We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!! Wonderful place!!!”
Review of Il Palazzetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Palazzetto
Ranked #511 of 1,259 Hotels in Rome
atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“WOW!!! Wonderful place!!!”
Reviewed September 22, 2006

Just back from a fantastic time in Italy! Il palazzetto and the Hassler are world class places. Great service and location. Fine attention to every detail, no expense spared in the rooms! A view over Spanish steps straight out of a movie. We loved this place!

Tina Sandy

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Tips/Secrets — This is a first class place...know that ahead of time!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    16
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
16
68
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2006

Stayed here for four nights with my husband and two children (aged 12 and 8). We took two of the four rooms overlooking the Spanish steps. Wonderful situation but the Steps get very noisy, especially at night. The windows have excellent double glazing though. However when we stayed the air conditioning was switched off so it was a bit of a trade off between noise or fresh air! The rooms were lovely - large comfortable beds and luxury bathrooms (like others though, we felt they were a bit mean with the freebies! Only soap and shampoo provided. Would have been nice to see some body lotion/cotton wool etc). We had breakfast in what I think is the bar usually as the whole of the Hassler restaurant is under scaffolding and renovation. Don't know how long for - best to ask if you are going. We weren't informed of this prior to arrival so couldn't go for the meal there that we had wanted. Also, as the bar area is a bit small we rather annoyingly had to often wait for a table for breakfast or be offered one out in the rather less attractive lobby area. We found the staff very helpful - unlike some previous comments. The weekend concierge in particular was excellent with his suggestions for meals out and directions. He even managed to identify a pub for my husband to go and watch the Manchester United match in! All in all we really enjoyed our stay here but felt there are a few things they need to address - they should really inform people if their main restaurant is not open, prior to them arriving and they could provide better toiletries in the bathrooms for these prices. The breakfasts were lovely though, staff attentive and friendly and location perfect if a little noisy at times. My daughter did not want to come home and that, to me, is a measure of a place - when your children enjoy themselves as much as you do!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 8, 2006

Il Palazzetto is in a famous location at the Spanish Steps, although this means some noise throughout the day and night. The room we had was a decent size, but not large, with a luxury bathroom. The problem was that it smelled strange, frankly like a dirty diaper was hidden somewhere - we actually looked. I got dressed up (because how you dress is supremely important at the Hassler) and asked for a replacement room. After a few hours the answer came that they could move us to the main building - the next day.

They tried to charge me the current walk-in price, hundreds more than the rate - about $250, I had paid well in advance for our palazzetto room. I wasn't going for that, so after another few hours they agreed to keep the original price for the main hotel room. That turned out to be an interior facing room, nice enough, and we were happy to be through with the front desk, who were civil but not dedicated to making things as perfect as their reputation would suggest.

The Hassler is a beautiful looking hotel, but it is so formal that it would be a burden for most Americans who value service over stuffiness. I'm a businessman, dress relatively well, and am polite, had the money, but I didn't enjoy the sense of being assessed by the staff as to my station in life, and didn't get the sense of service or luxury the hotel's prices and attitude would lead one to expect.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Lovely, run by the Hassler, only 4 rooms so book early and ask for a room overlooking the Spanish Steps. The rooms are very elegant, well furnished with great linen (Irish linen pillow cases and I suspect Frett sheets - if these things matter!) No problems with soaps (unlike last poster) - in fact very generous huge Hassler soaps, and 2 large bottles of shampoo / bath foam. very good quality bath robes, slippers etc - everything you would expect - however, you don't get the other stuff you usually find in 5 satr hotels (lotions, mouth wash, ear buds, shoe shine etc). The position cannot get any better, you literally spill out onto the Spanish Steps (and all the shops and restaurants you can wish for)- there is also a private terrace where you can people watch. I think it's nicer staying here than at a large hotel. One moan which bothered me (but not my partner) - the doors are poorly insulated and you can hear people returning in the evening, foot steps, talking etc - pity - having invested in providing quality fittings to forget abt door insulation. Breakfast in summer in the Hassler Palm Court - great breakfasts and excellent, friendly service throughout - I will definitely stay here again - in fact whenever I visit Rome.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank london_traveller_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2005

Look out your window onto the Spanish steps. The room is large, comfortable, and everything is new. Breakfast at the rooftop restaurant in the Hassler Hotel has breathtaking views. Go out the entrance on the first floor of Il Palazzetto, and you're at the entrance to the subway. We appreciated the satellite TV with full SKY programming, although we only watched in the middle of the night after wandering the Rome streets. Only small problem was some slight neglect on service. They gave one bar of soap to serve for the sink, shower, and bidet. When we asked for more, it never came. The shower drain was clogged when we checked in, but after reporting it, they fixed it immediately. The price of 300 Euro per night is high, but compared to other places we saw at this rate, this is superior. We spent the first two nights of our honeymoon here, and it's definitely THE romantic spot to be in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ObservantGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2005

A stunning room, wonderful bathroom, walk in wardrobe - the lot! And open your window and there are the spanish steps! You can sip wine on the private terrace and be the envy of all the tourists sat on the steps waving at you. The hotel is excellent value for money, only four rooms so you feel special. The restaurant has amazing food and as this is part of the wine acadamy the wine is stunning. We did a wine tasting course and could not fault the somellier. Excellent service. If you want a special stay in rome, love good food and wine go here! Oh and I forget to say, as they are part of the Hotel Hassler you get to have breakfast in the Hassler roof restaurant. Fantastic views of rome and wonderful breakfasts - smoked salmon and champagne for me!

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
23 Thank TRAX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#41 of 1,259 in Rome
1,039 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#60 of 1,259 in Rome
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,259 in Rome
502 reviews
Campo Marzio
Inn Spagna Charming House
Inn Spagna Charming House
#294 of 1,259 in Rome
273 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna View
Piazza di Spagna View
#556 of 1,259 in Rome
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzetto

Property: Il Palazzetto
Address: Vicolo del Bottino 8, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Rome
#268 Family Hotel in Rome
#329 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Il Palazzetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Palazzetto Hotel Rome
Il Palazzetto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing