We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Il Palazzetto

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Il Palazzetto
Ranked #555 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed November 12, 2013

My wife has taken me to this little Roman gem for my birthday for the past seven years. It is great in every respect except I don't understand why it is not possible to provide residents with continental breakfast rather than having to trek to the Hassler Hotel.

It seems to me that with ample kitchen and dining facillities in the Palazzetto it should not be too big a job to provide some good Italian coffee and pastries in the morning on the terrace.

We loved the new service on the terrace at lunch time and were very glad that the bar closes at 19:30 to allow residents to enjoy the peace and quiet of the best private terrace in Rome!

Thank yo Daniella for looking after us again.

Room Tip: We love room four in the winter as the bar closes early so you have the adjoining terrace to yoursel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

Il Palazzetto is centrally located - Spanish Steps, Metro and fabulous shopping and restaurants close by. The boutique hotel has light filled, spacious and beautifully decorated rooms - a perfect retreat. My room overlooked the Spanish Steps -a view I didn't tire of, and with the windows closed there was no background noise from the Piazza. The staff are attentive and generous with their suggestions and recommendations for restaurants, sights to visit and shopping. Their insights regarding Rome and how best to get around were truly helpful and made it easier to navigate the city and surrounds. Il Palazzetto is where I will stay when next in Rome.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Loved the designer decorated room with windows opening out onto the spanish steps and the luxurious marble bathroom and walk in wardrobe and great bar facilities in-room. The location was superb with the Villa Borghese gardens above us and the gorgeous shopping streets of Via Condotti below.

Prime location for walking the streets of Rome: evening strolls along the Tiber and around to Piazza Navona past the Pantheon and then back up to the Spanish Steps or through Villa Borghese park, down Via Veneto, past the Trevi Fountain and then back to the Spanish Steps. We even walked as far as the Colleseum one of the five days we stayed here in Rome.

Five star breakfasts with a fantastic choice of italian style coffees in the gorgeous breakfast room at the Hotel Hassler was a great way to start the day and worth paying the surcharge for the full breakfast option.

We also loved the roof top terrace bar where we could hang out with friends who were also visiting Rome at the same time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiCayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Ok so the ONLY two good points about this 'hotel' - good location and nicely decorated room. The negatives far outweigh both those points. Some facts that you need to be aware of before deciding to stay here:

- Il Palazzetto calls itself a hotel but it is not. It is a venue space owned by the Hotel Hassler (across the road) in which they hold events and offer out the 4 bedrooms to people wanting to stay after an event OR to visitors to Rome under the guise of it being a hotel. You check in at the Hassler, are taken across the road to this venue (which you enter via a bar) and are told that you can use the Hassler's concierge and facilities. Which sounds fine, until you realise you are treated like a poor second cousin to the Hassler residents.
- The first room we were put in had the most horrendous smell (room 4). I think it may have been damp, but another trip advisor reviewer described it as a diaper or nappy smell which I think is more apt. This room was located directly under the room top bar (which as I mentioned you enter the 'hotel' through) which meant that from 7pm there is constant noise of chairs being scraped across the titled floor above. So loud! This noise goes on until 1 or 2 in the morning along with the usual noises of people in a bar. The kitchen which supplies food to the bar is also located directly outside of this room so more noise, disruption and smell.
- The rooftop bar is horrible. Yes they invite you to go up and enjoy a drink (at your own cost of course) but this bar is open to the public - not just for the hotel - and, as I said, very much a part of the building as you enter through it and have to walk through all the drinking people to get to the staircase down to your hotel. The bar toilets are directly outside room 4. We could smell someone smoking marijuana in there.
- As mentioned it calls itself a 'hotel' but really it is just a collection of rooms above and below a venue space rented out by the Hassler. There is no where to relax or so on unless you go across the road to the Hassler. The staircases and so on and horrible. Breakfast is served in the Hassler BUT see other reviews with regards to the buffet not being segmented out properly and guests being hit with big bills at the end of breakfast (all the food is on one table and turns out only baked goods - not fruit - included in room rate!).
- We complained about the noise from the bar and moved rooms. As we returned from dinner we heard nightclub level noise coming from the Spanish steps and joked about it being from the Palazzetto. Well, the joke was well and truly on us. The night time event had started at the events venue (a wedding, corporate event, who knows?) directly below the bedrooms and the noise was unbelievable. The bar sounded like a meditative retreat in comparison. Sitting in our room we could hear every word of the live music. We rang reception to repeatedly complain. After about an hour or so the live music was turned down (by about midnight) and we just had the usual event noise to contend with. But our relaxing night in Rome was ruined.

You should really think twice about staying here given the cost. I am surprised there are any positive reviews as it is not really part of a hotel and is clearly a money making exercise 'on the side' for the Hassler. It feels incredibly disjointed and depressing - there is nothing special about this place. Fine, you get a view of the Spanish Steps but you could stay down the road and visit like everyone else for some photos. It's not as if you have a balcony from the room on which you can sit, have a drink and enjoy the view. Unless you go up to the bar of course, to sit on the metal seats.

I was expecting to love this place given the cost, but I hated it. There are much better places to stay in Rome for the same price rather than being abandoned in this out-house where you are treated like an unwanted guest by the Hassler. Oh and don't even get me started on the staff in the Hassler when we tried to get them to address our concerns - they simply don't care.

Room Tip: Whatever you do DON'T stay in room no. 4. It is located directly beneath a public outdoor bar so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JenniferT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Our family stayed at Il Palazzetto in July. It is an excellent location. The rooms were a good size, great views over the Spanish Steps, well appointed, if a little 'tired' as we also found the main Hassler Hotel. Quite old fashioned. The Hassler breakfast area for example should be elegant but is ruined by a huge plastic bar in the shape of a shell at one end. All staff friendly and very helpful. Nice to have two room services each day. The first few nights were fine because it rained so the rooftop bar was not used. After that it was really difficult to sleep at times, particularly on the weekend as the bar was busy, stayed open later and the noisy departures right past our doors followed by cleaning up until 2am including bumping big wheeled rubbish bins downstairs directly past one of our rooms was impossible to sleep through. I don't think any of the rooms would be spared this noise so avoid Il Palazzetto if that would bother you. You are basically staying in a bar. If you come back in the evening from the Spanish Steps entry you have to walk through the bar, with children that is not ideal. Room 4 is probably worst for noise as it is closest to the bar entry/exit, directly under one section with little soundproofing and next to the public toilets. Wifi did not work after first couple of days in either room. We were at least allowed to use the Hassler business centre but should not be happening for the price and reputation of this property. Gym disappointing, very small. Breakfast good but the staff seemed confused by our presence for the first few days, we were asked twice each day what our room number was, so we felt a bit like we did not belong or something. No eggs if you are only having Continental breakfast included with room charge, but you can have pancakes or french toast and any cake you like - I thought that was a strange rule. We were expecting to love this Hotel but it did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends in summer due to bar noise, 3 rooms on 3rd floor may be a bit quieter but Room 4 on 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gene0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My teenage daughter and I spent 5 nights at the Il Palazzetto in June. It was my second stay at the hotel.

It is one of my favorite places to stay.

The Palazzetto has only 4 rooms. It also houses the Wine Academy of Rome and a terrace cafe.

LOCATION
I love the location and that you can walk almost everywhere. On this stay, we tried the metro - which is right next to the lower entrance of the hotel. There is an American Express office on the piazza and I have used them for getting train tickets.

ROOM DECOR
Our room, number 1, was large with a wonderful big window that looked right out at the Spanish Steps. There are two Louis XVI style velvet chairs and a round table set up in front of the window and we would have happy hour looking out at the view. It is the perfect arrangement.

All of the design details in the room are beautiful from bleached hardwood floors, frescoed walls, and inlaid marble details in the bathroom.

At the Il Palazzetto you feel like you are staying in a secret room, entering through an upper locked garden gate.

DETAILS
There are nice extras like turn-down service and coffee/tea making things in the room. The windows are insulated and close out all of the noise plus there are interior shutters that make the room even quieter and block out all light. Strong A/C.

Everything in the hotel is immaculate and very well maintained.

The included breakfast at the Hassler is luxurious. The dining room is formal and the breakfast buffet presentation has some beautiful pastries and other choices. High quality food.

Service is professional and friendly. Everyone speaks English if you desire it.

I can't imagine that I could find a hotel in Rome that I like as much as the Il Palazzetto.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only room with frescoes. Room 2 is a corner room with more windows but a less direct v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pricklypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

A hotel experience that lives up to its reputation. It was so nice to stay at a hotel that has all the polish and charm a 5 star hotel should. The staff were fantastic - their restaurant suggestions were the best I have ever had from a hotel - the room was very big with quality linens and bathroom accessories and the view from our room was worth it all, right on the Spanish steps. Great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Hassler
Hotel Hassler
#29 of 1,271 in Rome
1,094 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna View
Piazza di Spagna View
#551 of 1,271 in Rome
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#59 of 1,271 in Rome
433 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,271 in Rome
527 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piazza di Spagna Suites
Piazza di Spagna Suites
#579 of 1,271 in Rome
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Palazzetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Palazzetto

Address: Vicolo del Bottino 8, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Rome
#268 Family Hotel in Rome
#328 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $241 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Palazzetto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Palazzetto Hotel Rome
Il Palazzetto Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing