We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally out of expections”
Review of Hotel Garda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Garda
Ranked #562 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
milan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“totally out of expections”
Reviewed May 6, 2011

Web site description and pictures don't tell it is situated at 4th floor of very old residential building. To access you have to ring the street bell at the building gate and across the backyard to reach the lift, in common with the rest of other residents. The hotel itself is very small no more than a bed and breakfast without services, wifi etc,
unbelievable how they got the three stars.
rooms are very small even if new, walls are so thin that It's like the hosts were sleeping all together.
I'm really disappointed as I paid a very high rate, 170euros which is too much for this kind of accommodation. And worst, I realized that only once arrived.

Room Tip: book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avisintini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    129
    84
    34
    16
See reviews for
67
118
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

As soon as we walked in at nine in the morning, the gentleman behind the desk stowed our bags and gave us many helpful directions via a map. When we returned that afternoon, our bags were in our room. The morning coffee was excellent-way better than cafes. The location was perfect-not far from Spanish steps, metro, and points down town. Front desk helpful. TIP: I heard on here that it was hard to find. I went on google maps on looked at the street view. It was helpful when getting dropped off by the taxi from the airport.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdebona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Here is what we loved:
- Location - especially if you have business at the US Consulate
- Flexibility and friendliness of staff
- Cleanliness
- Free Breakfast (excellent coffee!!)
- Comfortable bed
- Parking Garage only a block away
- Not far from Metro, best way to travel in Rome
- Great price
Why pay for four stars when you get more with a three star hotel?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I'm not normally one to write reviews but my experience with this hotel was horrible I had to write and warn people. I stayed here 2 nights was supposed to stay for a week. On the second night as I came back the night clerk followed me back to my room and asked for a kiss after I passed the front desk. Since this was a small hotel he was the only one on duty at the time, when the next staff member came on duty I told him what had happened and he didn't believe me and asked why the other guy would do this. I checked out and asked for a refund (since I had pre-paid via Orbitz). He refused to give me a refund since "the hotel had already been paid". Eventually after 5 hours on the phone with Orbitz and the hotel hanging up on Orbitz several times they were able to process the refund.

I really hope they fired this guy

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRose427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Paper thin walls and wireless internet you can only buy for three hours at a time,
other than that, a pretty decent place in a nice area of town.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lochii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2010

HOtel Garda looks good from the outside, once you find it. Unfortanately they dont have a big enough sign.(small gold plated plaque approx size of dinner plate, just square) Even our airport transfer guy had trouble finding it too. Once we found it and walked through the massive wooden doors, there was a long passage way. There was no signage so we got a little confused as where to go. But a fellow traveller advised us to take the elevator up to the fourth floor where we were greated by Claudio. This hotel is in a good location - 7 minutes to Spanish Steps, 11 minutes to Trevi Fountain. 5 minutes to train station 15 minutes to the Pantheon. But right next door to the Villa Borgehese.
Our room was small, but I expected that in Europe. Bed comfortable.The bathroom was simple but clean and had everything we needed, except maybe a shower curtain. The floor got quite slippery, if we did'nt sit down to shower.
Service from this hotel was fantastic right from the very moment I first emailed them, Filipo was nothing but helpful and answered my million & one questions. He arranged my day tours, gave me excellent directions when I wanted to walk to sights. Great tips on local restuarants and even provided an early breakfast for us when we headed off at 6.00am for a day tour to Naples. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Filipo. My recomendation for this hotel would be to give the rooms some brighter decor and lick of new paint and add a much bigger sign outside. Other than that our stay here was quite good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelblue40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

In terms of location, Hotel Garda is relatively good, 10 - 15 minute walk to most central locations. Good variety of restaurants close by.

The lobby area and breakfast room is modern however the rooms are extremely small. dingy and old. The bathrooms are ridiculously small and in reality this hotel should be rated at a 2 star rather than 3 star. The single rooms are small and claustrophobic and dark.

The breakfast is basic - pastries and bread however you are able to drink freshly made espresso.

The staff are very friendly and provide a map on arrival and outline the sights worth seeing and highlight best routes etc.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Measy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Cinquantatre
Hotel Cinquantatre
#454 of 1,263 in Rome
401 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Embassy Hotel
Embassy Hotel
#835 of 1,263 in Rome
418 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Eliseo
Hotel Eliseo
#675 of 1,263 in Rome
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonna
Hotel King, Rome
Hotel King, Rome
#700 of 1,263 in Rome
616 reviews
Monti
Hotel Edera
Hotel Edera
#780 of 1,263 in Rome
396 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ranieri
Hotel Ranieri
#252 of 1,263 in Rome
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garda

Property: Hotel Garda
Address: Via Lombardia 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garda 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garda is situated around the corner of Via Veneto and five minutes away from Piazza di Spagna in the city's most exclusive district. Our hotel is rated with 3 stars, it is situated in an elegant building dating back to the late 1800s, at 30, via Lombardia, close to the famous via Veneto, the "dolce vita" street, within walking distance from Spanish steps and via dei Condotti, and near the green park Villa Borghese. From its excellent location all the main tourist sites, such as the Coliseum, the Vatican and the Roman Forum are easily reached. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Garda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garda Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing