We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed exhibition”
Review of Borghese Gallery

Borghese Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$44.64*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets
More Info
$39.94*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets
More Info
$65.79*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery and Gardens Small-Group Tour with Transport
Ranked #12 of 1,522 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum in the beautiful setting of Villa Borghese in Rome preserves sculptures, reliefs and ancient mosaics, and paintings and sculptures from the fifteenth to the eighteenth century. The collection, made up initially by Cardinal Scipione Borghese in the early seventeenth century, preserves masterpieces of Antonello da Messina, Giovanni Bellini, Raffaello, Tiziano, Correggio, Caravaggio and beautiful sculptures of Gian Lorenzo Bernini and Canova.
Göteborg
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Missed exhibition”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had seen that threr was a Giacommetti exhibition which we were very keen to see. When we got there we were informed that it was severakldays before we could get tickets. We had to the a train ride through the park which was a small compensation even though it was very beautiful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raggej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,914
    2,029
    619
    219
    229
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“a wonderful collection of Roman art!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

we was so lucky! we could not buy the tickets online before,just tried the beautiful park and went to museum.OH!there were 2 cancelled tickets for the time we arrived there! and we visited all that stunning painting and sculptures like a dream.the caravaggio,Bernini, and others...
Don't miss it at all!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank leila m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful museum in a beautiful place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

In this museum you can find statues of Canova, Bernini and also works of Raphael, and Rubens.
Is preferably reserve in advance, at least 2-3 days before if you don't want queue long time
After of before visit, is worth walking in the museum park for some minutes

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Renato_viaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A charming and special, very important little Museum”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Galleria Borghese is a little, but great Museum situated in the famous Park of Villa Borghese. An amazing wiew on Rome, a lake with boats, a little train, a Theater, and many interesting Monuments and attractions (like Zoo). And there are some "Bistrots" to eat something...
I usually suggest to my Guests of the Domus Ciancaleoni, to visit it, because it is an amazing experience. It id necessary to reserve by phone or email, because the visits (leght of each visit : 2 hours) are done only in little group of persons.
Visits starts from 9 am. The last visit is at 17 h. I warmly recommend this place!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silviadelguercio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing art gallery”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Galleria Borghese is one of the most impressive art galleries in Rome. Personally I liked it more than the Vatican Museums, because it's doable in one visit and you don't feel like having lost 90 % of the museum. Keep in mind to book in advance and take the audio-guide as well, it helps you to understand the gallery a lot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LukasdiMeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borghese Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing