
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic for children of every age!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

As we were in Rome for a short business trip and we could take our children of five and eight years of age with us, friends who have children in Rome advised us to take ours to this "Children Museum" called "Explora". We went there despite the concierge didn't know,maybe he didn't have children, and believe me it's a wonderful place for children and adults alike:
Location is excellent, quite, and no cars allowed around, just five blocks north from Flaminio subway station, which means nearby Piazza del Popolo.
Price is good for what they give the children, which is two hours of pure excitement and fun, while mom and dad can go to cafeteria or enjoy downtown shopping,because playing assistants in there will entertain your kids even in English.
Attractions are all new and perfect, there are all sort of things that kids in real life are not allowed to touch, like an atm, a firemen van, doctor's instruments, a tv broadcast station,a food store with fake food items just like the real ones where children can manage the cashiers and purchase with toy cash; then there's some science games and experiments, and various activities are going on, in which kids are welcome for free. It's a truly magnificent place for the kids to enjoy and experience; facililties are there, and many, and all clean. On the park there is an excellent playground which is free, and the whole place has an inside restaurant with excellent pizza and kids'meals. For us, it was a wonderful discovery and our children wanted to extend their stay for two turns, in total four hours, which can be done, just paying an extra ticket. The hardest thing, is dragging them out of there!!!!!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Leah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good for a break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

After having our five year old son endure several days of sightseeing, museums, famous churches, and the hard walks on Roman pavement, we thought that he deserves a break and went to Explora.

He was really happy to play in the exhibits and could have definitely stayed longer than the 1hr45min timed admission. The place was air conditioned and comfortable. It was well kept and had decent English signing instructions. It was not big but it was not crowded either. Having been to many other children museums, Explora was comparable.

The place is easy to find. Take the metro to Flaminio and then walk to the museum on Via Flaminia.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank stefanelNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012 via mobile

My 3 & 6 year old daughters loved this place! And it was a nice treat after all the grown up museums. They limit it to a 1:45 time for your stay which is nice. The kids didn't want to leave of course, but could see the whole place was stopping which helped. There's also a restaurant and separate cafe there to eat. I would highly recommend it to anyone! You can book a time slot online- and it's req. on weekends/holidays/school breaks so it's never bonkers in there!

Helpful?
2 Thank sstokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for my active toddler”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

My husband and I took out 16 month old, energetic toddler. The museum has a great interactive water fountain. Younger children can play in a running stream of water with given cups and plastic glasses. Older children can use kinetic energy to create jets of water. I appreciate the plastic aprons and steps stools that were available as my child is quite enthusiastic about water.

The museum had age appropriate play areas and we found an enclosed play space upstairs that was also perfect for him. There is also a nursing area for nursing mothers. The staff has extra diapers, which was helpful as we conveniently forgot the diapers in the hotel.

There are times slots that are strictly enforced. I'm not sure if I'm a big fan of limited access to a museum, but I suppose it prevents overcrowding. Overall, a great way to give us all a break from sightseeing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruffington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Explora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing