We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rome Downtown Accomodation

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Ranked #69 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stansted, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here from 12-16 May 2013 & were really pleased with our choice. Easy to find the Via Cavour from Termini rail station, where the bus from Ciampino Airport stopped, then a 20-25 minute walk (not rushing). Not so interesting at first- although passing Santa Maria Maggiore on the way- we then glimpsed the Colosseum down a side road, & were delighted to find that The Forum was just at the end of the road, about 2 minutes walk away from Downtown. Lorenzo, the host, was most pleasant & helpful, the whole place was spotlessly clean throughout, & we were relieved to find that the clamour of the busy main road was really well shut out by the quadruple glazing in the room; 2 double glazed opening windows separated by a space of a few inches.The bed was firm & comfortable. Everywhere had been recently renovated to a good standard. It was fine for us, but a very large person would find the size of the shower cubicle difficult. Lorenzo brought breakfast to the room at a time of our choosing; fruit juice, hard boiled egg, 'toast' in a packet(rather nice), butter, jam,criossant/pastry, yoghurt, smallish cup of good coffee, warm milk. There was no kettle in the room.The room was cleaned daily & the sheets & towels changed after 2 nights. With the help of the very good street map Lorenzo gave us, we found many wonderful sights on foot, & had lovely meals nearby (ask Lorenzo).WiFi & early check-in were useful, & Downtown made an excellent good value base for our stay. By the way, at Tourist Information (go to end of road, turn left) you can get a pot of tea for E1.20 in their courtyard; and if you are over 65 & an EU resident, entrance to the Colosseum & Forum is free !(show your passport). Take comfortable shoes & have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    73
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
44
229
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Location is fantastic!! it's about a 5 minutes walk to the Colosseum. Walking to the Vatican City is also doable. We had Isabelle arranged a taxi pick-up at the airport. The driver was there waiting when we came out and drove us to the door of the B&B. Lorenzo met us in the lobby. The room was a good size and kept very clean. Breakfast was delivered promptly every morning. There was juice, yogurt, melba toast, a pastry, hard-boiled egg and coffee. As we didn't drink coffee, Lorenzo made tea for us. He was very helpful with directions to Rome attractions and told us where to take the bus. The big train station (Termini Station) is very close by. We walked and visited many of Rome's famous attractions. Free Wi-Fi in the room was\a bonus! We highly recommend this B&B!

Lucy & Sun April, 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This accommodation was definitely a real “find”. We enjoyed the hospitality and friendliness the helpfulness, the cleanliness, the location, the comfortable bed and the hearty and tasty breakfast delivered to our room each morning. This is a great place to stay at a great location at a great price!

Room Tip: This accommodation was definitely a real “find”. We enjoyed the hospitality and friendliness and he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seahag59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is a truly gem for what you pay! After searching a lot on the web for a cheap place (our budget was less than 100 euro per night), we chose to stay at Downtown Accomodation! This was our best choice ever! The rooms are very nice, the entire place was recently renovated, the bathrooms are brand new.

The location as another people already said is the best and the owner Lorenzo is the nicest person, always willing to help! He helped us with printing our boarding pass (free of charge!)

What an incredible experience!! Recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefianacoldiretti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

For starters this review is very overdue. We stayed here the week before Christmas for 3 nights. Lorenzo was very helpful, giving us a map and telling us where and where not to visit, eat etc to make the most of our time in Rome.

Room: The bed was comfy and the room was spacious and clean, the only downside being the size of the bathroom, but for the price you pay you can hardly complain! WiFi is also free which was useful when finding places to go for dinner. You are given a key which lets you into the building and your room which really makes you feel as if it's your own apartment!

Breakfast: Lorenzo delivered breakfast to us every morning at the time we'd previously agreed which was a nice touch. On the tray you got a choice of tea or coffee, melba toast, yogurt, a chocolate or custard croissant, a hard boiled egg each, jams, orange drink and fruit. It is a typical continental breakfast but was enough to fill us up each morning.

Locaion: I cannot stress enough how amazing the location of the accomodation was for exploring Rome. It's about a 10/15 minute walk from termini station down a straight road, 5 minutes tops to the colosseum and forum, and a short walk to the trevi fountain. If you don't fancy walking it's right near the metro station which will take you to the Vatican and other areas of the city. Although on a busy road the noise did not bother us and there was double glazing to block the noisy traffic out.

It's the personal touch and friendliness of Lorenzo and his family that make this place a must if you want to go to Rome on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I recently spent four nights at the Downtown Accomodation during our trip to Rome. We really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend it. The price was very reasonable and its very well located in the heart of Rome. Its only a few minutes walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum. Most other sites are walkable, and there's a subway stop nearby to go to further away areas, like the Vatican. The owner Lorenzo was very friendly and helpful during our trip. He made dinner reservations for us and arranged a taxi to drive us to the airport to catch our very early flight home. Breakfast is also included, which is a nice plus. The room and bathroom are pretty small, but that wasn't a big priority for us. We were very satisfied with our stay, and for the price and location we thought Downtown Accomodation would be hard to beat.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a busy street, so the noise might be a problem for lighter sleepers. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeFrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

My sister and I went to Rome, Italy for 3 days, 2 nights and stayed at Downtown Accomodation. I have to say, I travel a lot and have stayed at many places but this was by far the best place that I have ever stayed at!!
From the time we arrived, Lorenzo greeted us and showed us everything we needed to know. He went through the map and told us how to get around the city and even said where not to eat as the restaurants are over priced. Being two young girls, I felt very safe staying here. While the room was a bit small, it did not bother us. The bed was comfortable and I thought the room and bathroom was extremely clean. Lorenzo also offered to help us with booking anything we wanted to do including a taxi to get us to the airport on the day we checked out. Wifi is free in your room which I thought was a nice bonus!
Breakfast was very good, Lorenzo arranged a time with us to bring us breakfast before our busy day of sightseeing. When we were checking out, it was very early and Lorenzo left us a breakfast to take with us which I thought was absoutely amazing!!
The location of Downtown Accomodation is perfect, you are about 10 minute maximum walk to a Metro station and about 10 minute walk to the Colosseum! You could not ask for a better location in my opinion! I would recommend this place to anyone and stay here again when I go back to Rome!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avid_Traveler0503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#91 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#167 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Monti
Locanda Colosseo
Locanda Colosseo
#107 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Residenze Argileto
Residenze Argileto
#54 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Monti
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
#37 of 3,734 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Monti
Nerva Accomodation
Nerva Accomodation
#91 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Downtown Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Downtown Accomodation

Property: Rome Downtown Accomodation
Address: Via Cavour 275 | 1st Floor With Lift, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Downtown Accomodation is a great value, comfortable, friendly and safe accommodation next to the Coliseum and the Roman Forum. From the place you can reach the Colosseum and the Roman Forum in less than a two-minute walk. Thanks to its enviable position Downtown Accomodation provides the ideal place in the heart of the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Rome Downtown Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Downtown Accomodation Hotel Rome
Downtown Accomodation Rome
Downtown Accomodation Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing