We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3,604 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Upon arrival around 8.30pm (an hour late due to waiting for baggage!) Rosa Maria greeted us with the warmest welcome anyone could wish for. We had booked a driver to pick us up & drop us off at the airport which we would highly recommend.
She showed us to our room, brought us a drink and proceeded to tell us about the property, where is good to go for dinner (we wanted somewhere close by since we were quite late & tired from travelling for most of the day), told us about transport in the city, asked us our breakfast preferences and suggested some activites during our stay. The fact that she wasn't bothered that we were late or was rushing to get home made us feel truly welcomed, something you almost never get in a regular hotel or most B&B's we've stayed in.
The breakfast, brought to us by Rosa Maria's assistant, was beautiful, we didn't have particularly high expectations, but it certainly got our days off to a wonderful start and kept us going! The selection was excellent and varied slightly daily. She always had a smile and greeted us like long lost friends! Rosa was there on our first morning & advised us on where to go (with the help of our massive map!) and where wasn't a particular tourist spot.
We could not fault our stay in any way. Our room was spotless, had just the right amount of storage, a reasonable view from the window, extremely comfy bed & perfectly equipped bathroom - they even said that the next time we visit they will provide us with a cot in the same room. Just to highlight how close it is to The Vatican & St. Peters Square, the day we left we had walked through the square, had a look around the castle & back to collect our belongings, when we left with Rosa Maria to meet our driver, we could not only see, but hear the Pope from his window!
We will most definitely be back in the future & have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty81cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for leaving your review of Al Colonnato di San Pietro. It was great to meet you on your recent visit and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are constantly striving to provide a quality B&B and I am happy that you appreciated our breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.
Kindest regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
88
314
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Five of us spent 5 nights here in January - we were therefore the sole occupants of the B&B. Rosa Maria had prior to our arrival emailed the various options regarding getting from the airport to the B&B and we decided to use Rosa Maria's driver. Our luggage took an unusually long time to arrive at Fiumicino and we were a bit concerned that the driver might not be there, but our fears were groundless - he was still waiting and before we knew it, we were at the B&B. We can definitely recommend using this form of transport, much easier with luggage than trains or buses and when we left Rome, we again used the same driver who arrived at the B&B extremely punctually.

Rosa Maria met us on arrival (at lunchtime on a Sunday) and made us all tea and drinks, while giving us recommendations for restaurants and places to visit, as well as bus information. She also arranged a booking for the Villa Borghese. We were asked what time we would like breakfast and also what we would like for breakfast. At 8am the next morning, Meldi was at our door with the most delicious and plentiful breakfast - fruit juice, tea, coffee, yoghurt, beautiful fresh fruitsalad, croissants, warm bread rolls, jams, cheese, biscuits etc.

Meldi was also a great source of information with a delightful sunny personality - she was a breath of fresh air each morning. On our last morning we had an earlier breakfast due to our flight leaving early and that was not a problem for Meldi. She also left us a flask with hot water, some tea bags and biscuits so that we could have a cup of tea when we returned to the B&B after sightseeing each day.

The location was ideal, in 5 minutes we were in St Peter's Square after walking under the overpass. There are 2 bus stops very close to the B&B and we caught buses to the Borghese Gardens, the Colosseum and also on occasions to the other side of the river. Rosa Maria recommended buying the Rome Pass (from just around the corner) and this proved a good move as it covers the cost of the first 2 museums (she suggested we use it for the Colosseum, which includes the Forum, and the Villa Borghese) you visit, saves standing in lines to buy tickets and also gives you 3 days travel on buses.

When we returned to the B&B on day two, we found 2 bottles of sparkling wine in our fridge along with 5 glasses, which was a lovely touch.

The rooms were very comfortable and quiet. Meldi changed the sheets and towels every 2 days and kept everything spotlessly clean. The 2 restaurants Rosa Maria recommended just around the corner were both very good - good food, quick service and very convenient. Another plus was the laundromat (also around the corner) where we could hand in our washing and pick it up at the end of the day - great to have, especially at the end of a month's travelling.

We would definitely recommend this B&B wholeheartedly and would stay here on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SociableWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Deat Guests,
Many thanks for your kind review on Trip Advisor.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your visit and I am also happy that you found our staff attentive.
Your positive comments are particularly encouraging as we work so hard to ensure a perfect stay for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back one day.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our 2nd visit to this outstanding b&b. Service is the best from rosa and meldi. I mean what other hotel or b&b gives you champagne for your birthday and chocolates when you leave. Well i can truly say you will not have a better stay anywhere else in rome. Rosa extends the warmest of welcomes with all the advise you will need for your stay and the location is so close to the vatican city and basilica that you get extra time in bed as you dont need to travel. We cant thank them enough for making our stay a comfortable and memorable trip. We will be back again many thanks

Room Tip: The green room very quite with en suite just lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m270869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for the flattering comments.
It is really a pleasure for me to know that guests are happy and satisfied. When a guest has his/her birthday, the least I can do is to celebrate with them offering a good bottle of bubbles.
Hope to see you for the third time.
Thanks again,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I spent four days at Al Colonnato di San Pietro B & B and we both would highly recommended it.

Our plane arrived an hour late and Rosa Maria's driver was waiting just as she had arranged for us in advance (do use this service it is especiailly appreciated it after a long flight). Rosa Maria was awaiting us when we arrived at the B & B. She welcomed us and got us quickly oriented and settled in our room. She then proceeded to get us a cappucino and then provided us with a map and suggestions for touring Roma.

Rosa Maria is enthusiastic,full of energy and hospitality and absolutely brimming with info on how to best enjoy Roma. Our visit was during the New Year holiday and with her advice we were able to get into the sites and museums without enduring the long lineups. Her suggestions on restaurants, including a fantastic New Years Eve dinner, were excellent as well. Rosa Maria and her housekeeper, Maldi, even put a bottle of champagne and a cake in our room as a special touch for New Years!

Oh yes, Maldi. No review of this B & B would be complete without a comment on this wonderful gem of a lady! Her attention to detail in the room, the beautiful and scrumptous breakfast she brought to our room each morning along with her bright personality and smile really added to our enjoyment each day!

Overall, the rooms are well equipped and exceptionally clean. They reminded me of staying with my aunt when I have visited her in another part of Europe. Allora, the only regret I would have was that we only stayed such a short time at this wonderful spot!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pleasureseeker2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for your recent visit and this review, especially mentioning our committed staff.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your visit.
Your positive comments are particularly encouraging as we work so hard to ensure a perfect stay for all guests.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The prior glowing reviews are spot-on in my opinion. Service here is outstanding, the rooms are comfortable and immaculate, and it's also quite a reasonable deal financially. I would absolutely recommend and stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thanks for your very kind comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to see you again.
Regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here a while ago now, but I have only just had the opportunity to write this. We stayed at the apartment available. It was very close to the Vatican, a short walk, and there is a nice little restaurant a couple of minutes walk. The apartment was bigger than a standard hotel room, nice bathroom, small table to eat at. TV to watch (albeit small) and a little kitchenette...
I would definately recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompey103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay.
I am pleased to read that you liked our apartment, facilities and environment.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at the 'Al Colonnato di San Pietro' at the end of November 2011, having booked based on the sterling reviews it received on this very site.

I will try to be objective as it is obvious to anyone merely glancing at this page that it is a truly excellent B&B.

To start with; the location is superb - exactly what you need for a city break. It is literally a 5 minute stroll from the majesty of St. Peter's Square and the Vatican - while the centre of Rome is well within walking distance. Just to confirm - we walked everywhere; the only time we used transport during our 4 day stay was the taxi rides (handily arranged by Rosa Maria (40 euros each way), which I would highly recommend) to and from the airport. This is truly the best way to see Rome and I would emphasise this to anyone planning a visit.

Right then, to the rooms themselves. They are basic - but incredibly clean and well presented. You are literally staying in a 3 bedroom Italian apartment - it's beyond authentic. The bathroom is well equipped and surprisingly large, with a decent shower.

However, people don't stay at this B&B just for the rooms - it is for the fantastic service you receive. The owner - Rosa Maria - was there waiting when our taxi arrived at the building, offered us drinks and helped us organise a rough itinerary whilst providing us with some useful local tips. Nothing seems too much trouble - we forgot an adapter for the plugs and one arrived with our breakfast the next morning...

That leads us on nicely to the breakfast, which is superb. It is brought to the bedroom at a time you designate by the housekeeper Maldi, who never seems to stop smiling. It is continental, but of wonderful variety - fruit salad/croissants/pastries/toast/biscuits/cakes, as well as tea/coffee served to your liking. There is a little fold out table in the room, so you can eat at that - we are pigs and as such the bed was our preferred option.

I really can't speak highly enough of the place, as a B&B it ticks every box and goes above and beyond with a personal touch that larger establishments could never offer.

If I am to make one slight criticism it's that we found Rosa's advice to be slightly geared to an American audience - get buses everywhere/museums, museums, MUSEUMS. Or maybe I'm just an uncultured oik.

On a side note, I personally feel Rome's real beauty is in it's streets, architecture and atmosphere. My favourite place in the whole city was perhaps the Borghese Gardens which are situated above the Spanish steps. They offer a tranquil break from the madness happening below. Other tips would be to scale Gianicolo hill, which is by far the best panoramic view of Rome - and the sight of the Colosseum from Palatine Hill is stunning.

I loved our stay in Roma, and our choice of accommodation helped us get the most from it - consider yourselves informed.

Room Tip: Despite me rating the swimming pool 'excellent' - it may comes as a surprise that there isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cragamuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonnato, Proprietario at Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your review.
I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience during your stay at Al Colonnato di San Pietro, and that you enjoyed our breakfast and location.
Your comments are very important to us, as we work so hard to improve our services and to ensure a perfect stay for all our guests.
All the best,
Rosa Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,285 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 622 reviews
Esquilino
Artemide Hotel
Artemide Hotel
#7 of 1,285 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 5,721 reviews
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#3 of 3,604 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Rome Armony Suites
Rome Armony Suites
#7 of 3,604 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,604 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Monti
Domus Alberti
Domus Alberti
#9 of 3,604 in Rome
5.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast

Property: Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast
Address: Viale delle Mura Aurelie 19, 00165 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3,604 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B is located 100 metres away from Saint Peter's Cathedral.The flat which has been recently refurbished was designed by an excellent architect. The windows equipped with air gap glassess, the solid wooden furniture, the beds equipped with wired bed frames and orthopaedic mattresses, the anallergic fabrics, the safe, the minibar and the foldway tables, they make the really comforting B&B. Our rooms are no-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Al Colonnato di San Pietro Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Colonnato Di San Pietro Hotel Rome
Al Colonnato Di San Pietro b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing