We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Colonna Traiana
from $60.24
More Info
from $82.04
More Info
from $260.61
More Info
from $141.61
More Info
Reviews (1,033)
Filter reviews
1,033 results
Traveler rating
566
387
75
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
566
387
75
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews emperor trajan bas relief marcus aurelius st peter roman empire ancient rome victory wars columns spiral dacia scenes statue conquest frieze ad victorians
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 1,033 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018

Located to the side of Trajans market and forum, this was a column honoring his victories in Jerusalem. Now a statue of Saint Peter is on top.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2018

The column Colonna Traiana is erected to commemorate Emperor Trajan'v victory during the war with Romania. It is located near to the Forum of Augustus. Recommended.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank YTCHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

I saw this column took a few photos and moved on.

Later on, I came back in a walking tour and the guide explained much more about this column. It was monument to commemorate the Trajan's triumph over the Dacians.

The column actually tells a story about the victory in pictorial form. It is a feat of engineering as it was erected around 113 AD.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2018

A majestic work of art celebrating Trajan’s victory over the Dacians. I’m glad we went to the museum afterward, where we received much more explanation so we could appreciate what we were seeing.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank MJLAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2018

This column was erected in 113 AD to commemorate emperor Trajan victory in the war with Dacia/Romania/. It is located after the forum of August and next to Piazza Venetia.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Jivko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews