We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residenza Praetoria
Ranked #459 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was close to Termini railway station and with easy access to Colosseum and Forum through the Metro. It took us a while to find the hotel but that could have been solved had we printed our selfs a better map from Google instead of using the map from the booking website. We are a family of five and managed somehow to book a single room in the hotel. When we arrived the owners that welcomed us said that we could not sleep all five in the room, we had booked. They offered instead an apartment in the same building for us at no extra cost. We had therefor a good room for our selfs and the children slept comfortable in a separate bedroom. Excellent service and very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari_Solmundar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 810 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Zeyun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The rooms are neat and clean - everything you need. Bed, shower, TV (if you understand Italian) cupboards and a safe. It is well situated, close to Termini Station and the hop-on-hop-off bus starting point. Good breakfast of pastries and yoghurt and THE most amazing coffee to get you going. Around the hotel are nice little restaurants and bars. The wireless signal in our room did not work too well in our room and had to go and sit in the corridor - but we have no complaints... There is a morning market which is right outside the hotel front doors during the week, really nice to have a stroll around and see. The family who run the hotel and incredibly kind, very helpful and friendly, especially Massimo! He knows all the tips for visiting the sites around Rome. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We had a room over looking the road - the rooms facing the courtyard should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The family that runs this hotel were excellent hosts and the rooms were nice and clean. I recommend this hotel to all who travel to rome. I will definitely stay there again! the area is safe and close to the train station. The people working spent time in England learning English and they were able to give us advice about Rome and when and where to visit the tourist attraction. The breakfast was nice and we enjoyed our stay there. The reason for the name of the hotel is because the Praetorian who were the Emperors guards used to be housed in the area where the hotel was build hence Domus (house) Praetoria.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We were extremely pleased with our stay here. We heard good things about it from our friends but it went beyond our expectations when my wife and I actually experiened the stay. It is so close to the Termini (main trainstation) which was a great help especially if you are walking with your luggage. We actually walked everywhere since this hotel was close enough to all the main attractions in Rome.

The best part of our stay was by far the service. The hotel is by a father and his three sons...we have never experienced such amazing service. We were greated with a big smile every day. They helped us a great deal and were absolutely the friendliest people we met in Rome. Whatever you need, they will help you get it. We went on an early tour one day, they actually gave us vouchers for free coffee and croissants at a nearby cafe because their kitchen had not opened yet. Just amazing! You will have a great stay at this hotel. We stayed a total of 6 days and were so glad it was at this hotel.

Room Tip: When booking a room, just email the hotel asking for your particular needs...the have amazing servic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is a family operated business that really cares for its guests. The family that ownes it really goes out of their way to make certain you are well cared for. It is located 1 1/2 blocks from the central train terminal which makes it very convient for the Metro's two lines which can take you nearly anywhere in Rome. We stayed 3 nights and the rate was very afforable. Our room was quite large and very clean with modern up to date furniture that was very comfortable. The hotel is in an area where there are many resturants and we always felt safe walking back to the hotel late at night. There were four couples in our group and we each had a unique room, unlike the cookie cutter rooms you find in hotel chains which made it a nice experience.

Room Tip: Should you arrive earlier than check in time, your luggage will be held for you and that gives you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

At the beginning of May, I stayed here again. Last stay was December 2011, then, I was moved by this hotel and could not stop writing my impression. This time either.
(Room)
It’s very clean, tidy, and easy to use. The large bed has good luster and a tiny shelf on the corner, which is very convenient for me to put my cellphone, book, and watch without stretching my arm. The bed also has a large mirror on one side. I could check my appearance sometimes while reading books on the bed, it is very glad for the woman. On the opposite side of the wall, there is a life-size mirror, too. The air conditioner works very well, and the shower has enough hot water. Good amenity, clean towels, so I like this room.
(Location )
As the trains were delayed, I was stranded at Termini Station. But, as this hotel is near the station (a few minutes’ straight walk across Via Marsala), I could return to the hotel to take a rest. After that, I could recover my strength and go to Orvieto. Terravision airport buses stop on Via Marsala (€4!). I could get on the Leonard express train within five minutes.
(Staff)
Three brothers, their father, the man and the lady in uniform are very kind and trustworthy. They are very excellent!!
(Security)
The owners watch the monitor installed at the entrance and do round the clock service. There is a safety box in the room with an explanation in 6 languages. Great security!!
(Breakfast)
Coffee which made after order is as delicious as can be. I won’t be able to forget! Bread, yogurt and juice are tasty, those made me fully satisfied.

このホテルは駅から近く、部屋は清潔でベッドは広くスタッフも上品で親切、他のホテルにはない良さがあります。星の数は関係ない。朝のコーヒーは作り置きでなく挽きたてアツアツ、パンやジュースもおいしい。何度も泊まりたくなるおすすめのホテルです。

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cherrypanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Piemonte Hotel
Piemonte Hotel
#435 of 1,271 in Rome
819 reviews
Esquilino
Windrose Hotel
Windrose Hotel
#322 of 1,271 in Rome
640 reviews
Esquilino
Marco Polo
Marco Polo
#373 of 1,271 in Rome
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Lilium Hotel
Lilium Hotel
#288 of 1,271 in Rome
389 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Albergo Piave
Albergo Piave
#502 of 1,271 in Rome
245 reviews
Esquilino
Auditorium di Mecenate
Auditorium di Mecenate
#415 of 1,271 in Rome
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Praetoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Praetoria

Address: Via Milazzo 42, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Hotel Domus Praetoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#225 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#256 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Praetoria 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of Rome, few minutes walk from the Termini station and well located for visiting the main sights. All rooms with private bathroom, free Wi-fi and all modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza Praetoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Praetoria Rome
Domus Praetoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing