We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Audio guide was difficult to follow”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Borghese Gallery

Borghese Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.19*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets
Ranked #12 of 1,488 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum in the beautiful setting of Villa Borghese in Rome preserves sculptures, reliefs and ancient mosaics, and paintings and sculptures from the fifteenth to the eighteenth century. The collection, made up initially by Cardinal Scipione Borghese in the early seventeenth century, preserves masterpieces of Antonello da Messina, Giovanni Bellini, Raffaello, Tiziano, Correggio, Caravaggio and beautiful sculptures of Gian Lorenzo Bernini and Canova.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Audio guide was difficult to follow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

As other reviewers have stated you do need to book ahead. Our booking was fine but the couple before us were dismissed by reception as their booking had gone 'missing' on the internet. Staff were quite unhelpful to the couple.
You need to check-in all bags & you are given a clear plastic bag to carry.
The art was great but it was difficult to follow with the lack of signage and audio guide issues.
Very busy and crowded.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,535
    1,949
    597
    212
    222
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Gallery, beware of rude staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This gallery is incredible, great art, beautiful rooms, great settings, etc. We didn't have reservations but we decided to take a chance getting there early in the morning,probably 8:30 a.m. 9:00 a.m. on a Tuesday, even do it was a sign "No tickets until next saturday" When it was our turn we show our Roma Pass and they let us in. We noticed that the staff in charge inside the gallery are very rude, we know that you can not take pictures with flash but they were hysterical if someone forgot ,you can hear the screams from far away, and this in a sense make everyone uncomfortable., at one point I wanted to finish my visit so I can stop hearing all this people scraming. So be aware if you visit "Flash off"

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lety1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning artwork”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stumbled upon the Borghese Galley when looking for things to do in Rome and I'm so glad I found it. The artwork was amazing and I thoroughly recommend getting the audio guide for 5 euros. As a student the price was already reduced and I think highly worth it. You are only allowed in for 2 hours and it is reservation only - but this means that it isn't crowded when you are in. 2 hours was a perfect amount of time for me to walk round the whole building and listen to the full audioguide. The grounds are also very relaxing, you must do this when you visit Rome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Micki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bernini's masterpieces”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Probably the most accomplished sculptures in the world. Baroque masterpieces of movement and energy. Just look at the fingers pressing into the skin. David's concentration as he is about to release his slingshot. A truly wonderful experience although the original over-indulgent Baroque decoration of the galleries doesn't set the key pieces to their best advantage.
Book ahead or you won't get in. Places are limited to make it a joy. The Vatican Museums could learn something from these people.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Bernini!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful. Not overwhelming or crowded like the lovely Vatican museums. Highly recommended of you are a fan of art. A great collection. Make sure you pay the small fee for a guided tour (the guide was extremely informational) and explains many of the main pieces and the family history. Amazing Bernini collection.

Helpful?
Thank MiniMuffin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borghese Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing