We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and cosy, but some staff issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Ranked #227 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Portofino, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Comfortable and cosy, but some staff issues.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Experienced hoteliers will tell you that much of the hospitality business is psychology, rather than physical surroundings. This message seems to have been lost on the disinterested afternoon receptionist at Residenza Canali. Dishevelled, glugging water from a plastic bottle in front of me, no offer to assist with bags and coat up steep flights of stairs (I easily managed but the offer would have been nice), an immediate unsmiling demand to see passports and documents as though one had arrived at a banana republic immigration desk, a struggle to find one's name on the booking list and inability to fix a non-working TV which remained thus throughout.
The room, booked as a single, had a double bed and was clean and fairly comfortable and well insulated from street noise below. No drawers at all for clothes and the smallest of hanging cupboards which would aocommodate one jacket and 2 shirts maximum. A room safe, which is always useful. No toilet paper visible in the bathroom, but later discovered perched, in its industrial wrapping, on the top of a vertical radiator. Continental breakfast is taken in a pleasant room with an abundance of everything one might need. The coffee from the big urn was the usual commercial muddy sludge but they also offer an espresso etc if you require the "real thing". The location is great, in a quiet alleyway off the famous Via Coronari street of antique shops, and adjacent to Piazza Navona.
The receptionist/manager the following day was the paradigm of efficiency and charm and professionalism, so it shows how the initial impression on arrival can colour one's view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaPietra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    155
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
92
235
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My second stay in this hotel after a couple of years.

For me it had lost a little bit of it's lustre from the first trip but this is largely due to the room I was in not being quite as good as the first.

There are three main positives to this hotel:
- The location is excellent, it is in a quiet cobbled street in Rome, but still close to many of the major attractions. It is great strolling through Piazza Navona every time you head out from the hotel.
- The staff are very helpful, particularly Stefano, with booking taxis, restaurants etc
- It's great value for money for this part of Rome.

The room itself for me was average but was probably about right for this price-point. Breakfast was solid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espresso74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This review is way overdue but I wanted to share our experience with this hotel. We spent six perfect nights in May at the Residenza Canali. We had a room on the top floor with a huge balcony. It was like our little private oasis when we needed a retreat from the business of the day. The breakfasts were fresh and plentiful, professional service from my first email inquiry all the way through check out, more than adequate rooms and amenities and a location that couldn't be beat. Several nights we ate dinner at the restaurant right around the corner. As others mention, please note there are no elevators, so take this into consideration when making your plans. We never found this to be a problem.

Room Tip: If you can, splurge for a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveSlow99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdare
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the junior suite with terrace. It is a big room for Rome and the terrace is great. There are loungers and chairs on the terrace but they could do with cushions.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was cleaned to a good standard each day.

Breakfast was sufficient but I would have preffered a selection of cold meats rather than just ham.

The location of the hotel is great and within walking distance of all the main sights.

Only one issue to mention is that the hotel does not have a lift. It is quite a climb to the 4th floor, especially after a day's sightseeing. This wasn't really a problem for us but it could be for less abled guests.

I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Although a bit hard to find wandering around late at night with small alleys, this place was a great place to stay. Clean and spacious room, excellent Italian breakfast and helpful and friendly hosts. Location definitely a plus. Would stay again for sure.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drew_G_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Loved our spacious room, which accommodated me and 2 children (ages 10 and 14); very clean and comfortable. Central location, very close to the fun Piazza Navona, where you will find shops, restaurants, and artwork for sale. Nice continental breakfast included every morning, with staff to make lattes or cappuccinos. The front desk personnel were very helpful in arranging taxis and side trips for us (we went to Pompeii and Positano). There is no elevator, so be prepared for stairs - you will get used to them in a day's time, but the first time left me winded! Wifi connection was great. Really pleased with this hotel!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 34, if I recall correctly; double bed in one room, with a single bed in a separate sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdelguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharnford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is the ideal place to stay to see Rome. All the main sites are within walking distance and the accommodation is located in a quiet side street, with antique shops and restaurants near by. The Piazza Navona is a couple of minutes away. We stayed on the second floor in a very good sized double room. The bed was comfortable and the room clean and spacious. There was no view from the room but we were not in Rome to sit in a room looking out of a window. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. As others have mentioned there is no lift. The Residenza is not so much a hotel as a bed and breakfast establishment. Will certainly return to Rome and the Residenza Canali.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRGSharnford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#231 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Imperium Suite Navona
Imperium Suite Navona
#607 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Genio Hotel
Genio Hotel
#493 of 1,257 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Orso
Relais Orso
#445 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Canali ai Coronari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Canali ai Coronari

Property: Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Address: Via Dei Tre Archi 13, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#126 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#128 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#200 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Canali ai Coronari 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residenza Canali ai Coronari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Hotel Rome
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing