We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price but rooms need a revamp!”
Review of Palacavicchi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palacavicchi Hotel
Ranked #1,070 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a good location for short drive to/from Ciampino airport. Shuttle bus is provided at a cost of 2.50 per adult. Staff were courteous, efficient and spoke good english. The room has all the facilities but is very dated and could do with being refurbished...70's decor! Even though the room was non smoking there was a stale smell in it. The bedding was clean although the bed covers could do with being up-dated. Great power in the shower, but like the rest of the room the bathroom needs to be renewed. Great secure parking on one side of the hotel, where you can park directly outside your room. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Overall, more than adequate for one night before a flight home!

Room Tip: Hotel is on ground level and extends a long way to the back, so ask for a room near the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NMcDKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 446 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Lots of positives about the hotel. Pick up and drop from airport to hotel is excellent and timely. Rooms are big, clean and well ventilated. Restaurant provides awesome food. Delicious pizza and sea food and garlic butter. Wines are reasonably priced.
The only drawback is location. It is far from city center. Even nearest metro station is atleast 5 km away. Hotel provide a cab but it charges for the same. Returning late night from metro to hotel can be difficult.
You will have to think twice if you want to return to hotel in case you are tired.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because it was right by the airport and was quite cheap. In this sense the location was good but unless you drive, which you probably won't be if you're also going to the airport then it's pretty hard to get to the hotel. You have to either get a taxi or use their shuttle service which will pick you up from either the train station or the airport for 2euros 50 per person per trip. It is a very useful shuttle service but increases your bill quite a bit if you're going backwards and forwards from the hotel a lot. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and powerful.

The lady on the reception desk seemed a bit rushed off her feet and wasn't very friendly. I would only use this hotel as we did, not expecting too much - just a bed to crash in before your flight home.. Not a particularly pleasant hotel to stay in, the way it was set up reminded me of a sleazy American motel from on a film. Our room smelt REALLY strongly like someone had been smoking in it, despite the fact that there was a door you could open in the room to smoke outside. The towel had a massive hole in it and there were stains on the bedding.................. Soooo don't expect too much!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenG613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The only unacceptable thing was that one of the ladies in reception didnt speak ANY foreign languages (not even basic english) only Italian. Neverthe less i found the Hotel marvelous, acceptably clean with bufet breakfast and a variety o f goods (excelent cappuccino cofe machine!!!!). Very nice and comfortable rooms and in a quiet place just 5 minutes away from airport. A bit too long away from centre Rome (had to take a bus and metro ) but bus stop just outside hotel and very late busses (till 23.10). I would go again without any second thought. CHEAP PRICES-GREAT SERVICE

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank CHRYSOULA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Everything ok for an excellent price, nothing better if you need to stay in the Ciampino airport area. Don't expect the Excelsior, but a clean room for a good rest, friendly at the reception, and super if you have a car, you can park directly outside your room

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank LUCA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Despite the name, if you conceptualize this establishment as a "hotel", you are setting yourself up for diappointment. Think rooms more on par with EconoLodge or Motel 8. I checked in to a room with cheap, 20-year-old looking, K-Mart-like furnishings (i.e., pressed plywood closets and desk). Although there was nothing overtly unclean in the room, it just didn't have that feel or look of being sanitary. I actually had to be switched to a different room because my heating system was not in working order...I should have dealt with the cold because I was moved to a room that wreaked of mold. The hotel staff told me that there were no other rooms available. So, I had to endure stench that filled the entire room. The bathroom walls were cracked, had holes in them. I actually showered with my cloth slippers on because I didn't know what I might contract from stepping on the shower floor with my bare foot. Oh, and speaking of shower, the shower "wall", which was a flimsy piece of think plastic, fell apart from the pressure of the showerhead's water hitting it.

There are some positives - proximity to the Ciampino airport and restaurant on site that serves descent food.

If you only have 1 night in Rome and need to stay near the airport, then take your chances here. If you have a longer stay, however, I would suggest staying in the city. You'll find much better accomodations for similar rates. There is no direct public transportation from the airport to the city and cabs are very expensive. But, you can take the SIT bus from Rome directly to the airport for 6 Euro and it runs every 30 minutes. You can also take the subway to the Anangnina stop (last stop on the red line) and then cab it to the airport which is 4 KM from the metro stop.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pocahontas0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I stayed here with friends the night before our flight back home from Rome. Our room was very big but very basic too but we were not expecting too much anyway. Reception staff were nice and helpful. The hotel is very close to the airport but there is nothing else around the area and it is about 45 minutes from Rome. There was a shuttle bus to the airport that cost €2.50 per person which isn't expensive but we thought the hotel should have offered this free to people however that is just a personal opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
0.5 mi away
CiampinoHotel
CiampinoHotel
#3 of 6 in Ciampino
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Meeting Hotel
Meeting Hotel
#624 of 1,269 in Rome
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#2 of 6 in Ciampino
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
Hotel Giardino d'Europa
#608 of 1,269 in Rome
273 reviews
17.4 mi away
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
Tempio di Apollo Hotel
#870 of 1,269 in Rome
117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Albergo Laura
Albergo Laura
#1,113 of 1,269 in Rome
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacavicchi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacavicchi Hotel

Address: Via di Ciampino 70, 00178 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,070 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $55 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palacavicchi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palacavicchi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacavicchi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing