We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and great value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Paul Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Saint Paul Hotel
Ranked #510 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Den Haag
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here in September 2011 for 5 nights. It is a great value for money hotel we have stayed in Europe till date. The rooms have a big double bed and an AC that works (much needed in Rome). The bathrooms are fairly big and super clean. The bed linen was changed alternate days. The hotel staff were friendly at arrival and helped us figure out our way first couple of days.

The breakfast is really good, and us being vegetarians, we were surprised to see the good spread as well.

Closest metro is about a kilometer, which I would say is the only negative I would say.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keysersoze007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    281
    196
    60
    40
See reviews for
109
347
29
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We booked this hotel based on reviews we had seen on Trip Advisor, and we weren't disappointed. For three nights bed and breakfast it was very reasonably priced (including flights we paid £224 each for the holiday).

It is based in the south of Rome, and you will need to get the metro to the centre of Rome, however the Metro is only about a ten minute walk (if that) and trains are very frequent. The Colosseum is only four stops away, and we found that from here you could walk to the majority of sites from here. However I would recommend buying a Roma pass for €25 which gives you 3 days free transport on all of the transport in Rome, as well as free entry to two museums or archaeological sites, and discounted entry after that. As we used ours for entry to the Colosseum and Roman Forum (which are €12 each) and used the metro about four times a day, we saved a lot of money with the Roma pass!

As for the rooms in the hotel, they were very small, but there was everything you needed, including a large double bed (which is probably why the room seemed so small!) it was a clean, well decorated room, but to be honest all we needed was a bed, as most of the day was spent out exploring the city! The breakfast in the hotel was also very nice, and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

Overall the we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Bad relation price/quality, too expensive for the service quality and location.
Small rooms and small bathrooms.
Unpleasant employees.
Reception on the basement.
Internet is payed and awful.
Only italian channels in room, dont have satellite tv as they said.
Air conditioner dont work.
Can hear the noise from other rooms and bathrooms.
Breakfast is low quality, the employees take many time to replace products.
The area is quiet during the day, but scary at night (prostitution), lots of condoms in the street in front of the hotel.
Very diferent of the information shown in internet

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nuno R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Caserta Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Saint Paul for 5 days.We were shocked at the appearence of the rooms. The first room offered had peeling floor tiles,abroken toilet seat .We were given another choice but it wasn,t much better. The bed springs were poking up and we had to ask for a mattress pad to be able to sleep. One afternoon after a tiring day in Rome we came back and found no toilet tissue at all in the room, I had to go to the lobby and retrieve it myself.The hotel is billed as a 4 star but it,s barely a 1 star.The whole effect was a rundown second rate hotel. Evelyn from Connecticut.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

Right let me start of by telling you how hard it was to find this little gem amongst the rubbish available in Rome!!! Hotels and b&bs in the centre of Rome tend to be overpriced and generally of a terrible quality. I read an extensive range of online Roman hotel reviews and from recommendations from Italian friends, Hotel Saint Paul seemed like an excellent option.
…. And boy was I happy with my selection! The hotel itself is around 8-10 mins walk from Basilica San Paolo station. When you have been walking around the entire city all day a short walk to the hotel from the station will not be an issue despite some reviews on this site. The station is also relevantly placed on Line B which during the engineering works (till 2012) remains open till late.
The Hotel is situated in a quiet residential area close to the University, The area is not rough or dodgy, it just has the inner city charm that most residential areas do. There are a range of amenities close to the station including coffee shops, restaurants and Internet cafes.
When looking for places to stay, I also recommend looking in the areas of Piarmide, San Paolo or Maglianne all on Line B and a max of 6 stops from the centre!
The hotel is clean, tidy, and modern and feels really fresh. The hotel staffs were exceptionally professionally, helpful and friendly. The breakfast buffet has a huge selection of continental food to set you up for the day, and on a Saturday served till 11am. The rooms are clean and tidy, could be a little more spacious (but you are in the middle of a inner city tower block).
The only few down sides were the one single small window, so use this as an excuse to get out the room and explore the city! My partner and I were sharing two twin beds joined together, which during the night would shuffle apart. The TV channels only show Italian TV, again another excuse to get out and see Rome. But my biggest issue was with the no free WIFI, this should be a standard not an addition to the price, cause European data costs a lot!!!!
All in all perfect hotel for a long weekend in Rome :)

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room on the lower floors, the lifts are a bit slow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShamW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We stayed in this hotel at the beginning of September. Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly members of staff who were very helpful and when we had any questions, they were willing to help by offering maps and giving us directions to the nearest metro station. We had problems with payment issues before our trip had even started and we received an email from the hotel. This was all sorted in a very professional and friendly manner.
The hotel was clean and modern with towels and sheets being changed daily. Our room was on the small side, but as we were in the city for sightseeing this wasn’t too much of a problem. The metro was only a 10 minute walk away and it didn’t take long to get into the city, however the area didn’t feel the safest at night time with men and prostitutes hanging about on the main road, and being two female travellers we felt pressured to leave the city early so we didn’t have to walk back late at night.
Overall the hotel was good and had everything you needed, and for the price we paid it was really value for money. If I was to return to Rome, I would probably spend a bit more so I could stay in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki-Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was a real value for money hotel... (4 beds room). The 10 minutes walk form the metro station was ok in the morning but seemed far away when we came back at night. This is not an easy hotel to reach back and relax at noon and go back to Rome (we did it only once). It is a 30 minute distance with the bus which is 1 minute from the hotel (Nr. 170). One big problem are the prostitudes waiting for clients at night at the main road (Viale Marconi), so be careful when coming back... get down at the first bus stop after crossing the river... you will feel safer. We were a family of 4 and got down on the wrong stop!!... but we walked away quickly... there was no danger... only a small lack of safety, but I am sure that this was just a feeling, not real!
At the front desk everyone was very helpful... oh and ask for a room at least at level 1 or more, not level 0 where the receprion is... level 0 is -2m. from the ground and has 4 rooms!.... Room was very clean, towels change every day. The university was closed at the days of our visit, so I dont know about the noise other people noticed! Ask the staff to help you with the buses... there is a direct bus to pz. Venecia (170), also one to Vatican and Castello St.Angelo (takes ages to come) and we took one back at night from Transtevere to out metro station which was convenient!
We might fo back at this hotel... the price was really good, but also might prefer a hotel near to the center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregElsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
4.2 mi away
MF Hotel
MF Hotel
#592 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
3.4 mi away
Occidental Aurelia
Occidental Aurelia
#249 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.9 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#443 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Artis
Hotel Artis
#361 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#438 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Area Roma
Hotel Area Roma
#519 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Paul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Paul Hotel

Property: Saint Paul Hotel
Address: Via Vito Volterra 43, 00146 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ostiense
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#254 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Paul Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Saint Paul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saint Paul
Saint Paul Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing