We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serena -- Excellent Location & Service”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Serena
Ranked #391 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The Serena Hotel was our hub in Rome for six nights. It was the perfect location near Roma Termini to enjoy the sites in Rome and a taxi or walk away from restaurants. The room was clean & secure. The staff including Leo, Marco & Giancarlo were excellent hosts and were quick to pull out a map at the front desk & show us directions & points of interest off the beaten path. Breakfast was great each morning and it enabled us to hit the ground running. As others have consistently reviewed on Tripadvisor, the Serena Hotel, overall, was a great value. We will come back to Rome & will come back to the Serena Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnBlaiseDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 815 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

A great place to stay in for a few nights if being in a tour trip. It worth to be a 4 stars hotel in comparision with other hotels in Rome it self. Very helpful and cheerful front office staff. The room and toilet are peaceful. The location is great being in the middle of a nice restaurants and walk away of Termini station.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fadi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The location is the best thing about this hotel, we were very active and wanted to see as much as possible. The room is fine for sleeping in, the standard european size room (small). But it was clean and quiet. Wifi is pretty slow but it worked okay. Breakfast was okay. We ate in the neighborhood for dinner almost every night, (4 nights) convenient but that is it. every restaurant nearby is Very touristy and they charge extra for everything because it is mostly tourists. So plan to eat else where if you aren't too tired from sightseeing all day....
the neighborhood is full of all sorts of people. We saw lots of Rome and had a local friend and that area of the hotel isn't the niciest but it was fine. Never had a problem but we also didn't allow ourselves to be conned, lots of shady people near termini, so pay attention.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed two nights and extremely happy with my stay. The hotel is two minutes from termini station, room was great, secure and very clean. The staff were wonderful which is a bonus. I chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and location and very happy I did. Wifi available and worked perfectly. Overall, great value you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This was a very nice surprise. I didn't expect to find such a good hotel for spending my vacation in Rome. Excellent location, very clean and quiet room, good breakfast. The stuff at the reception was very polite and helpful. I would definitely come back to stay in the same hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for 5th floor room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is in a convenient location near the Termini railway station
  We had a room is very cozy and beautiful. We enjoyed our stay.
It was nice to come back to our room.
Breakfast is ordinary, very cozy dining room. Personal is very nice.
Position of the hotel is convenient, went everywhere on foot, and came back on the subway.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel Serena was close to the train and bus stations. The couple (brother and sister) running the hotel are very helpful and speak English-the fill in staff are also great. The breakfast is yummy and includes meat, cheese, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, fruit juice and breads-you can ask for coffees to be made. The room was comfortable and clean but on the small side (especially the shower). The lift was very helpful. Ask at the counter for recommendations of where to eat-the magic card they gave us helped us to jump a long queue and get free items such as wine and entrees.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a courtyard type area and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosetta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#311 of 1,268 in Rome
867 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#176 of 1,268 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#268 of 1,268 in Rome
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#293 of 1,268 in Rome
277 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#236 of 1,268 in Rome
881 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#243 of 1,268 in Rome
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Address: Via Principe Amedeo 64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #391 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $75 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing