We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Domus Praetoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Domus Praetoria
Ranked #341 of 1,285 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Italian experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Domas Praetoria is a charming little hotel with lots of character, from the huge wooden entry doors to the tiny elevator. The 16 rooms are on two different floors so we found it to be very quiet. The owners couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. The breakfast room has a nice patio and the fresh baked goods are excellent. The neighborhood has numerous sidewalk cafes so walking to dinner is a pleasant experience. The rooms are all very individual and all comfortably Italian. The hotel has numerous safeguards to security. Overall it was a pleasant fun experience.

Room Tip: Our room was very spacious. You may ask to see the rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeDeeH241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    284
    55
    12
    5
See reviews for
128
321
59
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a night last week while on transit in Rome. I was able to locate the hotel very quickly and easily by following the directions that came with my booking. The hotel is only a short walk from the Rome termini, supermarkets and eateries. It is also a comfortable walk to a few other attractions (I walked to and from the Colosseum and Fontana di Trevi). Staff are extremely nice and helpful. I arrived Rome on a 13-hour overnight flight and had very little sleep during the flight. The front desk staff was really kind to get my room ready early so that I could check-in and have some sleep. My room was spacious, quiet and clean. Breakfast was simple but sufficient and with good coffee. Overall, I am extremely satsified with my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komarno
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

An easy few minute walk from the Rome termini and 15-20 minute walk from the Colosseum.Staff are very friendly and helpful.The rooms are very clean and quiet. They provided a continental breakfast and each cup of coffee was made fresh.
I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamberoo, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location: An easy 5 Minute walk from the Rome Termini.
Staff: Staff are friendly, helpful and speak reasonable English
Accommodation: The rooms are quiet, spacious, comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast served was very ordinary. Even though most city areas nearby to rail stations seem to attract seedy characters we found this area of Rome to be a safe area both daytime and night.
Would I Recommend: Definitely, but I would also explore other options first.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a family owned hotel. The family who owns it is very accommodating. They all spoke English and made us feel very welcome. They helped with arrangements to the Vatican and suggested restaurants, and provided excellent directions and a map. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. The location was excellent and not threatening and we felt very safe, although we did not venture out after dark as we were exhausted. Our room overlooked the street and I enjoyed waking up to see the market each day. They provided a continental breakfast and each cup of coffee was made fresh. I certainly miss the Coffee as it was excellent ! I would highly recommend this hotel and would love to go back someday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmar5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights prior to cruising for 7 days, and 1 night prior to returning home. Family run, with Massimo in particular, and his brother being most helpful in assisting us during our 4 days in Rome. The outside does not reflect the quality of the interior rooms, which are spotless and entirely adequate for our visit. Within 2/3 mins walk from Termini station for trains and metros, hence ideal for airport transfers by train, and for metros to all the sites such as Trevi, Vatican and Colesseum etc.

Room Tip: Requested a quiet room upon booking, and were accommodated with a large room for the 3 night stay, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Difficult to beat this little hotel when it comes to value for money. The exterior is a little underwhelming and the hotel is not well advertised from the street, but once inside, the helpfulness of the staff and the qualityof the accommodation dispel any doubts about the wisdom of the booking.
All of the staff speak excellent English and made us feel very welcome. They were happy to arrange bookings for museums etc. and were a fund of useful information.
The rooms are very generously proportioned and well furnished for a hotel of this category. We had a room overlooking the street, which meant that we learned to keep the window closed after the first night as the small street market starts setting up not long after 5:30, and can be noisy. However, the double glazing is very effective at keeping the noise out and there were no problems for the rest of the week.
There are no public areas or lounges in the hotel, but this scarcely matters in a city like Rome where most people will be out viewing the sites throughout the day.
Breakfasts are limited, but more than adequate and are served in a small but pleasant breakfast room. Again, the staff are very helpful.
The location of the hotel, less than 5 minutes walk from the Metro, Train and Bus Stations, and the Tram network is very hard to beat. Although the streets around here are not the smartest in the city, there are some very pleasant bars and retaurants and, like the hotel, they are very reasonably priced compared to elsewhere in Rome. In short, we were very happy with our stay here and would certainly use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CM_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Domus Augusta
Domus Augusta
#607 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Esquilino
Astoria Garden
Astoria Garden
#348 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#271 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Principe Eugenio
Principe Eugenio
#458 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
Esquilino
Exe Domus Aurea
Exe Domus Aurea
#229 of 1,285 in Rome
4.0 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Esquilino
Milani Hotel
Milani Hotel
#409 of 1,285 in Rome
3.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Domus Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Domus Praetoria

Property: Hotel Domus Praetoria
Address: Via Milazzo 42, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#227 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#258 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Domus Praetoria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Domus Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing