We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borghese Gallery

Borghese Gallery
Book In Advance
More Info
$42.19*
and up
Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets
Ranked #12 of 1,488 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum in the beautiful setting of Villa Borghese in Rome preserves sculptures, reliefs and ancient mosaics, and paintings and sculptures from the fifteenth to the eighteenth century. The collection, made up initially by Cardinal Scipione Borghese in the early seventeenth century, preserves masterpieces of Antonello da Messina, Giovanni Bellini, Raffaello, Tiziano, Correggio, Caravaggio and beautiful sculptures of Gian Lorenzo Bernini and Canova.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing art!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were lucky enough to get tickets on the day, thanks to Francesco at Hotel Rimini.
Take your time when looking at the amazing pictures and sculptors, you will get a sore neck, the ceilings are just awesome!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,535
    1,949
    597
    212
    222
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I went in February and I imagine it was relatively quiet. Although you have to reserve a time to visit and numbers are limited, the entry process left a lot to be desired. We were directed to go in through the bookshop and although I already had a ticket via my Roma Pass there was no separate line for pass holders unlike at some other sites. You were required to get your ticket before checking your bag, but the ticket queue was placed after the bag check, so people were milling back and forward and there was very little room in the admissions area BUT...once in it was worth every penny of the admission fee and any amount of waiting. In fact, the Caravaggios and the Apollo and Daphne were sublime and limiting the number of visitors made it possible to really spend your allocated 2 hours enjoying your favourite pieces.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Art that you can only see here. Superb rooms. Superb art both sculpture and paintings. David with the slingshot is very special

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Crazy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well organized and staffed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We bought tickets in advance and were asked to be 15 minutes before time. At this time we exchanged reservations by tickets (actually this step could be avoided....) and left bags at the front desk. The visit started on time and the organized entrance was OK since it regulates the number of visitants. The sorounding Park is wonderful and added to the visit. The pinacoteque and the sculptures at the exposition are excellent and well maintained (photos are forbidden) - highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just seeing the inside of this gorgeous museum is worth the entry fee. I have seen some beautiful places all over Europe, but I can honestly say the ceilings and walls in this galleria are some of the most amazing I have ever laid eyes on. I easily made reservations from the USA before I left and we walked right in. Two hours is plenty, though I have to admit I went back three times to see the Bernini sculpture of Apollo and Daphne - it was simple exquisite. Next time I will do the audio guide, and I WILL go back, even though I don't like doing anything twice! You cannot take any photos inside (don't even bother trying!) so I bought lots of postcards at the gift shop. Also, there is a nice little cafe to get a snack or drink.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank merrietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borghese Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing