We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible little place.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Covo Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #891 of 3,782 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Upon arriving at the so called B&b we were told by a woman with an extremely indifferent attitiude that the rooms are scattered all over the neighbourhood. OK, fair enough, we thought, "when in Rome"...We were then led for about 4-5 city blocks !!!, over bumpy, often broken cobblestone streets having to carry all of our luggage with no assistance, arriving finally to a non descript door and then having to haul the said luggage 4 FLIGHTS of stairs as elevators "exist in very few bulidings" apparently (not so as we found out after we switched accomodations after 3 nights) The room was one of 3 in a small apartment with paper thin walls and echo of the tiled hallways which made for great sound effects as our party neighbours had a habit of loudly returning at early morning hours. The room had dirty tile floors, dirty walls and the absolutely worse lumpy & hard mattress we have ever slept on (and we travelled extensively through Asia). The said mattress was on top of a rusty cot style spring platform. We were barely able to sleep on an angle, promising ourselves never to trust Italian hotel websites. Please feel free to see the photos we took of our experience. We switched hotels after 3 nights to an amazing little place in the same price range called Hotel Versailles.
The only positives about our nightmare at the Il Covo is the fact that it was very centrally located in the historic district and the breakfast at the little outdoor caffe overlooking a small piazza with an ancient fountain was quite pleasant. We were informed later by someone in the area that this place (Il Covo) is run illegally as the regulations in Rome for BnB stipulate no more than 4 rooms in the same property only. Live and learn. I`m not sure where the other positive reviewers were staying but we would strongly advise you to STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJETSETTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

The best thing about Il Covo is that it's a virtual hotel. The rooms are actually small apartments scattered over the neighbourhood. Ours was a family room, with fridge, microwave, washing machine and bathroom. A large sofabed downstairs and a double bed on the mezzanine upstairs. The location was fantastic, in an apartment complex among the 'locals', within walking distance from the Colosseum. For breakfast the hotel guests converged on a small romantic square, where the local coffee shop served croissants and fabulous italian coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zenwoman35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We spent 4 nights in Il Covo and it was nice how the rooms are designed. The room we stayed in was authentic Rome; an old building with the small entrances and the apartments showing the street below. We loved it. The street it's placed in is so cute and you can find authentic boutiques and cafe's there.

The area is not very touristic although it might seem otherwise.

I would recommend staying in this hotel if you're looking to be in a nice area in old Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachaMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Il Covo Bed and Breakfast was a fantastic option for a young couple staying in Rome. Right near the Coleseum and a short walk to the Trevi, Spanish Steps, Piazza Navona and all the Roman treats you'd expect. The staff are very helpful, ask them for good restaurants and what to see and they will always help. You can get wireless internet at the reception point.

Il Covo works by having a central reception point in one street and then rooms disbursed around the nearby streets so the hotel is not actually all located in one spot. The beauty of this is that you feel like you have your own little apartment in Rome, coming and going as you please.
The local square in the Monti district is where you have breakfast at the little cafe and gives you an opportunity to watch the city come to life. There are fantastic restaurants all around (La Cicala e La Formica (The Ant and the Cicada) restaurant is really good, cheap choice) and lovely shops to pick and chose from. Yes, the city is noisy but get out there and enjoy it! Drink a few vinos, eat a big meal and you'll be asleep before you know it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Friendly staff and a good location. Having said that, just be aware that the actual hotel is on a lovely neighborhood street, but if they run out of rooms, they will place you on this busy street few blocks from the actual hotel, where there is non-stop traffic all-night (that's where we ended up). We had trouble falling asleep in that room our first night in Rome. But like I said, very good location, near the Colosseum.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Helmer_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Toghether with my sister I went to Rome for 5 days.
I want to recomment this hotel for young people who don't expect to much luxe and want to stay sheep in Rome at an excellent location.
Please be aware there is no elevator. We were located at the 3rd floor.
The people of the hotel were very friendly and helpfull.
The breakfast was typically Italian at a lovely location. Do not expect a large buffet, as the Italian only take a coffee with a croisant in the morning.
The bar is also a nice place to take lunch or diner.
The hotel is located nearby the colloseum and the metro station Cavour.
We defenately will return tho this place!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieDelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The location of the B&B is its best attribute. It's within easy walking distance from the Colloseum, the Roman Forum, the Palantine hill, the Circus Maximus and the Capital hill museums. The Cavour Metro station is also around the corner, so you have easy access to attractions further away. The Atac bus 117 passes directly in front of the B&B. The accommodation itself was clean, but basic. Our room was quite dark and dingy. The air conditioner didn't work properly, so it was quite hot at night in June. The pictures on the website also make the rooms look bigger than they actually are. However, the en-suite bathroom was modern and recently renovated, which was a pleasure. Note: There is no elevator. You have to carry your suitcase up three or four flights of stairs! The included Continental breakfast is at a nearby café, which looks out onto a little square with a fountain, where you can sit and watch the Romans going about their day. In summary, I wouldn't choose Il Covo for its amenities and service, but it gets my thumbs-up for its location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Grifo
Hotel Grifo
#104 of 1,271 in Rome
1,169 reviews
Monti
Hotel Centro Cavour
Hotel Centro Cavour
#145 of 1,271 in Rome
318 reviews
Monti
Antica Locanda
Antica Locanda
#532 of 1,271 in Rome
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Tirreno Hotel
Tirreno Hotel
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
599 reviews
Prati
Atlante Garden Hotel
Atlante Garden Hotel
#427 of 1,271 in Rome
1,022 reviews
Esquilino
Kennedy Hotel
Kennedy Hotel
#821 of 1,271 in Rome
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Covo Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Covo Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via del Boschetto 91, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #891 of 3,782 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Covo Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Il Covo Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Covo Bed And Breakfast
Il Covo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing