We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location close to Vatican”
Review of Domus Carmelitana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Domus Carmelitana
Ranked #493 of 1,270 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed February 27, 2012

A very clean and well organised/run establisment but much like a pensione in terms of the standards of the rooms. Breakfast was simple but good

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GregEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed there for 5 days in early november prior tro going on a trans atlantic cruise in early november.This was our second visit to the domus having been there 5 years ago. The good points ,the rooms are larger then you would expect and very clean. The breakfast include d in price w as very good with lots of choices. The lobby and bar area is small but adaquate and is always staffed. The location is very good ,close to all busses and a 10 min walk to the subway. Good restaurants on Borgo Pio are a 3minute walk. We walked walked to just about everwherwas e . The rooftop garden is great for viewing St. Peter's and relaxing. The not so good points, can be noisy when tour buses come and go esp. in the am as people open and close the heavy doors to there rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. The price was 130 euro per night for the two of us which I believe was a good value

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank baltic22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay the nights of Nov. 1,2 and 3, 2011! I was using a wheel chair and a walker and found the room very well equipped for me. It was large enough for the wheel chair to fit in the door and move around the room. The bathroom was very large and had safety bars and a pull down plastic seat and movable shower head which worked very well for me to use. The glass doors on the shower opened up and the entrance to the shower was flat so that I could easily get in and out.
There was a small elevator that I was able to use to get into the building. (I was told that a new one was being built with the new patio to access the main lobby area which would be more convenient.)
The front desk people were very helpful and polite. The lounge was nice and access to WIFI good. The breakfast room and sleeping rooms were cheery and bright. The food was great! The rooftop patio was beautiful and had a fantastic view of St. Peter's Dome, Castel San Angelo and Maximilliano!!!
We will definitely recommend Domus Carmelitana to any of our friends who visit Rome. It's only 6 blocks from the Vatican!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Señora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This trip, my neice met mom and I at the hotel. Easy trip via shuttle, only about 30-45 mins depending on other hotel stops. We had a 3 bedroom room on 2nd floor, and a sitting area just outside the door. We spent a lot of time in this 'private' area-as no one else was around.
Breakfast was full of choices and if you walked away hungry, it is your own fault. Views from the roof are not to be missed, especially at dusk.
We did reserve tickets about 4 months ahead for the Scavi tour (accessible online for reservations), which was the highlight of the trip. Swiss guards at entrance are up close and personal.
Also, took a city tour this time. Catch bus on street the vatican faces. It was great as mom has trouble with too much walking and wanted to see everything. Tour guide was great, got plenty of time to take pictures and see what was on the tour. Hadn't ever done this on this trip-but I recommend it even on long trips, and return to places you want to spend more time.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights of our pilgrimage and this property is literally a 5-10 minute walk to the Vatican. Its well located for site seeing of ancient Rome and all other kinds. Its right next to Borgo Pio where one can sit in any of the road side cafes and watch the pilgrims/tourists go by; or simply browse in the shops and get a Vatican bargain.

The Food: Breakfast is a whole experience, the variety is geuinely great and one cannot say they were not catered for. even one of us with a medical condition got catered for, whether to their tastes is moot. Dinner was a 4 course affair, and the meals were fabulous. A choice would have been great because again we ate what we were given.

The rooftop terrace is fabulous. one can watch Rome byu day/night up there and not ever want to go home.

The Room: we got a room on the 3rd floor, and one of the problems we faced in our group was the Lift. The lifts kept getting out of sorts and taking people up n down or stopping at tyhe wrong floor. Also they are very slow. The room was okay, but looked like it hadnt got a good dusting for weeks. And didnt get it while we were there despite tyhe cleaners coming in on 2 seperate occasions. the shower was broken and it looked likemnit had been broken before we arrived dur to the mo0uld marks on the wallks and ceiling. That said the Bathroom is anple and has all one needs. Beware of the towels in Italy we got what we would consider table cloths for towels...Take your own.

Staff: staff were quite okay and tied their best, but emglish is an issue for some and communication may be a bit of a problem there.

Would I recommend the property, of course yes, esp if one is on a budget and wants to see as much of Rome/VAtican as they can without having to fork out for taxis everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KyanaLeg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Reception staff very friendly and helpful, welcome expresso, great bonus. Room quiet, cold a/c. Hearty breakfast, beautiful views from rooftop, chapel connected to domus. Rooms comfy and clean. Close to museums, shops and Vatican. Best gelato 1/2 block away! Going back this May and bringing Mom! (has elevator if stairs are an issue). note: reservations for scavi tour needed 3-6 mos ahead of time. ENJOY!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

I won't go back. I went to Rome & The Vatican with my family in the holy week.
If you have come to Rome, you know that, in general, service standards for corresponding fees are far away of other cities and countries in general, but this one, is far below that parameter. I had issues with breakfast and frontdesk personnel regarding silly things but having really bad moments.
The hotel is close to the Vatican and normal-clean standard ...and that's it.
I am sure you can go to better options for the same price range.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Prati
Hotel Arcangelo
Hotel Arcangelo
#539 of 1,270 in Rome
348 reviews
Prati
Hotel Isa
Hotel Isa
#68 of 1,270 in Rome
1,240 reviews
Prati
Hotel Relais dei Papi
Hotel Relais dei Papi
#215 of 1,270 in Rome
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Hotel Diplomatic
Hotel Diplomatic
#212 of 1,270 in Rome
815 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel La Rovere
Hotel La Rovere
#174 of 1,270 in Rome
423 reviews
Prati
Hotel Dei Consoli
Hotel Dei Consoli
#490 of 1,270 in Rome
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Carmelitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Carmelitana

Address: Via Alberico II, 44, 00193 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Prati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#213 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $95 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Carmelitana 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domus Carmelitana is located right behind Castel Sant'Angelo, close to St. Peter's and the Vatican Museums and is well connected to the major attractions of Rome. The magnificent dining room with vaulted ceiling, the frescoed meeting room and mandarin garden parking are just some of the aspects that make us unique! Our highly qualified staff takes the job of meeting the expectations of serenity and comfort of our guests always very seriously. - Very central location - American breakfast, always included - Panoramic terrace with breathtaking 360° views - Internal car/bus parking - Bar and reception open 24/7 - Quiet and secure location in silent side street, with large green areas for sitting and relaxing - Very close to via Cola di Rienzo, one of Rome's main shopping streets - Free Wi-Fi in all inside and outside areas and multilingual satellite TV in every room - Suggestive conference room for meetings, events and receptions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Carmelitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Carmelitana Rome
Domus Carmelitana Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing