We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Choice in an Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Ranked #207 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Choice in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed at the Residenza Canali in early May after reading the impressive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were given a double room on the third (of four) floor. There is not a lift, so you must walk up a flight of stairs to get to the lobby, then more stairs to get to your room. This was not a problem for us, but it is something to consider for guests with mobility issues. We were very happy with the room, which was clean and full of character. The bathroom looked recently renovated, and while the shower was small for me, it was still sufficient. There is a computer in the lobby for guests, which I always look for when considering a hotel. Paolo, the owner, is a gracious host. He (or others who might be at the front desk) has many suggestions for dining or sightseeing, as well as transport to the airport. I was happy to be able to charge the car service to my room bill, as I would have had to take out more Euros otherwise. I am not a big breakfast person, so I found the offerings sufficient. The basics of cereal, rolls, ham, cheese, and yogurt were more than fine with me. The hotel is in my favorite area of Rome, the historic center, and is a very short walk to the Piazza Navona or the Pantheon, among other amazing sites. In closing, I was very happy with our choice of the Hotel Residenza Canali and would absolutely consider a return visit should we return to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    156
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
93
238
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We selected the Canali based on the reviews we read here and elsewhere. The location is certainly excellent, but from there things kind of go downhill. First, they must have brought in an entirely new staff, because these folks -- with the sole exception of the fellow who checked us in (we never saw him again) -- were rather dour, not very eager to help, seemingly preoccupied, and not very helpful. We didn't ask for much, but it always felt as though we were imposing on them. They never seemed to smile or make you feel welcome. They mishandled a restaurant reservation by reserving for the wrong day, and never apologized or offered to rectify it in some way. Perhaps if they payed a little more attention to the guests... They did provide us with two good local restaurant recommendations (one is just around the corner). We spent 20 minutes at breakfast one morning listening to one of the staff loudly pontificating in Italian outside the breakfast room about God knows what without ever offering us a cappuccino. The breakfast was meh; the coffee was not good, and the cappucinos were disappointingly weak (they never offered a second cappuccino, either). The woman who seemed to be mostly in charge of the breakfast room looked as though she wanted to be anyplace else but there (that's pleasant). The croissants were more soggy than anything; definitely not good. The rolls are like mini-sandwhich buns from the supermarket. We've had other basic Italian hotel breakfasts that were considerably better. The breakfast room itself is dark and rather dingy. The rooms themselves are "ok"; they're reasonably large and comfortable, but quite plain. Our room also got a lot of noise from motorcycles and other street noise. Normally when I read negative reviews among many positive rating, I wonder whether the reviewer was at fault somehow. I take no pleasure in expressing my disappointment at out experience oat the Canali. This is just an honest description of our experience. Maybe we just got stuck with the Canali's "B" team, but it was a pretty sad performance. Of the dozen or so places we've stayed at in Italy, this was probably the most disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wisc-rcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltuss, Proprietario at Residenza Canali ai Coronari, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Clients ,

from the opening, in 2002, till today Residenza Canali has always deeply honoured its work, in the same way. All over the years we gained high reputation and that customers' liking is clearly showed by almost all reviews on TA. Today, as in the past, the service that we offer to clients come from our strong will to do always the best for each person visiting us.
We don't feel to have to apologize to this client for anything but we are very sorry to have not met his/her expectations.

Kindest regards,
Paolo Reale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a lovely firendly place, right in the middle of all that there is to see in the heart of ancient Rome. You can easily walk to almost everything.

The hotel itself is more like a guest house, with a family atmosphere and limited number of rooms. The staff are funny and helpful.

We were welcomed at the airport by the pick up service, which seemed like a great luxury until we realised that the price was just 2 Euros more than the standard fixed taxi rate (if you can get that!)
The hotel is hard to find initially, with no signage or street frontage, so it is worth getting picked up. The hotel organised a driver to take us back to the airport and it was well worth it.

The honeymoon room was a splurge at the end of our trip and worth it for the lovely L-shaped terrace. The room istelf was clean and large enough, nothing special, but the terrace was fabulous. Do be careful of the windows by the bed that open inwards, we both cut our heads on the corner of that when it was open. You don't notice it!
The mini bar has no alcohol, but the soft drinks were free.

The breakfast was typical italian, fresh and plentiful with barrista made coffee on demand

All in all a great place to spend a few days!

Room Tip: Not many of the rooms in this hotel will have a view, so if that is important to you, get fit and cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_Ischia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here back in August 2011, booking it after studying the reviews and wanting a great location for the Piazza Navona and the Vatican. This was our return to Rome after a week in Umbria, and we wanted a complete contrast to the IQ hotel where we stayed at the start of our holiday. The booking process was easy and the staff were very friendly and also booked us a table at the nearby Osteria del Pegno. The hotel is hidden round the back streets and we thought we had come to the wrong place, but the manager stuck his head out of the window and said yes it is here! We were given one of the suites with extra beds as we are a family. It was a lovely room, and we were made so welsome feeling like part of the family and we so enjoyed staying here. The Piazza Navona is less than a minute walk away so we could keep popping out and visiting all the nearby attractions. The breakfast was very good and they let us return to the hotel after our visit to the vatican and lunch, to wait for our taxi out of the heat. Would definitely recommend it. Hope to make it back there again one day!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamB945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a great location. It truly is so close to everything you need, and the taxi stand is right at the end of the block, which makes everything easy. The staff who work here are so helpful. They arranged a cab for our son to the airport on Easter Sunday, just to make sure he arrived with a driver who spoke English. As well, I emailed them to see if they could perhaps secure a few dinner reservations for us. The email was attended to immediately and the reservations made. Super helpful staff!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chathamgirlIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had planned to stay 3 nights at Residenza Canali, but we messed up our reservation. Despite this, the staff were very helpful to fit us in and also organised us another hotel nearby for one night. We will be more careful next time since we definitely want to stay at Residenza Canali without interruption during our next visit to Rome.
Unlike so many other hotels in Rome, the windows and doors are well isolated, no draughts.
Ask the team for restaurant tips, which we thought were excellent and off the beaten track.
Looking forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our family visited Rome for the first time last April of 2012 and after reading a lot of good reviews about Residenza Canali ai Coronari, we decided to book with them. We called them up and the reservation was a breeze! Was an easy ride to the hotel from the train station and there were a lot of cabs available. When we arrived at the hotel, we were definitely not disappointed! A charming hotel with character! We stayed on the 3rd floor (though we really wanted the room on the 4th floor with a rooftop terrace--unfortunately, it was booked already) and the room was perfect! Wooden floors with a lot of ample space. There were two double beds with a flat screen tv in one area which was near this huge and beautiful windows (though our view was another building which was too close to the hotel and the alley below us), huge closet which was across a dresser table with a small refrigerator beside it , a huge bathroom with a bath tub, hot water, blower, towels, and all those little toiletries. The best part were the wooden beams on the ceiling... Gorgeous! Pros: Best location ever! Very near Piazza Navona literally! Walking distance to a lot of good sites (bring comfortable shoes!) like the Trevi fountain, Spanish steps, pantheon, etc. Great service and very helpful staff who happily helped us or advised us where to find good, authentic, & affordable Italian restaurants. They were also friendly enough to show us some good walking tours which we could do for ourselves. Breakfast was inclusive and they serve some good cappuccino. I love also the fresh breads but my fave would be the cake or desserts. Value for your money. Safe and secured locks on their main doors. Cons: Steep stairs (difficult if you're carrying a lot of luggage). Must try: Zio ciro restaurant but a better and affordable place to dine would be this italian resto just at the corner near zio ciro. Definitely will stay here again! Highly recommended !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franco s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora delle Cinque Lune
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Zanardelli
Residenza Zanardelli
#393 of 1,256 in Rome
211 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Palace Residenze di Charme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro Pace
Hotel Teatro Pace
#259 of 1,256 in Rome
442 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Portoghesi
Hotel Portoghesi
#101 of 1,256 in Rome
481 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Mimosa
Hotel Mimosa
#313 of 1,256 in Rome
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Canali ai Coronari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Canali ai Coronari

Property: Residenza Canali ai Coronari
Address: Via Dei Tre Archi 13, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#128 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#200 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Canali ai Coronari 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Residenza Canali ai Coronari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Hotel Rome
Residenza Canali Ai Coronari Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing