We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Praetoria
Ranked #452 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Have just come back from a long weekend in Rome and this was pretty much THE perfect budget hotel. 2 minutes from the central station, clean & well kept; comfortable beds, good sized rooms and bathrooms, hot showers and radiators - a must even in Italy in the winter! Friendly, professional and knowledable reception staff ( raised in Italy, trained in Knightsbridge!). Hard to fault for the price but if I was being picky, I'd say the breakfasts were no more than adequate (cereal, toast, pastries, juice, tea / coffee) especially for those who prefer a hearty start to the day.

Room Tip: Try not to go in the front - there is sometimes a small market setting up outside around 7 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilly2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 810 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Thanks to the review here I ended up in a great little hotel. The location is perfect, just three blocks from Termini. The service was great, the room was big, clean and quiet. I had to leave early before breakfast time to the airport and they gave me a voucher to eat in a near by coffee shop that opened super early. Also they helped me to get around the city. Next time going back to Italy, I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AkirePR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel lies only about 150 meters away from the Stazione Termini the terminal of all the trains, of the buses that goes to Fiumicino airport and all the buses and metro of the city of Rome. The district is quiet full of hotels and restaurants. The hotel is an old palazzo very beautifully renovated, absolutely safe,clean with excellent staff. The room is spacious with nice decoration. the only problem is that the floor is covered with tiles and not wood and this is a problem when the weather is cold. The hotel has no restaurant but this is no problem as there are hundreds of them in the area nearby. The main attraction of the city can be visited also on foot if someone wants to explore the city. For example the Coloseum is 15 minutes away but as Rome is a big museum it would be better to use buses to explore the city or even taxis which dont cost a lot of money. In general it was a very pleasant stay and the hotel is reccomended mainly for its location.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Domus back in 2009, and had a great experience there, and wrote a review then. I just returned from another trip to Rome, and stayed at the Domus Hotel again - twice! I was please to discover that it is still an awesome place to stay in Rome.

The hotel, located a few blocks from the Rome Termini, is still managed by 3 brothers - Massimo, Fabio and Antonio. In getting reservations via e-mail, they promptly returned my messages, and reservations were quickly and easily made. Upon arrival, I was pleased to see that the hotel was still immaculately clean and well tended-to. At the beginning of my trip, I stayed in room 101, which was in the newest wing recently added. The room was incredibly spacious, quiet, and comfortable. At the end of my trip, I returned and stayed in room, 204. It was a bit older, but still in good condition. In both rooms the air conditioner worked well when needed. As others have mentioned, some of the rooms face the street. There tends to be noise from the street market held there - with set up beginning around 6am. I like the rooms facing the street - it is great people watching, and using ear plugs at night eliminated the noise. Rooms that are quieter face the courtyard, but there is still some noise from neighbors in the building. Again, ear plugs were helpful.

New since my last visit is the addition of free WiFi in all rooms. This was really convenient with the use of my tablet. The signal was strong in room 101 and near the check in area. In more distant rooms, the signal was weaker, and dropped on occasion. In those instances, I just went downstairs near the office to use my tablet. No problem.

The breakfast room is still cheerful, but at times small, especially when the hotel is full, depending on the time in the morning. Food is basic as others have mentioned, although corn flakes are now offered for those wanting cereal. I love meusli, so I just go to a nearby Conad grocery store (located in the lower level of the Termini) and buy a box for breakfasts. Best of all is Novie who works in the breakfast room. She is so sweet, efficient, and makes the best coffee and cappucino ever! Hands down the best coffee of 4 hotels I stayed in during this trip.

Although the hotel is located near the Termini, if still feels quite safe to me, traveling as a single female. There are a lot of immigrants from other countries around, but I never felt unsafe at all. During my 2009 visit, I used the Spashnet, the hostel / laundromat/ internet point around the corner on Via Varese,33. During this visit, it was not as appealing. A bit more dirty, and a very unfriendly man now manages it during the day. The upside is that they have extended hours, so user-friendly. I found a better place this time by chance. It is located at Via Varese 44. The hours are more limited (around 10:30am to 7:30pm), but is immaculately clean. The gentleman who owns and runs it is very kind but also very strict. He does not put up with any "nonsense" in his place. As a result, it is very quiet and peaceful there. I had to use this internet point when all my technology crashed, and had to call the U.S. This location has several phone booths, all clean, with very reasonable rates to use phones and internet.

Nearby stores include the Conad store in the lower level of the termini, and a pharmacy on the east side of the termini as well. Also by chance found a great Halal Indian Food restaurant on the west side of the termini - they had excellent doner kabob (separate review coming).

All in all, Hotel Domus is still excellent in my opinion. Not only does it have spacious and clean rooms, free WiFi, good breakfasts in a great central location. Most of all, it has a lot of heart and caring staff who will make your stay memorable. Do not miss this gem of a hotel in Rome!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are noisier due to the street and market noise (but more interesting!). Inne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Spent one night here with my partner. Reception clerk was friendly, responsive and diligent. Usual Roman setup with three doors to go through and a lift ride before you see your room. The room was large – parquetry floors, air conditioner which worked, safe which also worked, and a large bed which provided a comfortable sleep. Bathroom was also large and had shampoo, bath gel and towels of reasonable thickness provided. Room was clean but old and simple, Roman apartment style bones to it. We were in a courtyard room – any noise was minor and we slept easily through the night. I would say that unlike the cheery b and b's we previously stayed in, the room was a little depressing and I wouldn't want to spend hours here inside it. Breakfast was fine. Cereal, coffee, tea, yoghurt, juice, bread rolls and croissant-type cakes, fresh from the baker. Area is slighty seedy but most towns are like that in areas around main stations. Felt safe enough despite the area (stayed in Trastevere before and the two areas can't be compared) and ate a good meal at Mama Angela's in the street around the corner. Would like it to give it 4 stars but it lacked atmosphere and style of other places, but the hotel is definitely convenient if you've an early morning train to the airport. Price we paid for a double was 125 Euros found on booking.com. Overall, when we searched this area's hotels on the net, this was a moderately low price. The reception was open 24 hours which is useful if you don't know exactly what time you're arriving in Rome (B and b's are more limited generally with reception hours.).

Room Tip: Courtyard room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dusty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights before going on a cruise. The hotel was very near to Roma Termini which was great and a good base to get around. The hotel was basic but very clean and rooms were very spacious. For a short stay this hotel is ideal and reasonable.it liked it because it was so near to the station/metro etc.
A couple of tips if you're going to Rome. You can get a coach from the airport for €5 each but it is just as easy to catch a train to Roma Termini and get to your hotel from there.
We paid for a day metro ticket but we didnt need it as most sights are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debs_brighton_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on 2 separate occasions while on vacation in Italy...staff was excellent and Marco and Franco were so helpful and always pleasant. Hotel is very close to Termini train station, about 3 blocks which was perfect for us and within walking distance to the Colosseum and Santa Maria Maggiore. Breakfast was ur typical continental stuff pastries, cereal, yougurt, cappucino (excellent), bread,etc and covered the 1st part of our day very well. Rooms were large (by european standard) and cleaned daily; 1st room we stayed in was 305 and on that side of the hotel there was a little kitchenette area with dishwasher, coffee machine, stove and dining table and that came in very handy for our late night internet browsing. It looked out onto Via Milazzo (wasn't very noisy). We stayed on the newer side of the hotel on our 2nd visit and the room had more modern furniture and looked out inot the courtyard. Rooms had A/C, mini fridge, TV and WiFi was up and down inside the rooms a bit.
All in all we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay at Domus and would definitely stay again in the future..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Principe Eugenio
Principe Eugenio
#508 of 1,268 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Crosti Hotel
Crosti Hotel
#200 of 1,268 in Rome
866 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#146 of 1,268 in Rome
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Domus Augusta
Domus Augusta
#635 of 1,268 in Rome
56 reviews
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#394 of 1,268 in Rome
807 reviews
Esquilino
Venetia Palace Hotel
Venetia Palace Hotel
#341 of 1,268 in Rome
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Praetoria

Address: Via Milazzo 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Domus Praetoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#256 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $87 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Praetoria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing