We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Primus Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Primus Roma
Ranked #1,103 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Petach Tikva, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Well, I read all that being writen here about this hotel, and it seems that some just got over expected.

The hotel is nice. The huge benefit is the price & the transportion. The hotel is very close to Pyramid metro station (2 stations down to Coloseo in line B) and close to Ostiense train station, which give you a direct line to the airport. It also very clean place, got air conditioner, a safe (which I wouldnt trust on) and an elevator.

The weakness is that is not in the center of Rome and the close to the railroad.

If you ask me, I had a 3rd floor room, and I almost didn't here the train. The window was usualy close cause of the air conditioner and the sound not that loud. You can also pay a little more and get the room on the other side.

So, if you ask me the only problem in my opinion is that it not in the center of Rome, and Rome is a little scary place to go by yourself at night, so I actually almost didn't enjoy Rome in night.

Ofcourse, there are places near the hotel - There is a very good Pizza on the main road, on your left facing the Pyramid station. The crew of the hotel was very kind and it was a very pleasure stay for me.

Despite of "Rome in night", I truly recomend on this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Segmany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    28
    25
    23
See reviews for
8
45
16
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

We stayed in April 2009. The hotel was fairly easy to find but not in a very nice neighbourhood. I wouldn't stay around here again. Everything was fine when we checked in. When we went to our room I thought how considerate it was that they give you earplugs (I'm a very light sleeper and sleep with earplugs at the best of times). When I opened the curtains to look out the window - BAM, train tracks! Holy cow, no wonder they give you earplugs. The trains are so noisy, there is so many tracks. We just laughed, what else could we do! The room itself was fine really. Reasonably clean and enough room with a little bar fridge to keep our water cool.
There was also a little Italian restaurant just down the road (I forget the road, but it's the main road between the hotel and the Pyramide train station), opposite side of the road to the train station. It doesn't have a sign out the front, but it's run by an Italian girl and her boyfriend and mother work there. It was excellent, we went back a second night. The food was beautiful and she gave us free dessert which was a speciality and absolutely delicious, and also a free glass of wine. She was so welcoming and friendly.
I wouldn't stay in the area again, but it was okay for our first time to Rome. The trains were easy to navigate and get around the city to all the sights etc from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fawky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Long Island, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2010

I found this hotel to be very accomodating. It wasn't in the best location, but my son who is going to school in Rome lives a block away. Comfortable and clean, but no screens in the windows.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBA722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

We booked this hotel over Easter weekend, last minute, and ended up paying 100 euro a night. I am SURE that you can find better hotels in Rome for that much under normal circumstances. It's very basic.
Positives:
- It's near the metro station. About a 10 euro cab ride from Campo Dei Fiori (where a lot of bars are).
- The staff is really nice and helpful.
- The beds are comfortable.
- Yes, you open your window and you can see the train tracks, but the train noise actually didn't bother us that much. I can't imagine it would be a problem unless you stayed in the hotel during the day. They also give you earplugs.

Negatives -
- Not much of anything near the hotel.
- ASK FOR A ROOM WITH A BATH. We got a "shower" room so there was a curtain and a drain in the floor, which, needless to say, means we had a flooded bathroom most of the time.
- Our air conditioner made a lot of noise.
- Mosquitoes (I think this would be a problem anywhere though)

I mean, it was fine, I would say it was below average for a normal hotel, but it was definitely decent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theduckiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

My first experience with a European hotel and I was very pleased. It was clean, the staff friendly, and in a great location. 5 minutes walk from the metro and the same for the train to the airport. My travel was over the Thanksgiving holiday and I paid 74euro per night with breakfast included. There is wireless internet in the lobby and my room had Sky satellite TV. Don't forget to pick up your TV remote from the front desk. The only downside was that the beds were not very comfortable. The metro is right next door and I did know when the trains passed but it wasn't bothersome.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyandLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2009

The hotel is in a very central position and very well connected to all the main sites.
It is also well connceted to Fiumicino Airport and all the train stations.
The service is very good and the receptionists are very friendly and helpful (btw, there is a proper reception area). WIFI is available for free.
The rooms are not big, but they are a standard size in Italy (you need sleep in the room, not have a party any way). They are clean and do not miss anything essential.
It is very good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivnmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2009

nice room, superb location, good breakfast, clean toilets, for the price it was great, except that u could hear the noise from the high speed trains coz the hotel is next 2 the train tracks
couldnt sleep well coz of that
theres free internet in the lobby n the staff r very nice

  • Liked — food, location
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jraja1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Testaccio
Hotel Pyramid
Hotel Pyramid
#883 of 1,292 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Ostiense
Happy Sleeping
Happy Sleeping
#855 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Ostiense
Cleopatra Affittacamere
Cleopatra Affittacamere
#676 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Testaccio
Re Testa
Re Testa
#411 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Aventine
Major Aventinus Hotel
Major Aventinus Hotel
#901 of 1,292 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Ostiense
Abitart Hotel
Abitart Hotel
#319 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primus Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primus Roma

Property: Hotel Primus Roma
Address: Via Giovanni da Empoli 11 - 13, 00154 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Testaccio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,103 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Primus Roma 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Primus Roma Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing