We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Regina Margherita
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Universal(Rome)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
14
58
62
25
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
58
62
25
35
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 194 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2011

I understand that for the price, you get what you paid for, but in our experience, this was even less. I got the same room as Odd64, on the 1st floor right beside the noisy street, but this time, the A/C was not working. Apparently there was repair work being done on the floor, there were even workers crowding the already small alleyway outside our door. Heat and noise were unbearable. We complained and asked for another room, but they said there were none available. My wife and I decided to pack our bags and look for a better accommodation. When they found out we were leaving, suddenly two rooms are available on the 2nd and 4th floor. It's a Miracle! Clearly they were trying to stick us to the crappy room. We left anyway. Worse is they still charged us for one night when we were not there for more than 2 hours, most of it spent complaining/negotiating about the room. Was the worst way to start our first visit of Rome.

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ograva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Location: 3 min walk from Metrostation Policlinico. Very easy to reach the city centre (Colusseum metrostation).
Room: Close to heavy traffic, but with A/C and closed windows that was not a problem. Small room and even smaller bathroom, but hey, you're in Rome.
Parking: Safe parking in backyard. Extremely important to book ahead, as there is room for max. three cars. We were very lucky to be allowed parking in the very back of the courtyard, on the condition that we didn't move the car until we left.
Breakfast: Continental, but with ham and cheese it's good enough. The staff could have done more in terms of refills and cleaning tables.
Overall: I'm satisfied, mostly because of the combination of location and parking.

Room Tip: Parking MUST be booked ahead.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odd64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Clean room, fresh towels etc. every day. Breakfast was ok. Near to subway. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amsterdamno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

First of all it's not really 3-stars hotel. In my opinion it should be 1-star. Size of double room was about 7-8 square meters (on website it's shown probably triple room as a double), dirty walls, bedspread, bathroom with moulds on the ceiling. Overall impression is uncleanliness. We asked to change room for another (bigger and more clean) and one guy from reception told us that he'l see next day if it's possible, but next day second guy told that all of rooms are in such conditions so we had to stay all 4 nights there. Moreover room is very dark, not secured from the sound outside hotel and also from another rooms (we heard really good what about discussed people from the room next to our one and all sounds from the canteen). Breakfasts are very poor, only sweet with terrible instant coffee from the coffee machine. When you spend in that hotel more than 2 days the breakfast are very humdrum. Rooms are cleaned each day but only sheets, towels etc. The same woman cleans rooms and in the meantime services breakfasts. In our reservation from venere.com is written that availability to internet point is free of charge but in recetion we were told that we must pay for that even we shown our reservation. Generally I do not recommend this hotel, for such money you can find much better hotel maybe a little more far from the center but in better condition. Even you stay in this hotel it's not so close to main attractions so you need also to use underground and so on. What is good from this hotel: hot shower and butter in breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We booked this hotel with one thing in mind. Sleep and nothing more. We had no intention on spending any time at our hotel so we wanted something cheap, near the attractions and the metro. Upon arrival, we thought the hotel looked kind of small and a little worn out. Tiny reception/lounge area which included a bar of some sorts where you could order a drink. My friend, having paid more attention to the hotels description, informed me that it was actually an old villa which was turned into a hotel. The interior wasn’t cheap looking but it was a little tired. The lounge offered a big LCD TV screen which was great if you spoke Italian.
Our room was small with high ceilings. Well kept wooden floors and the walls with waist hight wooden paneling. The rest was painted in a nice off white. Even though the room was on the ground floor we didn’t have any problems with noise and had a restful sleep. The 2 twin beds were so comfortable that we didn’t want to get up in the morning. The room had a nice wooden wardrobe, small flat screen TV mounted on the wall and a large comfortable vanity desk and mirror but the lighting was inadequate for applying make-up. There was a large window with an electric switch which raised and lowered the blinds. The air conditioning was off when we arrived in our room and the manager told us it would take some time to start producing any cold air. We left at that point, leaving it on and returned after a very long and tiresome day to find a lovely cool room. Spacious bathroom with a nice large sink and counter, decorated with off white carved tiles. Stand up shower that had a terrific shower head, plenty of hot water. Bidet and elevated toilet that was knee friendly. Housecleaning changed our towels daily and replenished the hotel toiletries..
Their breakfast was pleasant enough. Various assortment of fresh croissants, plain or filled with cream or chocolate, fresh bread rolls, corn flakes and Choco Pops, individual packets of butter,marmalade or chocolate spread, various flavored yogurts, fresh milk and a coffee machine offering various types of coffee and juices.
There were various receptionists, all very friendly, some speaking quite good Enlgish. They had tour assistance but we chose to create our own tours. We did however decide to use an airport shuttle service the hotel worked with for 22.50 Euros per person and was delighted when we saw our ride was a black limo. Well worth the expense as the airport is quite a distance and we would have had to take the Metro and then train to get there.
The location is excellent with the bus station directly outside the hotel and the Metro one block away. The hotels exact location gives you the sense that there are no shops nearby as the district is filled with villas, each painted in a different color, complimenting each other as a whole. Don’t be fooled however, there is a lively shopping district and bus terminal a couple of blocks away. We never felt the need to look over our shoulder at any time while travelling in Rome even when returning late at night.
I happily recommend this hotel to anyone who wants something small, quaint, clean and comfortable. Their prices are excellent for the hotel’s location and it’s in the middle of all the attractions.

Thank you Regina Margherita for a lovely stay. We will most definitely stay at your hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLUERED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews