We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Ranked #109 of 3,710 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Excellent value stay in Rome. Very generous breakfast. The owner Lorenzo was a really nice person, explaining us were to find cheap places to eat, what sights to see and the best plans for our trip. We felt very welcomed and of course had an excellent stay. We will return, no doubt. Thank you Lorenzo!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Frankalesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Rome Downtown Accomodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 370 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stay here if you want to stay literally few steps from the Coliseum and Roman Forum all at an excellent value! The Owner and his son are so nice and helpful, always wanting to help and give nice suggestions. Downtown Accomodation is really an excellent place to stay. Really recommended!

Pablo from Spain.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pabloarmandospain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location. We walked to all the major sites. Substantial breakfast. Nice very clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Lorenzo is the perfect host. Generally always available to help with anything. Very welcoming. Would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rammer2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Arrived to an enthusiastic welcome. Once settled, Lorenzo annotated a map of central Rome with comments such as 'no food' (for the areas around the Parthenon, Trevi Fountain), these being where you are likely to be served pasta with sauce from a jar at restaurant prices.
Everything was within walking distance: the Colosseum and forums were just down the road, and we walked to the Vatican and Trastevere with no problem (though there are buses nearby if we had wanted to use them).
There are decent restaurants on Via Cavour, though we found the best places for eating and coffee nearby were in the roads that ran parallel: Via Madonna Del Monti and Via Leonina etc.
Downtown Accomodation was clean and friendly, and the rooms facing Via Cavour had very effective double glazing. There were no public areas, just bedrooms off the one corridor, with breakfast served to the rooms by Lorenzo at the time agreed.
Lovely stay. Will definitely return to Downtown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melbalass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, based on recommendations from other Trip Advisor reviews. The reviews were spot on. The location is fabulous and only 5 minutes from the Colosseum. The proprietor, Lorenzo, couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. The place is small and isn't the newest or most modern, but is very clean and comfortable and has everything you need. Lorenzo delivered breakfast to our room each morning at the time we requested, gave us directions to every place we wanted to go, and was always available to help with any questions or problems. There are lots of good places to eat and great Gelato just a few doors away.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kat654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were going to spend 5 days in Rome, but were having a tough time finding a reasonably priced place to stay that had a/c (sorry, I'm a wimp). I read about Downtown Accommodation Roma on Trip Advisor and everyone had such good things to say, we decided to spend our nights here. It was a great decision. It was about a 15 minute walk from the train station and easy to find. We were met by the owner, Lorenzo, at the elevator, and he shepherded us to the lodge. While not fancy, it is quite nice and clean. He checked us in and then gave us a crash course on what to see and how to get around in Rome, and places to eat. Our room was quite comfortable-- and air conditioned (costs an extra 5 Euro per night-- and worth it). While many of the rooms face Via Cavour, Lorenzo pointed out that they had added double windows to keep the noise down--and it worked great.

Breakfast is served in your room, and was quite adequate.
Overall, the hospitality and friendliness of Lorenzo made this a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnHMapleValley_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We'd never been to Rome and debated between 3 different locations. One was less expensive but farther away from the things we really wanted to see. One was more expensive and well located. When I went back online and saw all the wonderful reviews, I knew this was the right place for us and we were not disappointed. We were a little early, so Lorenzo didn't quite have the room ready, but he showered us with friendly attention and delicious croissants and juice while he finished up. Totally unexpected pampering that was really appreciated after 16 hours on an airplane. Every morning he delivered a delicious breakfast of fresh boiled eggs, croissants, yogurt, toast, butter, jam, juice and coffee to our room. The room was on the small side by American standards, but had everything we needed: it was quiet and it had a private bath, comfy bed, a small closet, and an air conditioner. And it was so close to everything! The Bancomat was maybe 100 yards away, the Colosseum entrance was less than a ten minute stroll, Vatican City was just over half an hour brisk walk. We had a great time and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or to recommend it to anyone who asks.
If you have a lot of luggage, plan to take the stairs or make a couple of trips. The elevator is one of those old metal gated things meant for 2 people and a carry-on. Someone could have made a fortune posting a YouTube of us getting everything into it in one trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#103 of 1,267 in Rome
286 reviews
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#181 of 1,267 in Rome
579 reviews
Monti
Hotel Fori Imperiali Cavalieri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Locanda Colosseo
Locanda Colosseo
#137 of 3,710 in Rome
340 reviews
Monti
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
#33 of 3,710 in Rome
258 reviews
Monti
Residenze Argileto
Residenze Argileto
#69 of 3,710 in Rome
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rome Downtown Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rome Downtown Accomodation

Address: Via Cavour 275 | 1st Floor With Lift, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 3,710 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $81 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Downtown Accomodation is a great value, comfortable, friendly and safe accommodation next to the Coliseum and the Roman Forum. From the place you can reach the Colosseum and the Roman Forum in less than a two-minute walk. Thanks to its enviable position Downtown Accomodation provides the ideal place in the heart of the eternal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Rome Downtown Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rome Downtown Accomodation Hotel Rome
Downtown Accomodation Rome
Downtown Accomodation Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing