We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip, wrong Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma
Ranked #533 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a beautiful and clean hotel, with the worst designed suite we have every stayed in. There is no privacy at all. Immagine taking a shower or using the toilet in the middle of the room with no doors or sound barriers.Your clothes are stored openly as you enter the room. The location is pretty bad. The restaurant is beautiful, but very expensive. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the building are very quiet. The ones on the back side have train noises 24/7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Gloria,
we always thank our guest for writing and share their experience with us, to help us to improve our service.
As you say we are a design hotel, probably the most famous in Italy – surely the biggest – and in our communication channels – as the web site and the brochure, we inform the guests that the stay in our hotel is different from any other hotel in Rome. The concept of the rooms is an open space, with the bath zone (bath/shower and wash basin) beside the bed, separated by a frosted glass. It is not correct to say that the toilet is in the middle of the room: it is separated by the rest of the room and it is enclosed by walls. You have all the privacy you need. About the closet, you are right: our guest can enjoy a design closet, it’s a stands with ten hangers. It is a different way to stay in hotel, I know, but luckily most of the people appreciate it.
Location is pretty convenient for any transportation. Location is in the centre of Rome. You cannot see the Coliseum by your room but you can reach it by 15 minutes walking. Or you can take the subway line A - 200 mt from the hotel - which takes you to Spanish steps, or to St. Peter basilica. We offer a design hotel in the centre of Rome, with a five stars service at very convenient rates.
Our restaurant is on the rooftop, city view, and the price are in line with all the roman up level restaurants.
We are sorry that you didn’t appreciate it and we would like to change your mind, welcoming you again.
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,173 - 1,179 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was initially reluctant to stay here going by the review but still booked as I am a Club Carlson member. I was satisfied with the stay.

Rooms: Had a room with a balcony on the 6th floor, Clean rooms but not top notch finishing as you would expect from a 5 star property. Some reviews say the hotel interiors need a revamp and I would agree with it. But having said that, rooms are of a fair size and decent cleanliness.

Breakfast: nice spread on the pool floor - good variety of cakes and other stuff. Staff was friendly.

Will stay again and I think the hotel can invest a bit on the interiors of rooms to get better review. Location is fine if you have stayed in big cities. Use the last exit of the Termini station (near to Spar) and you avoid all the rough elements which have been talked about. I used that to enter and exit the station and it was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeet_junior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a fancy design hotel in a neighbourhood where a woman doesn’t like to walk alone in the evening. It is opposite the railway station but make yourself familiar where to leave the station coming from the airport because that will save you at least a 10 minute walk.
I had a room facing an inner court which is fancy lighted with different colours in the evening. I like the modern design but it is a bit overdone. For example, the walls are painted dark grey, which makes the look very dark. It doesn’t matter if you have enough light but there we have a problem. The room has only one light at the wall, nicely designed, but not enough light to read. There are no bedside lamps, so you need to switch on the light of the bathroom to be able to read. The only other desk top light didn’t work at first but was restored after I called the reception desk.
There is a very nice roof top pool. The restaurant next to the pool serves good food but is quite noisy as it connected to the bar where the music is very loud. The other day we wanted to have dinner again but there was a party going on and the noise was unbearable. It was impossible to talk with each other. So we asked to have a table outside at the terrace, which was not allowed although people were sitting there having a pre-dinner drink. Very bad service, so we left. To conclude, in a way I liked the hotel because it is different from the usual standard hotels, but there are minus points that need improvement.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mianel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I had booked this for my wife's birthday and we stayed 3 nights. The area was a little suspect, my wife found the surrounding streets a little seedy. The room was nice but bit odd, every light/equipment switch made the TV lose signal. The shower and toilet offer no privacy for the user which older couple might find uncomfortable. The staff were all very good and friendly. Breakfast although plentiful was a bit cold on things like bacon and eggs, also be sure to if your a couple to do your selection in shifts as we went to get some toast and on return they had cleared our table and someone else was sitting their. Good restaurant very nearby Vecchia Conca (La)
in the Via Carlo Alberto great family place good prices. This was a good base location wise.

Room Tip: We booked via last minute and a business room was only £25 more for the 3 days well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Radisson Blu in October for my birthday.

Upon first impressions, the hotel is based opposite the station is an easy access location.
The outside of the building isn't too impressive, but it makes up for it when you get inside.

We were on the 2nd floor in room 49. Our room was lovely and unique, a sort of studio with a glass partition to separate the bedroom and bathroom. Very modern and quirky, we really liked it.

The room was very clean and well maintained. The only complaint about the room would be that the hot water for the bath came out of the cold tap, and vice versa and the toilet was also a bit loose from the wall, but that's if for bedroom faults.

The upstairs restaurant is lovely. The views over Rome are so relaxing, allowing you to have a birds eye view of everyone while eating your breakfast. The breakfast buffet is great, with a free prosecco bar - it was my birthday, so having prosecco on tap for breakfast was fantastic!

The service was questionable. We had dinner in the restaurant during one evening. To be honest, the service was completely let down by one individual only. At first we didn't get our drinks until we had to reminded the waiter, then it took ages to order. Upon being served our food, one of our side dishes had been forgotten. This was then brought to us when we had one mouthful left of our meal - we then noticed that it wasn't the green beans we had ordered but the roasted veg instead!

For such a high end restaurant, we were really disappointed that we'd had three mishaps during one dining. And it was my birthday! However, we didn't let that spoil our night and as a gesture of apology, we were given a free round of drinks.

Service apart from that was good.

Wifi throughout the hotel which was also very good - I assume that this hotel is used mostly by businessmen and people attending conferences.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestHolidayGoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear guest,
Firstly I really thank you for taking the time of this review. Thank you also for choosing our hotel to celebrate an important day as your birthday!
We are glad that you liked our design rooms and the super breakfast – a must of our brand chain!
I will share your comments with my F&B staff – we really apologize for the dinner, it’s not our habit to forget our guests orders.
Thank you for reviewing our services as the free wifi, properly working
We hope to see you again, maybe for your next birthday – feel free to contact us directly.
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As others have said the location is marginal. The proximity to Termini is really nice. There are a couple of streets that we would not have walked down at night, but overall we felt safe. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance. It was very easy to get to everything we wanted to see in Rome, either via trains or walking. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The negatives all involve the room itself. Our room was the only room on our floor that was occupied. All of the other rooms appeared to be in the process of being renovated. Ours had obviously just been completed because the paint smell was still very evident. We asked for another room but were told that none were available. After the 2nd day, the smell was tolerable. The contemporary style of the room is not my favorite but it did not bother me except for the fact that it is pretty non-functional. There is very little storage space, i.e. only open shelves, no vanity countertop to speak of. The room had a desk lamp that I moved to the bedside and one other light mounted on the wall, therefore it was extremely dark in the room at night which if fine if you are not trying to work. The bed was extremely hard with very soft pillows, so if you like that combination, this is the hotel for you. I probably would have rated it higher except for the renovation that was on going.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Tomt48,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel completely satisfied but thank you to give us a chance to reply.
Thank you for highlighting the beauty of this area – with its strength and its weaknesses – as good restaurants and the easy of walking around the city from this location.
As you correctly noted, we renovated many rooms for the pleasure of our guests with new paint and new fabrics. We are a design hotel and our style is very particular, we know that sometimes it is not appreciated – for people used to stay in more classical hotels. Otherwise we hope that you appreciate our 5* services
We kindly ask you to come again, when all the rooms will be renovated, to rate higher our hotel!
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

There are positives and negatives to this hotel. Positives.. Close to Termini train station, friendly staff, nice restaurant and good location for access to walk around Rome however there are many negatives including; the rooms are so badly designed, open planned and small with shower in the main room behind a partition and no real room to unpack if you are there for more than 2 days. The pillows are AWFUL.. The area is a little suspect with a lot of people hanging around drinking (not comfortable at night). The pool was closed in October with no mention of this on the hotel website and the breakfast wasn't the best... Think twice about this hotel

Room Tip: Hmmmm are there any??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gianluca_Capone, Direttore at Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Derek,
thank you for your review and for your suggestions.
We are sorry if you didn’t find the hotel you were looking for: we are a design hotel, on our website there are a lot of pictures of our rooms – open spaces with the shower in the middle and it is written that sun beds are available only during the summer season. Now we are in autumn and it’s a little cold: no one of our guests would take a bath into the swimming pool during this season as you know. But I surely will check if all the information are on the website. About the area, yes we know that it is multiethnic and you can see drunk people as in Spanish Steps: we are in a big city with over 6 millions of citizens.
I am surprised of your comments about our breakfast: fresh and yummy food with no limits, every kind of drink, pastries an so on. What was wrong?
Best regards

Gianluca Capone
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Grand Hotel Ritz
Grand Hotel Ritz
#578 of 1,271 in Rome
352 reviews
Esquilino
La Griffe Roma - MGallery By Sofitel
Esquilino
NH Collection Roma Palazzo Cinquecento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Boscolo Exedra Roma, Autograph Collection
Trevi
Trevi Palace Luxury Apartments
Monti
Mercure Rome Colosseum Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma

Address: Via Filippo Turati 171 | Esquilino/Termini, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Rome
#222 Business Hotel in Rome
#263 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $109 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu es. Hotel, Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel Rome
Radisson Rome
Radisson Sas Rome
Rome Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing