We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #509 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for 5 nights in September. Short break, visiting Rome. The location is not great. About 20 -25 min walk to the metro station. And we are young and fit so dont know why some people say its 10 mins walk?
Even thou its far from metro station, its easy to get a train to main tourist attractions as trains run frequently.
The location is not at all rough, we walked back every night and had no trouble and havent seen any prostitutes mentioned in other comments.
The room it self was very clean and reasonable size for two of us. There was a room service every day and they really do a great job. Bed was comfortable.
Breakfast- nothing special, but a variety of choice for everyone.
Service was great, staff very helpful, polite and knowledgeable.
Overall, good stay, good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dee1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    294
    210
    62
    44
See reviews for
113
374
30
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Saint Paul Hotel is located away from the main tourist areas, however it is an easy 10 minute walk to the nearest Metro station, Basilica S. Paolo. The trains run very regularly - we never had to wait more than about 5 minutes and the journey time to Circo Massimo or Colosseo is less than 10 minutes. To Spagna (change at Termini) it's about 15/20 minutes. There are shops, a choice of restaurants (including a McDonalds if that appeals to you!), pizza places and a gelataria within a 5-15 minute walk of the hotel. A number of reviews of this hotel state that it is not situated in a very pleasant area. We would dispute this - while it is certainly not located in 'old' Rome or the main tourist areas, we found the location less unpleasant and considerably less threatening than many areas of suburban London, even walking back from the Metro station at night. Yes, there is graffiti and the streets are not as clean as they could be, but the people were fine and at no time did we feel it was a 'bad' area.

To the hotel itself, the staff were welcoming, friendly and extremely helpful with information on how to get around, places to see and a bit of 'insider' information added in. They were particularly helpful when we wanted to pre-book entrance to the Vatican Museums.

Some reviews of the hotel have stated that the rooms are small - we were placed in a room on the 5th (top) floor of the hotel and our room, bathroom and shower cubicle were all of decent size and spotlessly clean. Our balcony opened onto a reasonably quiet street traffic-wise, although one cannot expect total silence in a vibrant city such as Rome. The beds were hard but comfortable, room temperature good.

Satellite tv is available in the room but only a couple of news channels are in English.

The breakfast buffet runs from 7am until 10am everyday and while limited and somewhat repetitive in what was on offer it was perfectly acceptable. A variety of teas, coffee, juice, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cheese and cold meats, scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon available daily. You wouldn't starve!

The hotel only offers breakfast and does not have a restaurant providing lunch or dinner, however, as stated above there is a choice of eateries within a relatively short walk, and we would suggest that most people will eat lunch and/or dinner in and around the main tourist areas of Rome and hardly need to think of food on their return to the hotel.

Knowing that we would spend most of our time out of the hotel exploring Rome, we did not want to spend a great deal of money on our accommodation and we therefore felt that the Saint Paul Hotel offered excellent value for money for our 5 night stay in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExmoorPony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
524 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff is friendly, and knows the area. Very close to Sao Paolo metro which gets you around Rome fast. Breakfast is ok- nothing really fancy, but was included in price. Close walk to University TRE if you have business there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samtrip12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilydale, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently stayed for two nights, clean and neat. Staff friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was ok. We caught the local bus170 into the heart of Rome. Only downfall was the bed was like sleeping on the floor, very hard, but that is only my opionion.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were in Rome for a short holiday,we've been there before and probably will go back as it's a beautiful city. We chose this hotel out of 4 and it was a good choice .Room was okay,small but every hotel in Italy seems alike,staff was helpful and there are two posibilities to get downtown , metro station ( the same can be used to go to Lido ,which is a nice area )being at 10 minutes walk or the bus station right across the hotel.Wi-fi worked and breakfast was good.It was in June so the weather didn't cause us any troubles so we could have a nice walk to the metro,however if the metro closes a taxi to the Venezia square is around 12E. Also there's a family owned restaurant across the hotel which was great for late snacks. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I enjoy sightseeing as much as the next person, however I do not wish to sight see for my food; this hotel is situated down a back street and away from the tourist areas In order to find anything to eat you will have to jump on a train and go three stops to Colleseo station, even then some places close at 11:30 and you have to take into account the transport system which also shuts at 11:30.

The streets seem to be an artists canvas as there is graffiti everywhere! On a short walk to the newsagents at around 10pm to buy some water, only 100 metres from the hotel I witnessed a total of 15 prostitutes scattered about and standing in the shadows flashing their backsides to the drivers whizzing past. The walk to the metro station is about 10 minutes. Poverty is somewhat of a problem in the area, many people sleep rough and it is clear that Italy has been impacted by the recession as many businesses are indefinitely shut.

The website is very deceiving, the rooms are tiny yet clean and hotel staff friendly. The free wifi is a lifesaver as it is difficult to find your way around without prior planning.

There is also nothing to do at night, the streets are not safe to walk and the hotel does not provide any entertainment apart from the tv in your room.

The website is very deceiving, the rooms look bigger than what they are yet they are clean and the hotel staff friendly. The free wifi is a lifesaver as it is difficult to find your way around without prior planning.

There is also nothing to do at night, the streets are not safe to walk and the hotel does not provide any entertainment apart from the tv in your room. The heavy rain is very frequent due to the climate so unfortunately some nights you will be stuck in your hotel.

God knows how this hotel was rated four star with its small rooms, tiny shower cubicle, dangerous location and insufficient breakfast buffet. Overall a clean friendly hotel in an awfully dangerous location. This hotel should not be listed by major travel agents as it poses an issue towards ones safety due to its inconvenient location. Those seeking the sights of Rome bring an Umbrella, stay in tourist locations and for no longer than four nights.

Room Tip: Stay in Termini or Ottraviano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Clare413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights to attend a conference at the university opposite to the hotel. Their front desk staff were extremely helpful. On my first day, I had problems using their WIFI and the staff was very patient to help me solved the problem. On my last day, there was a strike in Rome affecting the public transportation, which bothered me because I had to catch a train at the Rome Termini in the afternoon. Someone at the university told me that there would be no metro service during the strike and told me to take a taxi. However, when I double checked with the hotel's staff. they assured me that there would still be limited metro services during the strike, just that trains would not be as frequent as usual. They were proved to be right and saved me a good sum of money :)

The hotel itself is a bit out of town (4 metro stations away from the Colosseum) and is about 10 minutes walk from the nearest metro station. Since it is close to a university, there are some cheap eateries nearby. I booked a double room for single occupancy, but still found the room to be a little bit small. However, the room was tidy and quiet. It was a pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Artis
#397 of 1,256 in Rome
635 reviews
Ostiense
Oly Hotel
Oly Hotel
#414 of 1,256 in Rome
619 reviews
Hotel Pineta Palace
#466 of 1,256 in Rome
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Raganelli Hotel
#407 of 1,256 in Rome
604 reviews
MF Hotel
#548 of 1,256 in Rome
257 reviews
Romoli Hotel
#373 of 1,256 in Rome
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul Hotel

Property: Saint Paul Hotel
Address: Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#258 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Paul
Saint Paul Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing