We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Emmaus(Rome)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Residenza Paolo VI(Rome)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Gran Melia Rome(Rome)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vatican View(Rome)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveler rating
544
16
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
544
16
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrosa marieb bsun apartmentpeter's squareyogurtevery morningclose to the vaticanthe bus systemtrip to romebus stopprivate bathlocation was perfectsmall elevatora stones throwtaxi standensuite bathroomfive nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 563 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Al Colonnata is a great choice for a B&B in Rome. Four of us stayed in one of the apartments and it worked out wonderfully. The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchen, a nice size bath, and a small balcony. The kitchen was well-stocked with lots of choices for breakfast available with hot coffee or tea, which gave us a good start each day. The location is excellent for visits to St Peters and the bus connections to the rest of Rome are convenient (bus stop half a block away). The buses are easy to use and making connections with metro stations and other bus lines was not a problem.

As others have said, Rosa Maria makes the this B&B a stand-out! She really wants you to enjoy Rome and have the best visit possible and does everything she can to help make that so. She helped with suggestions about restaurants, transportation, places to visit, etc. Our luggage didn’t show up at the airport and she spent two days working with the airlines to track it down and get it delivered. We can’t say enough great things about her—she provides customer service beyond what anyone would expect.

We’ll definitely be back. Rome is so wonderful—how can one stay away for too long?

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank pdxtraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Rome, as well as our breakfast and services.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Best regards,
Rosa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I can not believe how good Al Colonnato di san Pietro B&B is. There were four of us, we stopped in the moon apartment and the other couple in the b&b.We were met by Rose Maria.Nothing was to much trouble. Both places were ample size and very clean. In the Moon apartment we had a well stocked fridge with milk, water, yo guts, bread ect. In the B&B you got breakfast brought to you by Meldy again nothing was to much trouble and there is plenty to eat. Don,t worry if you are new to Rome Rose Maria will advise you where to go and she gave us a mobile in case we needed her at any time. There are Restaurants all around the apartments.We enjoyed the Victoria, reasonable priced. Rome was fantastic as was the B&B. Thank you Rose Maria and Meldy from four very satisfied customers. Andy, Sandra, Ken and Sue xxx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDYH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in Rome and I do hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Rosa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I travel frequently and this was perhaps one of the best bed and breakfast accommodations that I have ever booked. Rosa Maria offered to arrange a taxi for us from the airport for a discounted price, which I highly recommend for people who are traveling with luggage.

Once we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Rosa Maria, who sat with us for more than an hour to help us plan our trip in Rome. She knows the city very well and had plenty of great advice for us. The room was spacious, clean, well-furnished, and very comfortable. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of food for us to enjoy during our 3 nights there-- cereal, tea, juice, bread, fruit, jam/honey, milk, water, etc. Rosa Maria also provided us with a cell phone to use while we were in Rome. She was easy to reach if we had any questions about the apartment or about traveling in Rome. The location of the b&b was perfect as well-- only a 5 minute walk from St. Peter's Basilica and 1 minute away from the bus stop that takes you into the heart of the city. I would definitely stay here again if I return to Rome!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aramhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guests,
It was such a pleasure to read this wonderful comment on TripAdvisor, thank you very much!
Our position in Rome is perfect, because we are few minutes walk from St. Peter's Basilica and the bus takes you anywhere in the city.
I hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards from Rome,
Rosa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband I stayed for five nights in the beginning of our two month holiday. Rosa Maria was extremely helpful and quick to reply to any questions prior to our stay. She organised a driver to pick us up from the airport who was waiting with our names on a sign. He soon had us at the B&B within 40 minutes and Rosa Maria was waiting for us with a lovely warm welcome.
The b&b was very quiet at night away from the noise of the city but close enough to walk to the main attractions and restaurants Only 5 minutes walk to St Peters and 10 minutes to the Vatican. We walked everywhere and I would suggest it is easier if you are able to.
Meldie was Rosa's assistant and each morning brought us a lovely breakfast consisting for a delicious fresh fruit salad and warm pastries, lovely juice, yoghurt and a large selection of biscuits.
Great cappuccino or two plus Meldie also speaks great English which was very helpful each day.
Rosa and her both gave un unlimited suggestions on what to do each day. This is why we chose to stay at a B&B rather than a cold hotel. Rosa also gave us info on where to pre pay for tickets
to the Colosseum on line prior to our arrival. This save us queuing which was fantastic, Our room was a large room and had a private bathroom across from our bedroom, and they provided us with lovely bath robes. Excellent wifi which helped keep us in touch with home.
This was not a problem as we hardly ever saw any guests the entire stay. We felt a little sad to leave and their warmth and hospitality is yet to be met by anywhere else in Italy so far. The cleanliness of the b&b was amazing and each day we would return to a lovely made room. We will be back in a couple of years. Thank you both.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our B&B during your recent stay in Rome and for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor travellers.
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed our room, our prime location and our services.
I truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Rome.
Best regards,
Rosa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just got back from a very pleasant seven night stay (18-25 May 2013) at Al Colonnato di San Pietro B&B.

This B&B is truly a gem and we are so glad that we chose to stay here. BEST LOCATION in Rome… only 2-3 minutes walk to St Peter’s Square! How near? From the front of the B&B building, walk towards the intersection, cross at the pedestrian crossing, go down the underpass, walk to the other end, and, voila, you’re at the colonnade.

With bus stops, a tabacchi shop (for buying bus tickets), restaurants, gelateria and souvenir shops nearby, also a Carrefour grocery store only 550 meters away, everything is close at hand. We walked to St Peter’s Square, to the Vatican Museums, to Castel Sant’Angelo and even to Gianicolo. We rode Bus 571 to the Colosseo, Bus 916 to Piazza del Campidoglio and even the notorious Bus 64 to Roma Termini.

We stayed in the GREEN room with the ensuite. As there were three of us, we were provided two beds: one Queen and one Single. We found the pillows on the beds quite firm, noticed the softer ones inside the cabinet, so we swapped them :). The bathroom was modern and very clean, the towels always freshly laundered and folded. It was always a delight to come “home” to the comfort of the B&B after a tiring day of sightseeing, with the beds all made up, and everything cleaned and tidied up. Meldy’s housekeeping is superb! And did I mention there is free wi-fi?

Our host, Rosa Maria, is very efficient, welcoming and knowledgeable. She always made sure that everything was to our liking. She is a veritable fountain of information on practically anything your tourist mind can think of.

I emailed Rosa several times prior to our trip and she responded promptly each time. I told her of our plan to make a day trip from Rome to Florence and she recommended that I buy the Trenitalia tickets online while still in Canada and even gave me the link as well as the Italian names of the train stations [Roma Termini for Rome, Firenze S.M. Novella for Florence] to make it easier for me. Likewise, from our email exchanges, I found out there is a plug adapter at the B&B that can be used for our laptop and camera charger so we need not bring a travel adapter.

From FCO, I originally wanted to ride the trains, get off at San Pietro station then walk to the B&B but later decided to accept Rosa’s offer for taxi pick up service at the airport, fixed price 45 euro. The driver was waiting for us at the “meeting point” (big burnt-orange colored column at FCO) holding a poster with our surname on it. After getting little sleep on the plane (8hr direct flight), I realized it was a good decision to arrange for pick up service.

Rosa welcomed us outside the B&B building and immediately began orienting us with the surrounding area, pointing out the tabacchi shop, the bus stops, the pedestrian underpass... helping us with our luggage… familiarizing us with the keys and showing us how to unlock/lock doors [B&B door lock has a specific turn count]… Inside we were offered drinks and given maps and more instructions and asked about breakfast preferences (from their menu) as well as preferred time.

Her assistant, Meldy, is very friendly, accommodating and always cheerful. Our 10-year old is very outgoing and he would invade her kitchen whenever Meldy was there to bombard her with questions and stories and requests and she was very patient with him :).

Breakfast was huge: hot capucchino/chocolate, warm croissants/buns, cold fruit juice, fresh cut fruits, yogurts, mini cakes, biscotti, wafers, jams, soft cheese, butter… yum! We were not able to finish everything each time so we would put the fruits and yogurts in the fridge for later. Earlier in our stay we had breakfast served before or around 8AM, but later on we arranged for a later time. That way we were able to go out very early, around 6:30AM, to beat the crowds at the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and Piazza Navona, and just came back to eat breakfast afterwards.

Overall, we had an awesome stay at Al Colonnato di San Pietro B&B and, given the chance to come back to Rome, we will definitely want to stay here again. This was our first time staying at a B&B and this will set the standard by which we will rate the others. Thanks for making us feel at home, Rosa and Meldy!

Room Tip: Green room with ensuite is the biggest room and can accommodate 2-3 people.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you for staying at Al Colonnato di San Pietro and for sparing your valuable time to post your review of us on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our position, rooms and breakfast.
I hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future.
All the best,
Rosa Maria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews