We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average hotel”
Review of Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #586 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

It is a 4 star hotel so I'm expecting a bit more. The staff are friendly but the room is bit small so it's hard if you have big luggage. Breakfast is good enough but always the same variety throughout our 3-night stay. Located within a university area makes it noisy during lunch time as there is a restaurant beside it where most students dine. The metro station is 15 minutes walk and there is a bus stn 3 mins away. At night though it's dark outside so I wont suggest strolling alone. Next time I prefer to stay somewhere near the rome city center to have more açcessibility.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Harlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear guest
Thank you for your valuable review.
Ours is a hotel that has all the features and functionality that requires a four star. I wanted to point out in this regard that the Saint Paul has a variety of rooms from standard economic small (the room you booked) to the normal standard, up to the most expensive double room with balcony. So it is understandable that your room was very small but in fact it was just the type you choose.
I hereby confirm that our reception is always ready and willing to do an upgrade of the rooms chosen, availability permitting, if that does not turn out to be actually booked liking.
In this regard, I thank you heartily for having highlighted the kindness of our staff.
Being in a university neighborhood during the day the attendance of the students in the vicinity is conspicuous, but after 5 pm the area is completely empty. The night is very quiet being a hotel that is located outside the city center. This aspect must not be misleading, peace is not synonymous of danger.
To complete, I confirm that the nearest subway station is "Basilica of St. Paul," a 10-minute walk, with three stops and you are in the heart of the Imperial forums of the "Circus Maximus" and "Coliseum".
Contact us through our official website for a new reservation, we will suggest the best possible solution with respect to your requirements.


Best regards
Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 777 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break in June . Fantastically clean hotel and lovely polite and helpful staff and nice selection buffet for breakfast ( fruit, bacon , varies eggs , cereal , cakes , juice , cold meats etc )
It is very near Basillica San Paulo metro station approx 10 to 15 minute walk .there are only 2 lines on the metro ( a and b and this is on line b ) . About 15 minutes takes you to everything you could possibly wish to see . Tube does close at 11.30 so any later than this and you will need to get a cab or night bus . Would recommend for anybody interested in a reasonably priced hotel in a good location

3  Thank Kilris
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. Our Hotel is a small Hotel situated in the south business area or Rome Between the centre and the suburbs as you can see on the map of our official web site. Our staff is highly trained and they focus on the customer and deliver a high quality service. The breakfast gives few choices of almost everything pointing more on the quality of the product rather then the quantity.
Please take the chance to stay again in our Hotel Saint Paul.

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The hotel was quite and clean but the breakfast was boring , no place to eat after breakfast , no tea it coffee making facilities in room and the safety box didn't work despite our reporting it to staff . In general I was not impressed .

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swayne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for reviewing the Hotel Saint Paul Rome. Our is a highly professional staff and are used to deliver a high standard service on daily basis. As you can see on our official site map, the Hotel Saint Paul Rome is situated in the southern residential part of Rome where you can experience the real local life away from the tourist truck. Our breakfast offers a selection of high quality products that change according to the season and even if is the only meal service we offer around the hotel there are plenty of restaurants and bars where you can eat in any moment of the day. We also provide small kettles for in room tea just by asking the reception with no extra charge. Regarding the safe the maintenance was sent to unblock it and everything was set in just a couple of minutes from your request. The safe is still working and other people used the same room without reporting any inconvenience up to now.

I just want to thank you once more for finding your time to review the Hotel Saint Paul Rome

Best regards

Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Saint Paul Rome
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights in May. After having a bit of a nightmare with our transport due to them not knowing where the hotel was. When we turned up 2 hours late we had a welcomed reception. We had a lovely room on the fourth floor with a balcony, the best thing about this view was watching the sun set during the evening. There was always a great selection of breakfast in the mornings with fresh croissants filled with different things. After seeing some other reviews about the long walk to the metro it turns out it was only about 10 mins, (make sure you take care crossing the roads as the green light for crossing can also mean green light for cars). We either made sure we ate before returning to the hotel or we took some paninis back to the room. Although we did see a mc Donald's on our last day by the metro. The only downside to staying here was the loud music coming from the restaurant next door which went on till the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beckie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are pleased to have been pleasantly surprised by the stay at 'Hotel Saint Paul Rome and especially for commenting on the pleasant breakfast and the hospitality of the reception.

I also understand the annoying noise of the restaurant next door and I think it will be resolved in a short time.

We hope to see you here soon. Do not hesitate to contact us for any information you need or to get the best rates.

Sincerely
Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Saint Paul Hotel for 3 nights. We arrived before check in time, however we only had to wait 10 minutes before our room was available. We were given a spacious family room. The room had a modern decor, flat screen tv, and tiled bathroom. The walk to the nearest metro station (Basilica San Paolo, on line B) is about 10 minutes. The hotel is opposite a University building so it is quite quiet at night. There is a lovely restaurant, Trattoria Dell'Omo, only a 2 minute walk away on Viale Guglielmo Marconi. It was good to return to the hotel at night to be away from the super busy city centre. If we come back to Rome we would look to book this hotel again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

thnak you very much for your warm review. it was a pleasure to read and we will more then delightful to have you once again here with us.

Just contact us for any further future request you might need and we will give you the best deal.

best regards
Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel, for two nights 17th/18th May 2014. The hotel itself is clean and comfortable. We were in Room 201 which is small. If you get up during the night be careful not to trip over the furniture. The room could be a bit bigger. There is a restaurant next door to the hotel which appears never to be open to the general public but they seem to have a private function of some sort every day. The biggest complaint is that this restaurant play music at full tilt until the early hours.
The location of the hotel is questionable, the area looks run down but we never had a hint of trouble. The metro is about 10 mins walk and the collesuem is only 4 stops. The Vatican is 11 stops with a change at Termini. There are very few bars or restaurants within walking distance.
The hotel bar is very expensive, 5 euros for a small beer, the mini bar is cheaper, 4 euros for the same! The same beer but a litre bottle costs 2 euros locally.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the side where the restaurant is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review which is always appreciate. Thnak you also for underlining the cleaniness of the Hotel.

We also understand how noise late at night can be very disstressing and we are trying hard to cover this problem.

The location is out of the main tturist truck and this make the peculiarity of this hotel for those how want to use the location for a start to visit Rome but do not want to be right in the turistic centre.

Nevertheless thanks again for your review and we will make our best to improve your staing.

best regards
Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights, with my wife. Hotel is tidy, our room was cleaned every day (sheets were changed every day). Has a solid location and is a good starting point for Rome exploration. Metro is ~800m from hotel(10min ride to Colloseum), bus 170 takes you to Pz Venecia. Bus stop is 30m away from hotel. Bus 23 takes you near Vatikan (stops 100m from hotel). Breakfast was excellent and various.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ivan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSaintPaulRome, Direttore generale at Saint Paul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. It ws a plesure to have you here with us and looking forward to meet you here again in the very next future. if you a re planning to stay in Rome please give us a call to get the best deal.

best regards
Luca Di Stefano
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Hotel San Paolo
Hotel San Paolo
#198 of 1,271 in Rome
220 reviews
Hotel Turner
#825 of 1,271 in Rome
964 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#423 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#101 of 1,271 in Rome
1,316 reviews
Hotel Area Roma
#486 of 1,271 in Rome
174 reviews
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#552 of 1,271 in Rome
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul Hotel

Address: Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $672 - $839 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Paul
Saint Paul Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing