We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven on an Ancient Road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Appia Antica Resort
Ranked #1 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed only two nights at the Appia Antica as the final stop on our trip, it was kind of an after thought but we are so glad we did; what a place. Our real regret was that we could not stay longer. Maurizio and his family were so warm and instantly made us feel at home, explaining right from our arrival, all the local sights, how to get there, maps, tours etc. We'd been to Rome before, but if this was your first time, what a great way to start. Appia Antica Resort is a meticulously presented stay, complete with gardens, pond, trees, grass, a really relaxing environment hidden behind a busy street on the hidden part of Rome that few tourist really bother to go to; The Old Appian Way, the road that transformed Rome and created the great expansion of its empire 2000 odd years ago, full of ruins very few people get to see.
Yet, its still with easy travel to the centre of Rome and the apartment we stayed at (2 adults and 2 teenage children) I would safely describe as the best place we have ever stayed at, anywhere it terms of value for dollar, functionality, comfort and style.
Plus as an added bonus, Maurizio gave us a packed four hour tour of the Appian Way and surrounding sights and he even shouted us a cafe and cake at a local bar along the way.
When we go back to Rome, we now know where to stay, we have found a haven amongst the ruins.
A great place for a family, with or without a car, we had a car and because it is easy access to the Roman ring road, it made for a very fast and easy arrival and quick access straight to the airport, much less traffic than other parts to Rome.
Thanks Maurizio and Maria-Luisa, it was a quality two days which we hope to extend next time.

Angelo, Rosa & Family

Room Tip: The apartment for 4 was great, we had a look at one for up to 10 people, wow that was like a house.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ANGELO C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear ANGELO C,

Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear ANGELO C, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
There are newer reviews for Appia Antica Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

350 - 356 of 707 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Perfekt in all conditions!Apartments looks very beautiful,and equipped with the new modern technologies and everything needed.Cozy bedrooms,luxury bathrooms... The design is by the owner's wife.The owner Maurizio helped us a lot!We had problems with the car in Rome.So he picked us up,and helped to find a good car service nearby.All the family knows the history,places of interest of Rome.The owner's son'd shown for us some of them,which are situated not far from the apartment.He is very knowedgeable.All the family is very frendly and easygoing.We could not imagine better staying in Rome!Thank you!! Best greetings from guests from Ukraine.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nastenyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Maurizio and Maria Luisa are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful hosts. We had a lovely visit with them and nothing was too much trouble. Maurizio helped us create an itinerary to suit our small children. We had planned to spend the day in the centre of Rome visiting all the attractions but were persuaded to stay in the Appia Antica, where there is plenty to see and do and lots of places for the kids to run around without getting into too much trouble (definitely the right decision). The apartment was furnished to a very high standard and was spacious and clean. We will certainly recommend a stay at the Appia Antica resort to our friends and will return there on our next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Jo L,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I was travelling to Rome with my 16 year old son. For the last part of our Rome trip we have stayed at this wonderful place "Appia Antica Resort".
It's an excellent location with a beautiful garden and perfect accomodations.
The owner of this resort is a perfect host. Very helpful who gave us a lot of good information and showed us around at the antic places outside Rome - at spots where there is still no mass tourism but at places "where to be".
We will for sure return and stay at this lovely place.

Room Tip: Very small number of appartments, but what we have seen, each is outstanding good. So there is no op...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Gerald W,

Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear Gerald W, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, enjoyed very wonderful vacation. Maurizio and Louisa are the best hosts we been ever met, they are warm and helpful. Provide us many informations to plan our onward trip in Italy. We will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kw1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Slightly out of the heart of Rome, but very easy to get there by bus, this place was an oasis of quiet. Maurizio will dazzle you with information and things to see an do, and was very helpful in organising tours and bikes for us. Lots of lovely places to eat near by. You also have your own apartment with kitchen, laundry and lounge room, as well as access to the beautiful gardens. This includes a little Zen garden complete with coy. Staying here helped make our time in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weissm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Quiet and relaxing place 15 minutes away from Rome center.
You can visit Rome center with own car or pubilc transportation.
Clean and extremely well equipped apartments.
The Appia area itself is full of history as well.
D'Atri family was overwhelming helpfull and Maurizio gave us a lot of
valuable tips to visit and enjoy Rome and Umbria (our next place to visit).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Kari H,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,801 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
735 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
211 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,591 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Antica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Antica Resort

Address: Via Appia Pignatelli 368, 00178 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $168 - $464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Appia Antica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing