We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B”
Review of 66 Imperial Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
66 Imperial Inn
Ranked #173 of 3,619 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Campo Real, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The first thing you are going to encounter upon your arrival is the scariest elevator you will probably ever have to ride in. I'm not sure what century it is from but it scared the dickins out of all of us and my husband walked up and down 4 floors refusing to get in it. The elevator is small, made of glass, so those afraid of heights (or elevators) might have to close their eyes.

Besides the elevator, the B&B is a renovated apartment turned into a guesthouse. Centrally located across from the Opera House and easy to walk to most destinations or a short taxi away from the Vatican, for example.

It is beautifully decorated (light, airy, colorful) and designed. The beds are incredibly comfortable and we all slept like babies and didn't hear a sound outside. Both the room and the bathroom were incredibly clean.

The only con is the wifi, the signal didn't reach our rooms, as the router is in the central area/office and we stayed in the two rooms further back. This could be easily solved with a signal booster/amplifier and a cheap solution. Having to go into the main area to check your mail was kind of a pain, but not a dealbreaker and the only reason for giving a lower score. If they fixed the wifi, I would have rated it a full 5 stars.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the two rooms at the back of the guesthouse as you won't be able to get a reliable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sinacism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    50
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
41
84
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
moss
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I adore this hotel :-) !

The rooms are gorgeous. The hotel feels like home. Only 'home' in the life time when you were a princess. So beautiful and so comfortable. And so original.

The owner of this hotel has a hotel in Venice as well. We had intended on visiting Venice this summer but the hotel there was fully booked and so we postponed our trip! Thats how much we loved this and want this as part of our experience.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. This was my first visit to Rome and the staff pulled out a map and gave me a Virtual tour then and there so that when I 3 hours later walked my family around Rome I felt like an experienced tour guide and this removed stress and added so much to Our trip !

We are grateful !
Cathrine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathrine_in_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was a delight to experience the charming rooms, just as promised on their website. Since the inn is located in an old mixed use apartment buiding( but still quiet), you feel like you are a local going home to your beautiful apartment everyday. Definitely adds to the Bella Roma experience! Thank you Isabelita and Christina for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The right price.
The right location.
The right level of service.
The right size.
The right choice.

I read some past reviews about the size of this place and for us, getting 2 rooms for 4 people, was just perfect.

Also, the hospitality and friendly nature of the staff was perfect.

If you are looking for a centrally located hotel, great price, and close to the rail line, this is where you should stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottShippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Super friendly folks - Isabella and Kristina are very attentive and helpful.
Breakfast is simple, with a series of pastries. If you love coffee, there is a Nespresso machine there at your availability :)
The room was comfortable, and Isabella keeps it pretty well clean.
For us, the 2 best things about this hotel: 1) the location - super close to everything, and 2) the staff - they are just awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jovino r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

when i first saw the room, i was delighted mainly it was in my favorite colours: purple and orange and because it was very clean.excellent decoration in public areas. very functional public spaces. Isabella is very polite and willing to serve. Kristina very polite too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellypAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A big caveat (I think) - we were in a room on the second floor instead of with all the other rooms on the fourth floor. It seems to me that this room missed out on some of the positive features that other travelers experienced.

Pros:

- Great location - 500 meters from Termini, 5 minutes from the metro and bus stops, 15 minutes to the Colosseum and Spanish Steps. Some may find the location close to Termini to be a turn-off, but it worked great for us.
- They had a triple room - something next to impossible to find in Rome.
- Fair price
- Very clean
- A ridiculously cool old-fashioned elevator (that my wife was scared to death of)
- Friendly and accommodating staff

Cons:

- No internet on our floor - had to go up to the breakfast area on the second floor to connect. This is a but sub-standard now.
- Warm room - I think there may have been AC that they turn on in the summer, but it was a little toasty without it.
- Street noise (because the windows needed to be open all night since it was warm) - street cleaning seemed to go from about midnight until 3, and then setup for a street market started. Beeping, banging, clanging - nonstop. The pillow over my head was my best friend.
- Breakfast was a little weak. I've stayed at a lot of inns/B&Bs, and I've normally had a little fresher selection of pastries, fruit, jams, meat and cheese.
- No towel service after three days. I'm happy reusing once, but I feel like after two nights it's time for a change. Just saying...

I give the place a 3.5, but since Tripadvisor doesn't allow for half starts I have to round down. It wasn't bad at all, but I'd probably try elsewhere upon returning to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC_ADK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavilleggiatura, Direttore at 66 Imperial Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Family,
We are happy to accept also not very nice reviews: everything is useful to grow up ! But let’s reply to some of your remarks. As for the elevator, it’s surer than the major part of the modern ones. It’s larger twice than a ‘modern one’ with windows and not walls and regularly checked every 6 months. It evokes curiosity, a lot of guests of ours took pictures of it but nobody was scared of it. By the way, good luck for you to be on the second floor, so your wife had less steps to climb.
Internet is free of charge and it perfectly works at the reception: sometimes there can be any interferences, but normally it works. In our experience, in many 3 or 4- star hotels WiFi service works at the reception and by payment so…
The temperature during your stay was more or less 25 degrees during the day and more or less 12/15 in the night. Anyway, if it was too warm for you why didn’t you ask the remote for the air-conditioning ? Each room of ours has a private air-conditioning system, so you could sleep without any noise since there are security windows.
The change of the towels is every 3 days and sorry if our maid forgot it, even if she is sure to have changed them.
Thank you again for your comments: we really hope, despite them, you have a good memory of Rome and of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sonya
Hotel Sonya
#238 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#98 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#215 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Al Viminale Hill Inn & Hotel
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Esquilino
Opera Dreams
Opera Dreams
#120 of 3,619 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 66 Imperial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 66 Imperial Inn

Property: 66 Imperial Inn
Address: Via del Viminale 66 | Vicino Al Ministero Degli Interni/Teatro dell'Opera, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 3,619 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 66 Imperial Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our maison de charme is located in the "heart" of Rome, in front of the Teatro dell'Opera and nearby of the Termini train Station, Palazzo del Quirinale, Colosseo, Fori Imperiali. In 10 / 15 min. You can reach Fontana di Trevi, Piazza di Spagna, Trinita dei Monti, Via Veneto and the famous streets of the shopping. We are close also to the Metro (Line A, stop 'Repubblica') and in 4/5 metro stops from the Vatican City (on foot, about 30 minutes).All our rooms, refurbished in April 2010, are quite, bright, dyed and no smoking, have fully equipped en-suite bathrooms with shower, conditioned air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your 66 Imperial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
66 Imperial Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing