We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay at Gea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Ranked #336 of 1,263 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Lorenskog Municipality, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our second stay at Gea”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and we enjoied it as much as last time. The location(on Via Nationale) is very good - you can walk to nearly every attraction in the city. it is a ten minutes walk to Forum and the same to the Trevi fountain. The staff is very friendly and the room was nice.There were some noise from the street in the morning and the breakfast could have been more varied but all in all we are very satisfied.

Room Tip: last time we had a big room with our own entrance to the side street(via Napoli) and our own key- it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    176
    38
    3
    4
See reviews for
122
145
35
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Macerata, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This is a great little hotel on the first floor of an Italian 'palazzo', just ten minutes' walk from Termini station (very convenient for getting to and from airports) and very close to the Piazza della Repubblica (very convenient for buses, Metro and McDonald's if you really must eat McDonald's while in Rome).

I havstayed previously by myself, but stayed this time with some American friends (who did want to eat McDonald's) and we shared a family room (slept four) which was large and spacious, with its own exit onto the side street - very handy when getting a taxi back to the airport as we could load all the cases without causing traffic problems). We had a key to the external door so getting back late at night was no problem.

The hotel is spotlessly clean, internet access is fast and free (rare in Rome), the breakfast is full with a good choice of pastries, fruit, cereals and juices, and the staff are lovely - extremely helpful, very efficient and really wanting to make sure you have a good stay at the hotel.

It's about a twenty minute walk from here into the city centre (to the Trevi Fountain, for example). The Metro is good for getting across to St Peter's which would otherwise be quite a hike - and despite all the hype the Metro is not dangerous as long as you're sensible. The 'hop on, hop off' buses run from Termini so again, very convenient.

Drawbacks? If you have a lot of bags getting them up the stairs might be a problem - ring the buzzer at the front door and ask the hotel receptiomnist to meet you with the key to the lift (elevator) - makes life much easier. The hotel is situated on the Via Nazionale which is an extremely busy road, so be prepared for some noise in your room. But you'll be so tired from walking round Rome, you probably won't even notice. :)

Room Tip: If you want a family room you won't have a choice, but if you want a single or double ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Cath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Amazing Hotel. This is a great location right near the train station. The staff was amazing. The room was better than advertised. The room was spacious and the breakfast was perfect. We missed the breakfast a few times because of early reservations but if you are able I would take your time to enjoy the morning meal. The price was right, the location was excellent and the service was great. Bed was comfortable. My only dislike was the noise level but that did not bother me as I am from New York and am used to the type of noise outside of our room. The noise is not something the hotel can really control, but its a nice experience.

Room Tip: Closest to the breakfast bar, had nice size rooms. Huge bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Great location near the Termini train station, totally walkable even with baggage. A map is a must if you're walking as it took us a while to get our bearings. Use the street address, it's not hard to find once you're on Nazionale.

Staff was friendly and helpful. He made phone calls to help us get restaurant reservations (which were necessary!), which we could not have made ourselves.

The room was small and the bathroom (particularly the shower) was too, but that was fine for us. Bigger people might have had a problem. Otherwise it was very clean! We've had other hotel experiences in Italy that were disappointing by American standards in terms of value but that was not the case here.

The breakfast was nice and did not leave us wanting anything. The hotel is on the second floor of a building that is inset from the street, and it used to be a school building. An elevator exists but it is small, slow, and I think you need a key from the hotel. If you have heavy/lots of bags, definitely go ask before you lug 'em up the stairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 26kick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in October. Even though the hotel is centrally located (Via Nazionale) our room was quiet. Room was spacious and very clean; good size bathroom with shower, plenty of towels provided (we are traveling a lot in Europe, and usually bathrooms are rather small)
The staff is helpful and very friendly.
Good breakfast with various baking goods, yogurts and coffee prepared per your order.
We’d definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: When making reservation request the quiet room; that’s what we did and we got one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbtravel_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Gea after a somewhat last minute vacation trip to Rome, and I needed a hotel close to the city AND Stazione Terminal. I like to stay close to the train station so I can walk to the hotel after I arrive and leave to my next location (Firenze). Hotel Gea was easy to find, walking distance and from Stazione Terminal. The hotel is centrally located at Via Nazionalle in Rome, minutes from Repubblica metro station (metro suggested for traveling to Vatican city) and walking distace from the Walk About bus tour departure location. The staff is friendly and helpfull. This is not a luxury hotel, but very accomodating for someone that has travel overseas before and is not looking to sleep all day in the hotel. The room had its own bathroom (shower, toilet) a large comfortable bed, wardrobe to store clothes and a breakfast area. It was a bit troubleshome to have to ring to get the door "buzzed" open late at night, but it's understood it is for security reasons. Everything was well and I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Close to train station and walking distance to "main" Rome attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose2451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in September. Close to the Termini train station, this hotel is located on Via Nazionale, from which it is very easy to walk to all the main attractions. However, our room # 30 was facing a very noisy side street. We think that the rooms in the other corridor might be quieter. The service was excellent & the room was extremely clean. The breakfast was very good & they even gave us a packed breakfast since we had to check out at 5:00am . Ginette & Michel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinetteandMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Floris Hotel
Floris Hotel
#234 of 1,263 in Rome
297 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Miami
Hotel Miami
#209 of 1,263 in Rome
953 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#110 of 1,263 in Rome
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#139 of 1,263 in Rome
838 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#69 of 1,263 in Rome
719 reviews
Esquilino
Lirico Hotel
Lirico Hotel
#207 of 1,263 in Rome
1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gea di Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gea di Vulcano

Property: Hotel Gea di Vulcano
Address: Via Nazionale 243, 184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#135 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#182 Family Hotel in Rome
#220 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gea di Vulcano 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gea di Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gea Di Vulcano Rome
Gea Di Vulcano Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing