We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel in a Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Ranked #31 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Northern VA
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel in a Good Location”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Since most of our time in Rome was spent out and about, as we suspect is frequently the case with most Rome visitors, the things we look for in a hotel are good location, helpful front desk/concierge, comfortable bed and a decent shower. Hotel Manfredi Suites gets good marks for all of these, and has a nice (included) breakfast buffet.

Just a block from the Spanish Steps, the primo shopping district and the metro, it has a very convenient location with easy access, either by foot or train, to most of Rome’s major attractions.

We had a room in what we were told was a recently added section of the hotel, formerly part of an historic theater. Getting to this second floor room was a bit intriguing - reached through a maze of turns in a narrow hallway with some preserved artifacts from the old theater.

The room was small (as is usual in Rome) and we found it to be “stuffy” without the air conditioning, but with the a/c on it was comfortable – just fine for sleeping. Our room was facing an internal “courtyard”, which provided no worthwhile view at all, but we appreciated that position because the room was very quiet for being in the city. The bed was firm but comfortable and the pillows were also on the firm side. We prefer softer beds and pillows, but we had no trouble sleeping.

The shower was good size with a very nice rain shower and plenty of hot water. Aside from the shower, it was nearly impossible for 2 people to be in the bathroom at the same time because of the tiny size and arrangement. The sink in particular was crammed into a tiny corner with tight angles. There was also a fairly consistent foul smell – likely due to a venting blockage or improper venting of the plumbing causing some gasses to escape through the drains (particularly the one in the shower).

Service at the front desk and in the breakfast area was friendly and helpful. The one service problem we had was that we asked to have some items laundered, turning them in at the front desk in the evening. We were told that we would have the items back the next afternoon. We did not get them back the next day at all, and when we called the following morning we discovered they were still not finished and the maid service had to rush to get them to us before noon. The delay was a minor inconvenience, but at the outrageous prices charged for laundry we ended up paying for an extra day of laundered clothes that we now would not use on our trip. This was annoying as was the fact that the hotel was in no way apologetic for this.

The hotel seems to be in a safe area of the city, but while the rooms themselves were secure, we were not entirely confident that the front entrance and second floor halls were entirely secure. The hotel front desk, while staffed 24x7, is on the third floor, so one does not need to pass by it to get to the second floor rooms. The front door is locked after hours, but we were able to “buzz in” from the street without identifying ourselves (not sure if the front desk can view a camera at the entrance?), and we found that we could open the “secure” door to the second floor hall without the card key.

We deducted a rating point because we didn't think this hotel completely lived up to the price, and another rating point because of the issues mentioned above. All in all, it is a pretty decent hotel, but given the price and the abundance of hotel choices in Rome, we probably would try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHCompound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
first of all thank you for your review. But I want to clarify a few points.
The beds in the room are all supplied with My Form the mattress that stores the shape of the body for a better rest and are furnished with hypoallergenic materials 100% Italian.
With regard to the safety of the structure I inform you that all public areas are controlled by a system of CCTV cameras appropriately marked on each compartment and at the ground floor there is a video intercom connected to the reception which allows you to see who enters and who go out be sure to be our customers.
The price instead derives from several factors among which the high season, but in any case the relationship between the quality of the service and the price is clearly inferior to other structures. As you have seen our breakfast is completely homemade and there is a buffet where you can eat everythings and where the service is at the table in the cafeteria without additional cost.
For ventilation in the room i have to tell you that the condition of the filters are checked and cleaned every 15 days and my windows to allow good air circulation.
I'm sorry if you had problems with the laundry, you could advise us before things to wash and iron were urgent. Normally the service of washing and ironing is 24/36 hours.
We would be happy to host it again if you want to provide him with a room with a bathroom slightly larger and closer to the front desk. Always considering the location,we are in the heart of Rome, and the antiquity of the building dating back to 1700, it does not allow to have these great spaces that modern hotels.
Best Regardes
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    272
    44
    6
    1
See reviews for
278
588
44
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed from 16oct till 22sept, it was a great and marvelous experience.
The moment you check in they cheer you with a big smile and the famous "Buongiorno"(since i was checking in in the morning). The moment they know that you don't speak Italian they talk to you in English and they are fluent :).
Service is great, breakfast is tasty.everyone is friendly, helpful and always smiling. Room is always clear and clean.
Location is perfect close to everything. we never used transportation even when we went to the Vatican.
Its a cozy hotel to stay in. At the end of the day its Italy, you won't find big hotels in the middle of the city and no need for that.
for sure i will come back and stay there next time i visit Italy. And will hope for a discount :) as a returning customer :P.
No cons but some may find it little expensive.

Rani

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Mr Rani
thank you for being here with us and for the compliments. Our staff are multilingual and available to hel you and to make your stay unforgettable.
The breakfast is completely homemade by our pastry chef.
The location is in the heart of Rome, where everything is close by, where you just walk around and do not need to take the subway. Next time do not hesitate to call us first.
Thanks for everything
Best Regardes
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel Manfredi was in a narrow alley (very quiet) not far from the Spanish steps (we also walked to the Vatican from the hotel -- about a 20 minute walk?) . The reception was on the third floor of a five floor building and you could walk up or take a tiny steel cage elevator. The rooms, although small, are well appointed. The beds had lovely big white duvets and Frette sheets. The bathrooms had all the amenities you could want. The shower in the bathroom had a powerful rainfall shower head, a hand held shower head and five vertical showerheads.. The breakfast was a traditional European breakfast. The staff were fabulous - incredibly helpful right from booking on-line today to day-to-day questions and recommendations. We travelled with two teenagers - our son, 15 and our daughter 14. I asked for one room with twin beds and one with a queen when I booked on line and they delivered. They also mention online that they can arrange for pickup at the airport which we took them up on. The driver was there when we landed. The Manfredi makes it very easy for you. I would highly recommend the Manfredi for a stay in Rome. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OakvilleMatriarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest
first of all thank you for being with us and for the nice review. We are in the heart of Rome, where everything is close: the historic attractions and area shopping. The nightlife area is only 15 minutes from us. Our hotel is on the second floor of a building and clear in 1700. The rooms are all decorated and equipped with every comfort. Our staff, including the driver, try to make you spend a good holiday making you enjoy a pleasant stay. I hope you'll come back to visit us.
Best Regardes
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great hotel, Great location on a little charming street minutes awy from the Spanish Steeps and the shopping area wit all the great designer name. Our room was confortable, clean and quiet. Breakfast was OK and the breakfast room was splendid. The room was decorated with oppulence. The staff was very friendly and heplfull. The hotel seems to be very safe since it is located on the third floor of a building and that you have to ring a bell to get in after a certain time in the evening. Every places to visit could be within a walking distance, but iof you dont want to walk, there is a subway station just around the corner. Do not hesitate to book there it will assure you a great time in the eternal city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest
thank you for being here with us.
I'm really glad that you found good and the staff was to your liking. We are situated in the hearth of Rome, but in a pedentrans area where there is not noise. Our room are new and comfortable, all finished with Italian materials. The showers and bathrooms are full of accessories. The breakfast is all homemade by our pastry chef and as you saw you can eat and drink how do you like. Everything is walkable and the area's most popular shopping and important of Italy and below. After 7.30 pm the big door downstais it will be closed, but in any case there is always a person of the reception that can open it. Staying here seems to live in Rome.
Best Regardes
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Hotel very well placed, personnel exquisite, breakfast perfect.

Highly recommended but ......

beware of some rooms which are very very small.

The price is a bit on the high side, even for this corner of Rome, but there are sometimes very interesting offers. Then it is all worth the stay, without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefano b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest

thanks to have been here at Manfredi Hotel Suite in Rome. Our room are comfortable and all finished with Italian materials. Several rooms are small, but not less than 15 Mq. It depends witch kind of room tou reserved.
The showers and bathrooms are full of accessories and the breakfast is all homemade by our pastry chef . Everything is walkable and the area's most popular shopping and important of Italy .
I hope to host you again.
Best Regardes
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leduc
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights...and it was terrific. It is very centrally located to the everything you want to see. Only about a block away from the Spanish steps and the Borghese gardens and gallery, just go to the plaza Popolo (2 blocks away) and climb the steps at the end of the plaza and there you are. it is only a 20 min. walk to the vatican and the Tomb of the unknown soldier and the forum, trevi fountain, and the colosseum, and the pantheon!!!!!!! Also right in heart of the shopping district, but if you want to save a little money on purses go up the spanish steps and look around the little shops that line that area.
We felt very safe the whole time we were in Rome and we walked almost everywhere!! Don't be afraid to get out and look around take the map the Hotel gives you and explore!!!!
Breakfeast was terrific, lots of choices, both hot and cold. The rooms are very nice, the beds are good and lots of hot water.
It is only a 10 euro cab ride to the main train terminal!!!!
The staff is very helpful especially Emanuele (my man)!!
There is no kettle for our British friends but there is a hair dryer!!!!!!!!!!!!
My only complaint and it is small it that they could put an extra mirror in somewhere as the bathroom is small and 2 adults trying shave and brush their teeth and do their hair makes it interesting lol
I can't say enough good things about this hotel...if you are going to stay in Rome to see the sights this is the hotel for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
P.S. loved the elevator

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Guest
thank you for being here with us.
I'm really glad that you found good and the staff was to your liking. I will pass your regards to Emanuele and other staff members.
Our location allows to you to visit the city by walk and in Rome is an advantage because it is a busy city. As you've seen all the most important things: Colosseum, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Altare della Patri, Borghese Gallery, via veneto and shopping area and much more is very close. Then if you want to move you can take the undergound which is 100 meters from us.
Breakfast is all homemade by our pastry chef. Rooms and showers are all new, well appointed and functional.
Thanks for your advice regarding for the mirror .
I hope to welcome you again.
Best Regardes
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Hotel is in a great building in just an amazing location. The room and bathroom were nicely renovated. The breakfast service and maid service were both excellent. Internet was fast and stable. After the first day you get used to the fact that the Hotel is on floors 2 and 3 of the building.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni A, Direttore at Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guest,
we are situated in the hearth of Rome, but in a pedetrans area where you can feel confortable and you don't hear noise. Our breakfast is all home made from our pastry chef every single day.
Our staff try very day to be the best to make you feel ay home.
I hope you can come back in Rome and at Manfredi Hotel.

Best Regardes.
Giovanni Argentina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,886 reviews
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,258 in Rome
502 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#65 of 1,258 in Rome
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome

Property: Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Address: Via Margutta, 61, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Rome
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#38 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our professional welcome is a balanced mix between antique traditions and technology, making your holiday in the romantic and artistic Via Margutta unforgettable. Holidays are always amazing in our hotel near Spanish Steps and majestic Roman monuments. In every room you will find accessories, convenient services and an area dedicated to your wellbeing created for your personal and exclusive use. Every room has characteristics that render it unique from the other rooms, with stylish decorations: Imperial, Savoy, George III and Contemporary. Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome offers Concierge service with highly qualified service for H24 Our gentle staff will be happy to offer assistance and counsel on how to better live a "Dolce Vita" experience in Rome. They will help you find the best restaurants , pubs and discotheques in the capital with the latest news on the new trendy locations. We can offer and organize private tours of the eternal City. On request, we can organize a limo service with pick up and departure to the Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manfredi Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing