We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best way to feel "at home" in Rome!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rome, Lazio

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sckanaka
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best way to feel "at home" in Rome!”
Reviewed April 15, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week-long stay in Martin and Elizabeth's apartment in Trastevere, Rome, and enjoyed living like a local. The apartment is located centrally in Rome so you can easily travel to the attractions in central Rome or Vatican City, by either walking or reasonably priced public transportation. We shopped in local grocery stores and were able to enjoy wine/cheese/bread/olive meals on the wonderful veranda. Martin's guide to Rome was extremely helpful in getting us off to a running start so we could maximize our visits to attractions. I highly recommend the available car service to/from the airport as needed. The service provided by Martin, Elizabeth, and their manager Alessandro was top notch and timely. A five-star experience!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Living like a local
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcasoul
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular Penthouse & Hosts!”
Reviewed March 3, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Mercanti Penthouse for a full week and enjoyed every minute of it. The 3 story penthouse is kept in immaculate shape, even more impressive if you're familiar with typical Italian apartments. Everything works great.. another impossible feat for italian apartments; Kitchen, bathrooms, heating, etc. Not one problem.

Location is in a lovely part of Rome, Trastevere, which is a 15min walk to the center and 15min walk to 2 different metro stops. Trastevere itself is packed with little cafes, restaurants, shops and local gems. I found 4 different restaurants within a 5 minute walk that I really enjoyed... definitely made my life easier.

We also found our way to the Jewish ghetto for dinner one night (10-15min walk from the Penthouse), and ate at a restaurant called BellaCarne....Wow. This restaurant knocked our socks off, so definitely give it a try if you have a chance.

Last but certainly not least, hosts Martin and Elizabeth greeted me with such warmth and kindness that it was the perfect start to my trip. They were constantly checking in to make sure things were going great and sending me little tips and recommendations to improve my stay. I would absolutely stay here again and have already recommended the Mercanti Penthouse to some family and friends.

I tossed my coins into the Trevi Fountain so I hope to see Martin and Elizabeth again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gas stove and rooftop terrace
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2016
Thanks for your great review Michael!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn m
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So Excited to be coming back in September 2016”
Reviewed February 2, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

Martin is an amazing host, we stayed at the Penthouse in June 2014 and we are thrilled to be coming back 'home' in September 2016. The location is fabulous and within walking distance of so many sites, we rarely took a taxi anywhere. The building is clean and there are amazing restaurants just outside your door.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom c
Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A True Taste Of Rome”
Reviewed November 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic location close to transport ,restaurants, supermarket in a delightful, safe area.
The apartment was fantastic and spacious and our hosts very helpful. We enjoyed many nights on upstairs balcony/terrace enjoying the lights of Rome. The sunrise in the morning from the apartment was spectacular. " Mercanti Penthouse" was a great find and we would definitely stay there again. The house was well equipped and had everything we needed.
Well done and thanks to our hosts Martin and Elizabeth. Hopefully see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and size of the apartment
Liked least: Hot water in bathroom sometimes a problem. Mirowave to heat things would also be helpful as we were travelling with a child
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 3, 2015
Thanks for the great review Tom. We specialize on providing a fantastic experience - not just a great place to stay but also all the contacts and insider's info you'd never be able to gleen from google... Tom, your name is now a VIP key for Casa Picard places. We await your next trip or friends you refer. Thanks again!
cheers
Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheresaSo...
So Cal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location - could not ask for anything more”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Casa Picard was a fantastic location - easy to stroll the streets of Trastevere and reach the historic center with ease. The terrace is a great place to have morning coffee and dining al fresco. The apartment was very comfortable for 4 adults with 2 full bathrooms. Well equipped with dishware and cooking utensils. The use of car service was fantastic as we arrive on the train and were picked up as promised. We would definitely stay at Casa Picard again and would highly recommend to all who wish to be at home in Rome.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 8, 2015
Thanks Theresa! You were a great guest. My Sister and I do OUR BEST to give guests not only a fantastic place to stay but all the information and contacts so that your trip to Rome can be planned with no hassles and with the benefit of our local knowledge. We are happy to plan, book, and organize for you - or just provide you with keys and information and let you explore your own way!
A Presto A Roma
Martin & Elizabeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy T
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“A Great Place To Stay in ROME”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Casa Piccard is centrally located a 15 minute walk to literally all the major attractions in Rome, Yet is tucked away in Plaza Mercanti, so quiet for sleeping. There are restaurants and markets near by and had all we needed to make for a special trip to Rome. The roof terrace was to our favorite place to sit and have a glass of wine after sight seeing for the day. Great cool night breezes, Terrific views of Rome. This rental made our trip wonderful. Thanks to Martin and Elizabeth for their hospitality. IF you are going to Rome...... don't miss this place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and roof terrace.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladybird1...
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Located in an area of charm.”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Excellent characterful location. All that is needed is provided in the apartment. ( toaster wasn't working but hopefully that will be rectified for those of you who love toast for brekky).
Plenty of very good restruants plus things to do and see on your doorstep.
Best bread in Rome is from a bakery in Trastevere plus good picnic food.
Taxi stand in Piazza Belli handy and we felt reasonably priced.
More tourist info at the apartment would be helpful.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing