We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little place near Termini”
Review of Hotel Serena

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Serena
Ranked #385 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Sweet little place near Termini”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you need to be near the train station, this spot is easy to find by foot and the people are sweet. I needed to catch a train to the cruise port the day after flying to Rome. Serena Hotel is simple and clean, the wifi worked well, the room had a working safe, and there were many decent restaurants nearby. Rome is not a huge city, and I was able to catch the train two stops to visit the Colosseum and walk back to the Serena Hotel all within three hours. Breakfast is continental and the service is great. Nothing fancy, but it met my needs in every way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    391
    143
    32
    36
See reviews for
141
326
88
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My sister and I traveled to Italy in mid June 2013. Our first stop was in Rome, where we stayed at the hotel Serena. The hotel is conveniently located 2 minutes, walking distance, away from the Termini station which connects travelers to the airport and metro station.The hotel is opposite an amazing local restaurant that is well worth the money for great food, drinks and service. The hotel is small but cozy. The only downside was that the bed was not comfortable as the mattress felt like cardboard. In my opinion though, the bathroom well made up for it in terms of providing a bidet as well as a powerful shower head, which comes in handy after a long day of walking around the city. One odd thing I did find was that the air conditioning switch that turns on the unit is located underneath the ac vent which would be hard to reach if at all visible. My overall rating is that this is a great budget hotel, in a strategic location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jade_myburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Good location, easy access to airport and railway for further travelling, also subway station close by. Surrounding is not maybe part of most beautiful lome but fine for staying over night. Lot of restaurans around and prices in restaurants clearly cheaper then when close to touristic attractions. Not luxury but value for money. We stayed in Serena over night when travelling next day to Tuscany by train.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Seppo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC,NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Serena Hotel for six nights in mid June. I chose the hotel based on it's location (near Termini Station) and the TA reviews. As noted in some reviews the hotel is a good choice for the traveler who wants creature comforts at a reasonable rate. I stayed in a single room 316 which was adequate in size and the bathroom was manageable. The room faces the street and because there are quite a few hotels and sidewalk restaurants and the tram (1 block away) it gets quite loud at night. The double glazed windows kept the room reasonably quiet. It was very hot during my stay and the AC worked well and quietly. The shower could do with some water stripping to prevent the bathroom floor from becoming soaking wet. The Wi-Fi was very slow but appreciated and the breakfast was good. The fridge/minibar in the room didn't work (never got cold) which (with the hot weather) prevented me from enjoying a cool or cold beverage. All in all because of the location, the cleanliness, Wi-Fi & breakfast it was value for price spent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is clean, convenient quiet and welcomingly cool on a hot day. Breakfast is plentiful and excellent - except for the coffee.
The staff are really helpful and kind. The night clerk especially is the man to talk to if you want to know where to visit off the beaten track and the weird and wonderful - the Church of St Clement with a temple of Mithras way underneath for instance. He's the man!

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It was a great stay for sure. The hotel is just a block away from the Termini Station and a 10-minute walk from the Coliseum and 15 minutes from Piazza Spagna. We've got a really good room and the breakfast was GREAT (the chocolate brioche is awesome!).

The only bad thing about the hotel is the crappy internet, couldn't get a decent connection. Needs improvement as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faro2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Whilst visiting Italy we stayed in the hotel for two nights in early May anf one night on the way home.We found the hotel more than adequate for our needs although the rooms are on the small side as others have stated. The front of house were very helpful and a mine of information. Breakfast gave plenty of choise and satisfied our needs. There are many resteraunts and bars within easy walking distance at reasonable prices, for Italy. We recomend this hotel for good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel California
Hotel California
#334 of 1,256 in Rome
812 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#199 of 1,256 in Rome
393 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Orlanda
Hotel Orlanda
#298 of 1,256 in Rome
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#253 of 1,256 in Rome
814 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#255 of 1,256 in Rome
267 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
Hotel Nord Nuova Roma
#258 of 1,256 in Rome
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Serena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Serena

Property: Hotel Serena
Address: Via Principe Amedeo 64, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Serena 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Serena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing