We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast Smart
Ranked #182 of 3,763 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

B&B Smart has to be one of the best lodging bargains in Rome! It's not grand, but everything is kept perfectly clean and the breakfast is more than enough. We found the location to be very convenient... close to the train station, within walking distance of many sights, and near good restaurants. The traditonal Italian restaurant just outside the B&B building door was very good! Innkeeper Isabella was WONDERFUL! She saw to our every need.

Room Tip: B&B Smart is part of Isabella's family's home in a multiple-story apartment/condo buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 251 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

\We had a little trouble finding the place, but that may have been because we were unfamiliar with the city. We were welcomed by Isa right away, and she took time to explain the city to us and helped us plan a way to explore all of Rome in 2 days. Safe, clean, and great service with a nice little breakfast included. Much better than if we were to stay in a random hostel. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Isa was amazing, the room was amazing, and you can't beat the location with it being 2 streets away from the terminal. Isa provided us with 1.5 liter waters everyday for free, she welcomed us with fresh watermelon, made breakfast specific for us whenever we wanted it and brought it to our room! It was such a great experience! AC unit was amazing as well! You will love it here!

Room Tip: Our room had a private bathroom inside and an AC unit. These two things help a lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I arrived quite late in Rome and found the hotel easily thanks to Isa's very clear instructions. She came down to greet me, which was nice. The room was very spacious and clean and there were two places just downstairs where I grabbed a quick bite to eat.
Breakfast was great and then it was just a quick walk round the corner to get my train to Naples.
Thanks for a great start to my Italian holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at B&B Smart for 2 nights in early July. The room was lovely and colorful - neat as a pin! It was great having a communal refrigerator and wifi in the room. Isa gave us much-needed water upon arrival and surprised us with watermelon once we were settled. She was able to highlight all of Rome's highlights on a map at super-sonic, yet very informative speed! I was impressed. The map was very handy as we became lost in Rome. Rome was hot but our room was air conditioned. I was always amazed as the motorcycles zoomed by us and the noise of Rome just disappeared on the 5th floor of B&B Smart. Breakfast was sufficient to get us started for the day. The fresh fruit was especially nice. High marks are rightly deserved.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndiM74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We spent three nights in Rome and we loved the location and the set-up. It is so close to Termini
that it barely takes 5 minutes to get there. Isabella arranged pick-up from the airport and was very
helpful getting us oriented when we arrived. She spent time to highlight the attractions around and
to explain how we can get to the ones that were farther away. For breakfast she brought in a tray
with fruits, yogurt, juice, tea or coffee, a boiled egg and pastry. We were happy with our stay and
we will check with them if we stop again in Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABVDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this B&B, where Isa was an excellent hostess. Specifics are listed below:

Pros:
- Location was great around 5-10 mins walking distance from Roma Termini station with lots of bus lines, trains and metro. We walked with luggage from the train station was no issue whatsoever
- Elevator was available even though the hotel was on 5/F (phew!)
- Breakfast was good and Isa was very flexible about the timing of delivery to our room (yes, it was sent to our room!) - consists of a hard-boiled egg, a croissant, 1-2 pieces of fruit, yoghurt and tea/coffee. Isa was willing to have us have breakfast at ~6 am for 2 days given our schedule
- The room was very spacious and very clean. The best cleaning job of our entire (2-3 week trip) so far!! They even re-arranged some of our luggage positioning and put away things
- Isa was really helpful in arranging and recommending transportation options
- Great value in overpriced Rome
- Isa even gave us free bottles of water and tissue, a thoughtful touch!

Cons:
- One of the only cons I can think of is that sometimes Isa steps away (I think during the evening during dinner time?) This is definitely not a huge issue, only when we had some questions about the next day's plans/breakfast, and had to sort of wait around. Perhaps this could be solved by putting a note on her desk with the time of her return?
- The need to pay cash for the stay, which made it a little inconvenient
- We had some trouble checking in -- though we told Isa our arrival time, we weren't able to buzz her at the door. It took 10-15 mins until we found a random person on the street to borrow his phone. Not seamless but the rest of the stay made up for it!

Overall, we really liked our stay and strongly recommend it as a great value option in Rome!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#170 of 1,272 in Rome
428 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#231 of 1,272 in Rome
1,249 reviews
Monti
Hotel Italia
Hotel Italia
#225 of 1,272 in Rome
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Locanda Colosseo
Locanda Colosseo
#172 of 3,763 in Rome
344 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#23 of 3,763 in Rome
770 reviews
Esquilino
Dream Station
Dream Station
#38 of 3,763 in Rome
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Smart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Smart

Address: Via Farini 52, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 3,763 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Smart offers good location in the centre of Rome, huge, quiet and clean rooms, great value and professional, kind and helpul staff!It is perfect for visitors looking to see Rome for less, providing a friendly welcome, comfy bed and hearty breakfast right in the centre of Roma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Smart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Smart
Bed And Breakfast Smart Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing