We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LIKED IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #594 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I LIKED IT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

Great hotel, good location and above all staff is very helpful. I asked for a room with balcony and it was given to me as promised. Breakfast is limited but everything is fresh. Room sizes are also good. Very good restaurants within walking distance. For Nightlife Piazza di Spagna is only 5 mins away. "Anche Roma mi e' piacuta, quando ritorno sicuramente scegliero HOTEL GARDA"

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HIBS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    122
    81
    31
    16
See reviews for
64
111
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

The hotel is a hidden gem, and I do mean hidden. There is a small sign near teh front door that can be easily missed. Once you go in side you will be pleasantly surprised.

Hotel was very clean, staff very helpful and friendly.

Do not expect to have US standard size rooms, the shower is small but the water is hot. It is worth having a small shower to be within ealking distance of Via Veneto and the Spanish steps.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimboitaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marino
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2009

In first week of august 09 I spent a couple of days in Rome and stayed at the Hotel Garda. I was familiar with this hotel having worked at the US Embassy in Rome, located only a couple of blocks from the hotel. During my time in Rome I booked several friends and visitors at the Garda and most reported having had a good experience.
Now that I experienced the hotel first hand I can honestly report that it provides excellent accommodations at a more than reasonable price, especially considering its location. The hotel is 2 minutes from the Borghese gardens (where one can go jogging), about 5 minutes from Piazza Barberini, 10 minutes to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain, next to the famous Via Veneto of the “Dolce Vita” and relatively close to the main train station, Termini. Although it is centrally located it very quiet and easy to get to sleep. The breakfast is the typical continental type with fresh pastry, good coffee, and friendly service. The manager Filippo could not be nicer.

Restaurants of all price ranges are within walking distance, one right off the exit of the building. I tried La Bruschetta on Via Sardegna and Vladimir's right around the corner.
Also close are the Borghese and many other museums, cultural, and historical sites.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barba-Bianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens - Greece
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

We went to Garda at the end of January and i want to sent a special thanks to a previous traveler that wrote instructions on how to find the hotel. the instructions were very usesful.
Regarding the hotel, its location is very convinient as you can visit most of the sights on foot. I should recommend to any next visitor to ask for a renovated room as not all the rooms are like the ones on the hotel's site. Our room was pretty old but clean.
Moreover, the hotel's personnel is very kind and helpful.
As an overall comment, I would say that garda hotel is a good choice for travelers going to Rome for the 1st time, are planning to stay 2-3 nights and are not looking for romance inside the hotel.
Enjoy your staying in a beautiful city like Rome!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia-Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2009

Overall, would recommend. Family of three with 14 year old boy. Triple room was good size and room was adequately equipped ('fridge, TV etc). Bathroom average, but probably reasonable by European standards . European breakfast, (juice, rolls, pastries, coffee etc) but adequate start to the day unless you want a more substantial cooked breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful and most spoke enough English to converse and understand basic topics. Well located in terms of Spanish Steps and Fontana De Trevi, Piazza Del Popolo, Borghese gardens etc - fairly easy walking distance to all of these attractions; many nice shops and restaurants in close walking distance and near underground stations (Spagna is probably 10 minutes walk, Barbarini 5 minutes). Reasonable supermarket within 5 minutes walk- on the way to Spagna station. Hotel is just off Via Veneto - nice area to stay., but could be annoying if you don't like street noise, although we did not find the noise levels excessive. Drawback, if you can call it that, is that it is a little distance from the Colosseum and Vatican precincts - you can do both on foot from the hotel if you are reasonably fit and mobile but otherwise best to use the train or bus - day passes in Rome are cheap so we found trains the best way to get around if you are not with a tour (the trains and buses operated reasonably efficiently and mostly ran on time )

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Bathroom OK only
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreeScrooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

The hotel is in a great location very close to Piazza del Popolo, the Spanish Steps, Villa Borghese and the Trevi Fountain. Barberini metro station is also very close. It is in a very safe neighborhood. I also walked from Rome Termini Railway station to Hotel Garda.

The room I stayed in was clean and very good size. The breakfast was very basic consist of pastries, cheese and butter but they have a very nice lady preparing coffee for you. If you are looking for a luxurious hotel don’t stay there as it is a basic hotel which provided very good value for money

  • Liked — Location,Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Habilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaizyB
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2008

I recently stayed a few night's at the Hotel Garda and found it more than satisfactory for the price. The rooms are admittedly small and not terribly elegant but they are very clean and comfortable and even the little single room had high ceilings and a big window that opened out with a view of the street. The common areas are neatly furnished and the effect is very modern and pleasant. The staff could not have been nicer. they were available 24 hours and seemed happy to help with any suggestions or problems. The location is absolutely ideal! It is just a few short blocks to some of the best shopping, dining and sightseeing in Rome. The Hotel Garda itself is not particularly romantic but if you are traveling alone or with friends it is safe, clean, well-appointed and ideally situated for a nice stay.

  • Liked — Location, staff.
  • Disliked — Small shower, little water presssure.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaizyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Eliseo Hotel
Eliseo Hotel
#607 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#740 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#487 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
King Hotel
King Hotel
#746 of 1,290 in Rome
3.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza Borghese
Residenza Borghese
#707 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Caprice
Hotel Caprice
#448 of 1,290 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Property: Hotel Garda
Address: Via Lombardia 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #594 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garda is situated around the corner of Via Veneto and five minutes away from Piazza di Spagna in the city's most exclusive district. Our hotel is rated with 3 stars, it is situated in an elegant building dating back to the late 1800s, at 30, via Lombardia, close to the famous via Veneto, the "dolce vita" street, within walking distance from Spanish steps and via dei Condotti, and near the green park Villa Borghese. From its excellent location all the main tourist sites, such as the Coliseum, the Vatican and the Roman Forum are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing