We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Appia Antica Resort
Ranked #1 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights, enjoyed very wonderful vacation. Maurizio and Louisa are the best hosts we been ever met, they are warm and helpful. Provide us many informations to plan our onward trip in Italy. We will definitely go back in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kw1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
There are newer reviews for Appia Antica Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 708 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

Slightly out of the heart of Rome, but very easy to get there by bus, this place was an oasis of quiet. Maurizio will dazzle you with information and things to see an do, and was very helpful in organising tours and bikes for us. Lots of lovely places to eat near by. You also have your own apartment with kitchen, laundry and lounge room, as well as access to the beautiful gardens. This includes a little Zen garden complete with coy. Staying here helped make our time in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weissm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Quiet and relaxing place 15 minutes away from Rome center.
You can visit Rome center with own car or pubilc transportation.
Clean and extremely well equipped apartments.
The Appia area itself is full of history as well.
D'Atri family was overwhelming helpfull and Maurizio gave us a lot of
valuable tips to visit and enjoy Rome and Umbria (our next place to visit).

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kari H,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We absolutely loved our stay at the Appia Antica Resort. Maurizio and Louisa are lovely hosts. Maurizio took us on an amazing tour of the local area - he is a fountain of knowledge and happy to help with day trip ideas, transport arrangements and restaurant bookings. We found our apartment beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean and a quiet escape from the world outside. We also enjoyed our time spent relaxing in the garden, feeding the fish and eating outside. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear Elizabeth694, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Superb accommodations! I would go back here in a heartbeat and recommend to anyone visiting Rome and/or surrounding areas. The owners were so helpful with dining options, sight seeing opportunities, and even giving our party of 12 a ride to a destination free of charge. The refrigerator is stocked with necessities, all included. Full kitchens to cook if need be. Very clean and beautiful. We will surely go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniecampana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear Anniecampana, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was the perfect place to stay in Rome! Everything you read in the reviews is absolutely true! Unfortunately, we only had one day in Rome, but were able to hit all the major attractions with guidance from Marco and Serena. The rooms were great and the location was within walking distance to everythin

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JUAL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Time flies and sometimes, we like to read past reviews from our friends, scrolling down words and thoughts coming from the past. Latin people used to say: “Verba volant, scripta manent”. spoken words fly away, written words remain. There is always something that makes us smile and give us strength to go on In this bunch of written souvenirs. A big thank you to you, dear JUAL L, you are part of this bunch coming from the past, but the feeling you had while here at AAR will be Eternal, like this city.

We wait for you to come again.

Ave atque Vale
Maurizio - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Appia Antica Resort on July 3, 2014, and had a wonderful time. The apartment we stayed in was immaculate and was newly decorated and furnished with a modern flair. The gardens and landscaping that surrounds the property are beautiful and tranquil. Maurizio is a perfect host and guide. He made arrangements for us and gave us suggestions of places to go off the beaten path. We felt welcomed into an inviting home and this property meet our every need.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnjames4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurizio D, Proprietario at Appia Antica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Mnjames4,

It’s never too late to say: thank you, mostly if it is about something happened in the Eternal City.

We are all very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay here with us, as that is the goal we all work towards. We want every person that comes here to have the best experience we can offer, so we put all our efforts, be it a lift to the near metro station or a little bit of complimentary comfort food in the fridge, or simply the desire of sharing a glass of wine while chatting in the garden. And then it turns out that sometimes, the word "effort" means "with love".

If you felt welcome, as if at a friend’s house, then why not to come again?

Ave Atque Vale
Maurizio – Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,805 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
737 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
212 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#9 of 1,267 in Rome
3,595 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,267 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appia Antica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appia Antica Resort

Address: Via Appia Pignatelli 368, 00178 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $168 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Appia Antica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing