We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Nicolas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nicolas Inn
Ranked #197 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Rathdrum
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Nicolas Inn is perfectly located for so many of the sights. Melissa and Francois made us feel so welcome and well taken care of during our stay. Francois took my husband and I personally to a small family owned restaurant for lunch, and Melissa gave us a tip on how to avoid the long lines.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny83858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    85
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
77
495
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was the third B&B my wife and I stayed at in Italy. We absolutely loved it! First of all, we were greeted by Francois - an amazingly hospitable host. During check-in he actually walked us around a few blocks showing us some restaurants he recommended. His wife, Melissa, was equally amazing. They were both so helpful with restaurant recommendations, reservations, and setting up a car to the airport on our last day there. The restaurants they recommended (La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali, Ristorante Cleto, and Santa Cristina al Quirinale) were all magnificent! These were all "non-tourist" places where we got to eat with the locals and get a truly authentic Italian experience.

Location-wise, Nicoals Inn is fantastic. It's a very short walk to the Colosseum and Roman Forum. It's also right next to a grocery store and a 1-minute walk to a small park with a public water fountain. Walking to places such as Trevi Fountain, the Spanish Steps, the Borghese, and the Pantheon took a while. But, we were there in July when it was quite hot and were able to make those walks just fine in the mornings or late afternoons.

The room was a decent size and the bathroom was nice. Both were very clean. No complaints here. The bed was large enough for me and my wife to fit comfortably (I'm 6'4"). Breakfast was good and unique from the other B&Bs we visited. Rather than serving breakfast at the inn, they give you a voucher for a cafe just down the block. The cafe was another good "locals" spot and breakfast consisted of a big pastry, orange juice, and a cappuccino.

Enough can't be said about how wonderful Francois and Melissa were. They were so outgoing and warm every time we passed by. They live in the building across the street from the B&B and were always available. (One night, another guest blew an electrical fuse and Melissa came right over.) You can tell that they take their business very seriously and put genuine love and passion into it...My wife and I would absolutely stay at Nicolas Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoubleA1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very warm greeting from Melissa and Francois who were always willing to offer help and advice. The position is ideal for speedy access to most of the Roman ruins that tourists visit Rome for. Our hosts took the gamble out of eating venues by recommending trattorias less tourist-oriented offering cheaper and more authentic cuisine. We learnt of the Nicolas Inn by recommendation and have no hesitation in passing that on to anyone looking to stay in Rome. If you're lucky you may get some of Melissa's chocolate cake!

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the street, it provides far better entertainment at rush hour than any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandStu3930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

The location of the Nicholas Inn is to die for. Only one block away from the Colloseum, the Forum, and a Metro stop, we had easy access to many of the great sights of Rome. The owners are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean with just enough space. The included breakfast is at a lovely local cafe just down the block. My wife and I had a great stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theodore O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor and Rick Steve's Guide we tried to book 6 nights at the Nicolas Inn but found they were totally booked. We were offered an alternative - an apartment across the street. At first we were disappointed about having to opt for the apartment but it turned out to be absolutely perfect.

The 2 apartments are spacious - with bedroom, living room, washroom with shower, small kitchen with full fridge and small stove, stove top espresso maker, dishes. In fact staying in our own apartment made us feel as though we had a little "living in Rome" adventure which really added to the whole experience.

We had dinner a few times at Ristorante Cleto right behind the hotel, recommended by Melissa - great home-cooked style food, reasonable price, with Danilo Santini (you can check him out on you tube!) singing and playing guitar. Great fun!

I won't repeat all the accolades about how lovely and helpful Melissa and Francois are, and what a great location it is. ALL TRUE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArleneToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Nicolas Inn for 4 nights.

It's a solid 20 minute walk down Via Cavour (a main artery in Rome) from the train station to the inn. Once we arrived, we were pleasantly greeted by Francois with ice cold glasses of water, which was GREATLY appreciated in the 80+ degree heat we were in. After he checked us in, he actually walked us out of the inn and around the neighborhood pointing out tourist traps and DELICIOUS restaurants. He was awesome!

The room was decent sized with a big, clean bathroom. Our room faced Via Cavour, which in retrospect we should have asked for their one room that doesn't face the main street. However, given that, the room wasn't terribly noisy at night when the shutters were drawn and the windows were closed. I slept like a baby every night there! The inn is in a great location, minutes from the Roman Forum and Colosseum. We only took a cab once, and that was to and from the Vatican... About 20 Euro total round trip.

This B&B provides you vouchers for breakfast at a nearby cafe. This was pretty cool because you got to eat where the locals ate. The voucher got you a glass of juice, a coffee of your choosing and a pastry. Everything was always fresh and tasty. The owners of the cafe were very sweet and helpful.

Melissa and Francois gave us E-X-C-E-L-L-E-N-T recommendations for meals. Take them up on their suggestions and you won't be disappointed! I'll review the best restaurants we at ate in other posts, but the restaurants they suggested to us were Alle Carrette, Ristorante Cleto (right across the street behind a tourist trap of a restaurant), La Taverna dei Fori Imperiali and Santa Cristina al Quirinale. They made us reservations without hesitation and always confirmed them with us by leaving a business card for the restaurant with our reservation time in our room. Attached is a picture of a note Francois left us after he recommended a restaurant to us - we appreciated it so much!

Melissa and Francois rocked! They live across the street from the inn and were around to help. One night (around 11:30pm), another guest blew a fuse and knocked out the power in the inn. We called Melissa and she came right over, turned everything back on and didn't seem the least bit upset. She and her husband were a-mazing hosts! Thanks to Rick Steves for the suggestion, he did not let us down!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cxguti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The location is excellent! Located near the Forum and the Colesseum. Melissa and Francois are the best thing about the place. We arrived late via train and Francois was there to greet and check us in and we had an EARLY morning flight and he was there to make sure that we got off ok. They are readily available with suggestions, for just about anything. The room was very clean and well kept. Breakfast was great as well. Can't recommend this place enough! Check it out for yourselves.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyH1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Paba
Hotel Paba
#321 of 1,256 in Rome
410 reviews
Monti
Hotel Rosetta
Hotel Rosetta
#408 of 1,256 in Rome
203 reviews
Monti
Hotel Romano
Hotel Romano
#253 of 1,256 in Rome
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Solis
Hotel Solis
#175 of 1,256 in Rome
550 reviews
Monti
Nakissa Inn
Nakissa Inn
#663 of 3,642 in Rome
97 reviews
Esquilino
Roman Residence Inn
Roman Residence Inn
#362 of 3,642 in Rome
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nicolas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nicolas Inn

Property: Nicolas Inn
Address: Via Cavour 295 | Scala A, Int 1, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nicolas Inn is a small accommodation in the center of Rome just just a few steps away from the Colosseum and the ancient Roman Forum. This service-oriented Inn offers a welcoming atmosphere in an authentic setting for your vacation in Rome. Nicolas Inn is recommended by Rick Steves, Frommers, Lonely Planet and DK Eyewitness Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Nicolas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nicolas Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing